SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8425 (High-waisted skirt)

11 more reviews
Viewed 2583 times 
Reviewed by:LauraLo
photo

 
 
About LauraLostarstarstarstar
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 177 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/25/07 9:40 AM
Last Updated:9/25/07 10:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skymom said...
Wow~ dynamite!
9/25/07 9:57 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Cute skirt, LauraLo! I can't wait to see the rest of your wardrobe pieces.
9/25/07 10:00 AM
dbsewer said...
Ah, yes, I remember when I sewed with a size 6 and had to take it in :-). The skirt is lovely and you did a wonderful job. thanks again for the links - they're always helpful.
9/25/07 10:08 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
I love that skirt. you look great!
9/25/07 10:14 AM
bluenines said...
great skirt, love the fit and a very helpful review , i will be putting this one on my list of must get vogues when they come on sale
9/25/07 10:44 AM
squirrellypoo said...
This looks lovely and so professional. I love that you inserted boning, too - the high-waisted skirt from the Fall SewStylish used boning and it was the first I've ever heard of such a thing!
9/25/07 10:53 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Very chic! and very professional. I'm looking forward to reviews of the rest of your plan.
9/25/07 11:02 AM
MissCelie said...
Girl. You are on fire in this skirt. Wow. It's very 'naughty secretary' isn't it? It works perfectly with your figure. And I never would have thought to use boning in the waist.
9/25/07 11:03 AM
Ceri said...
Great style and great execution! Congrats!
9/25/07 11:58 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I *love* this look! The Simplicity blouse works great with the high-waisted skirt.
9/25/07 12:24 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very Va va Voom, thanks for super tips, tutorial, etc. Great boning idea. Sure its comy sitting a ta desk??....if so i MUST try this too, my high waist clothes get those wrinkles. Thanks so much !
9/25/07 12:59 PM
LauraLo said...
Thank you all, I'm really happy you like it! Cidell, it is indeed naughty secretary :), I love this look. Miriam, aka Hawkemorningstar7, the skirt is super comfy, that's why I chose this sew-through boning, because it's very flexible and molds to the body. The pictures are taken after wearing the skirt an entirey day (which means sitting at a desk for an entire day). I didn't even feel there was a boning and bonus... there were hardly any wrinkles or wear lines at the end of the day (this is because of the sturdier interfacing as well).
9/25/07 1:09 PM
twistedangel said...
Now that is one hot piece of fashion!! Love it!
9/25/07 2:22 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow. That is so stylish and beautifully constructed. Thanks for the boning tip; it's a great idea for this waist style.
9/25/07 2:44 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous skirt and great review. Love it!
9/25/07 5:06 PM
yaiAnn said...
That skirt is so glamorous! Great job!
9/25/07 6:30 PM
Kennis said...
You are always so thorough (I read your blog as well) and I love your impeccable attention to details. I am very impressed and inspired!
9/25/07 8:05 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice skirt and it looks fantastic on you!
9/25/07 8:07 PM
emo said...
You totally give me hope about one day being able to make awesome stuff! This looks amazing, of course.
9/25/07 9:47 PM
ChristineX said...
hubba hubba, that is one beautiful skirt! Great outfit!
9/25/07 10:53 PM
EveS said...
This is seriously hot! I just love it, and you wear that style to perfection!!!
9/25/07 11:14 PM
LauraLo said...
Thank you, ladies! It is a pleasure to write reviews when there are so many people appreciating them! Thank you
9/26/07 4:29 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You are a great sewist! Very helpful review. Skirt looks great on you! Oh to be young and thin again!
9/26/07 5:24 AM
mending maven said...
Also love that top. What pattern is that? If you would be so kind?
9/26/07 7:33 AM
LauraLo said...
Hi, Dracula :) That top is a reprinted vintage pattern, Simplicity 4047 and you can read my review of this pattern here: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=20152
9/26/07 7:45 AM
Erica B. said...
Laura, this skirt looks fabulous on you! I plan to make this version too.
9/26/07 10:43 AM
Bonnie O said...
How handy that you and Erica both reviewed this today! I LOVE this look on you. Very striking. And your tips are very helpful.
9/26/07 12:00 PM
Bonnie O said...
OMG, I just spit my coffee out after reading Cidell's "Naughty Secretary" comment. So very true!!
9/26/07 12:02 PM
LindsayT said...
Fabulous, and I love reading about all the detail you put in to it.
9/26/07 4:17 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Another sassy skirt. Beautifully rendered. I love the storyboard. Can't wait to see all your creations : )
9/26/07 6:20 PM
Lori V said...
Wow, fantastic skirt. Great review, too.
9/26/07 10:16 PM
SarahWeb said...
Great skirt! Thanks for the review.
9/27/07 9:56 AM
Tany said...
Again fabulous outfit and VERY HELPFUL review!!! You look awesome!
9/27/07 4:15 PM
Plastic Kitten said...
Fabulous!! thanks for the tip about adding the boning, i think i shall do the same!
9/30/07 11:31 PM
KitnRose said...
Completely fabulous, excellent job!
10/4/07 10:25 PM
KitnRose said...
Completely fabulous, excellent job!
10/4/07 10:25 PM
lwcowgil said...
You know what is great about your review? All the details and pictures! Your specificity really helps those of us who might like to use some of the techniques and alterations you discussed! Thanks!
3/25/08 12:09 PM
lwcowgil said...
You know what is great about your review? All the details and pictures! Your specificity really helps those of us who might like to use some of the techniques and alterations you discussed! Thanks!
3/25/08 12:13 PM
gernella said...
I'm tempted with this pattern because you look so good in it but I haven't got your figure. Love the top with it as well.
3/6/10 1:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 7371

photo
by: Cosso

Review
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
Other Kimono Dress

photo
by: Izybel18

Review