SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2005-102 (skirt)

8 more reviews
Viewed 959 times 
Reviewed by:hongkongshopper
photo

 
 
About hongkongshopperstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/26/04
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/07 1:03 AM
Last Updated:9/21/07 4:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
khurtdvm said...
Very nice! I especially like the brown one.
9/22/07 3:40 PM
blue mooney said...
love it in the menswear type fabric! you'd never know the two skirts were from the same pattern.
9/22/07 7:45 AM
Tany said...
Vicki, again you did a fabulous job! I love your new skirt!!
9/22/07 4:23 AM
lynny said...
Vicki your skirt looks great - the fabric and bias detail is very effective.
9/22/07 3:02 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very flattering skirt - I need one now too!
9/21/07 11:45 PM
Heatherrique said...
That's such a sizzling skirt!
9/21/07 11:31 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Sharp looking outfit!!
9/21/07 8:43 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debra Lee, the lining goes down only to the top of the flounce. It is more straight than A line and if I made it any longer it would restrict walking. Also I did not use any facings at all. The lining was sewn at the waist to the skirt and turned into the inside and then understitched to keep in place.
9/21/07 6:58 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice skirt Vicki!
9/21/07 6:37 PM
Leora said...
I've admired the skirt in the magazine but yours looks even better. Nice work and thanks for the detailed review!
9/21/07 6:11 PM
rivergum said...
Fabulous! Best skirt I have seen in ages!
9/21/07 5:16 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely skirt - I really like how you constructed the waist.
9/21/07 9:00 AM
debra lee said...
Vicki that is a lovely skirt, looks great on you. Let me clarify the lining, it is essentialy an a-line skirt underneath, how far down does it go? Or how high did you hem it? And the waistline was faced as opposed to a band, correct?
9/21/07 8:03 AM
Tiner W said...
Stunning skirt! And what a great idea to add lace to the lining--I'll be using that one!
9/21/07 7:45 AM
MissCelie said...
I really love this skirt. I do not have this edition, but someone was kind enough to share it with me the last time a review was posted on PR. I guess I'll be next making it! Love it with the plaid.
9/21/07 7:30 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Sigrid - thanks for that. I didn't look at the German section. I just kept getting internal error. Will try and link.
9/21/07 4:02 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab skirt!
9/21/07 3:40 AM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely skirt, great with the bias plaids. BTW when I read your comment on not showing the line drawings for 2005 anymore, I thought "how strange, I've seen them this week", so checked and found that when you click the English version, you see only the 2006-2007 issues, in German (click DE on top of the screen), you see the issues back to 2004! Hope they keep them on.
9/21/07 3:12 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Vicki !
9/21/07 2:52 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Great skirt!!!! lovely details:-)
9/21/07 2:36 AM
Annette1 said...
Very cute skirt! I like the use of the plaid with the bias cut on the bottom. Also like your lining with the touch of lace. :o) Great review!
9/21/07 1:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

You Can Make This Lily Bird Studio

photo
by: busymomof3

Review
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

More Info
Simplicity 1947

photo
by: Futuralon

Review