SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2002-119 (Wrapover Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1142 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 150
Favored by: 224 people
patterns reviewed: 129
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/07 11:43 AM
Last Updated:9/23/07 11:44 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
Mmm. 19 inches. I think I'd need a bathrobe to cover up the waist if I attempted to wear this to lounge at home after Labor Day :-). Luckily, it looks like it'd be fine with white shoes too :-). Looks great though, shortening the dress version would definitely work for me. And you of course look smashing in anything :-).
9/23/07 12:36 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow! A truly sexy look--in a feminine, classic way!!
9/23/07 1:04 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very nice and comfy Cidell, so much so i dug my issue out...and hey I may just make it too. BTW there is a CB seam...maybe reason for extra 1.25 in back . Thanks for tips using interfacing strips...never thought to do that on knits. This looks really nice on you, wonder if I should lower tie placement if I lengthen it? Great layering idea, extra warmth over T shirts...over gym clothes, chilly morns bringing kids to school. Yes I'm going to trace it now ! :) THANK YOU !
9/23/07 1:05 PM
Annette1 said...
Wow, this looks so nice on you! You'd never know you had jimmy it around to fit it on the fabric. (And how likely are we to find a knit in 64" width anyway? I see them rarely, but ONLY rarely.) Very classy!
9/23/07 1:12 PM
mochalover said...
Very cute top and it looks great with your jeans.
9/23/07 1:28 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
It looks good, Cidell. It seems that many of us have issues with the low necklines on BWOF patterns. Luckily, wth the absence of seam allowances it is easy to tape the pieces together and check the fit before cutting out the fabric. I'd love to see you make this in a slightly longer length--it would be stunning.
9/23/07 2:12 PM
MarijaSLO said...
You are so skinny! :)
9/23/07 2:23 PM
bunz said...
Oh, you svelte body -- looks terrific!! You can easily layer this over anything so the shortness won't matter so much.
9/23/07 2:44 PM
Squeezylemon said...
As always with anything you make it's wonderful Cidell! And of course your fab figure helps too...... I think not only will you inspire me to sew more, I think I may even try to get a few pounds off as well!!!
9/23/07 2:56 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is a classic and looks great! You did a great job. I have some tops in this style, not Burda, but I definitely know what you mean about comfort. It's an easy style to wear! Great review!
9/23/07 3:44 PM
trinicity said...
looks HAWT!
9/23/07 4:02 PM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely top. It's said before, you can wear this like it is easily, but also over anything you like.
9/23/07 4:08 PM
Liana said...
This is so cute on you! This could be great with wide leg pants and a dressier looking knit, too. I think you should make more of these. Very flattering!
9/23/07 4:13 PM
2BSewing said...
I like your top...looks wonderful on you.
9/23/07 6:42 PM
carolynw said...
Very pretty Cidell - and you are so beautifully shaped that I am going green with envy but seriously - you do look marvellous in this but it is definitely not for anyone with a figure like mine!!
9/23/07 7:26 PM
hongkongshopper said...
It is very much a ballet top! Very cute.
9/23/07 9:37 PM
Skymom said...
I've loved that pattern since it came out--and never sewed it. Now I think I'll give it a go. Yours looks great, and I rather like the softer ties. Thanks for the construction tips.
9/23/07 10:23 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Looks fab! Sweat-suit alternative... Tim Gunn will be so proud! :) I just made a nearly identical top from a 1950s vintage pattern! Haven't reviewed it yet, but the similarity is uncanny. It's Advance 7701.
9/23/07 11:03 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Good for you for giving this pattern another go - and a successful one at that! Looking forward to the rest of the ensemble.
9/24/07 0:36 AM
Fran G said...
So cute, Cidell! And, you have the shape to wear it! I would have to lengthen to close the gap between midriff & waist! Anxious to see the entire outfit.
9/24/07 8:07 AM
Hilary said...
This looks great on you; thanks for the tips!
9/24/07 10:01 AM
ChristineX said...
Burda should do an article on you, or at least use you as a model! You have an uncanny ability to display many of their designs better than they do! =) I didn't look twice at this pattern at the time, but now I will have to go back and check it out.
9/24/07 2:11 PM
Tany said...
Fabulous, Cidell! (both top and review!!!)
9/24/07 7:19 PM
OP Gal said...
You look ma-a-ahvelous! Great top, great review.
9/24/07 9:08 PM
twistedangel said...
That top looks great on you. The color choice does make it look more classic.
9/24/07 10:09 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I love it - perfect for tossing over a top, tres chic!
9/25/07 0:17 AM
Kitty Couture said...
It's beautiful, Cidell!
9/28/07 9:39 AM
blue mooney said...
What a super sweatshirt alternative! You better know that you look smokin' hot in that thing. Have fun!
9/29/07 8:21 AM
Tesla121 said...
This is a very cute top and you look great in it!
10/2/07 11:34 AM
Tearsa said...
I can't even look at this until I do some crunches -- but it looks GREAT on you...
11/5/07 8:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 3503

photo
by: LakesideLa...

Review