Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2005-102 (skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 958 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:hongkongshopper
photo
About hongkongshopperstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/26/04
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/07 1:03 AM
Last Updated:9/21/07 4:06 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Very cute skirt! I like the use of the plaid with the bias cut on the bottom. Also like your lining with the touch of lace. :o) Great review!
9/21/07 1:49 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Great skirt!!!! lovely details:-)
9/21/07 2:36 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Vicki !
9/21/07 2:52 AM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely skirt, great with the bias plaids. BTW when I read your comment on not showing the line drawings for 2005 anymore, I thought "how strange, I've seen them this week", so checked and found that when you click the English version, you see only the 2006-2007 issues, in German (click DE on top of the screen), you see the issues back to 2004! Hope they keep them on.
9/21/07 3:12 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab skirt!
9/21/07 3:40 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Sigrid - thanks for that. I didn't look at the German section. I just kept getting internal error. Will try and link.
9/21/07 4:02 AM
MissCelie said...
I really love this skirt. I do not have this edition, but someone was kind enough to share it with me the last time a review was posted on PR. I guess I'll be next making it! Love it with the plaid.
9/21/07 7:30 AM
Tiner W said...
Stunning skirt! And what a great idea to add lace to the lining--I'll be using that one!
9/21/07 7:45 AM
debra lee said...
Vicki that is a lovely skirt, looks great on you. Let me clarify the lining, it is essentialy an a-line skirt underneath, how far down does it go? Or how high did you hem it? And the waistline was faced as opposed to a band, correct?
9/21/07 8:03 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely skirt - I really like how you constructed the waist.
9/21/07 9:00 AM
rivergum said...
Fabulous! Best skirt I have seen in ages!
9/21/07 5:16 PM
Leora said...
I've admired the skirt in the magazine but yours looks even better. Nice work and thanks for the detailed review!
9/21/07 6:11 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice skirt Vicki!
9/21/07 6:37 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debra Lee, the lining goes down only to the top of the flounce. It is more straight than A line and if I made it any longer it would restrict walking. Also I did not use any facings at all. The lining was sewn at the waist to the skirt and turned into the inside and then understitched to keep in place.
9/21/07 6:58 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Sharp looking outfit!!
9/21/07 8:43 PM
Heatherrique said...
That's such a sizzling skirt!
9/21/07 11:31 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very flattering skirt - I need one now too!
9/21/07 11:45 PM
lynny said...
Vicki your skirt looks great - the fabric and bias detail is very effective.
9/22/07 3:02 AM
Tany said...
Vicki, again you did a fabulous job! I love your new skirt!!
9/22/07 4:23 AM
blue mooney said...
love it in the menswear type fabric! you'd never know the two skirts were from the same pattern.
9/22/07 7:45 AM
khurtdvm said...
Very nice! I especially like the brown one.
9/22/07 3:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

No Pattern Used purse purse
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 11/10/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2883
photo
Review by narcissaqt... on 6/27/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1876 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1876 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us