Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8425 (High-waisted skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 2579 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:LauraLo
photo
About LauraLostarstarstarstar
ROMANIA
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 177 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/25/07 9:40 AM
Last Updated:9/25/07 10:23 AM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skymom said...
Wow~ dynamite!
9/25/07 9:57 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Cute skirt, LauraLo! I can't wait to see the rest of your wardrobe pieces.
9/25/07 10:00 AM
dbsewer said...
Ah, yes, I remember when I sewed with a size 6 and had to take it in :-). The skirt is lovely and you did a wonderful job. thanks again for the links - they're always helpful.
9/25/07 10:08 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
I love that skirt. you look great!
9/25/07 10:14 AM
bluenines said...
great skirt, love the fit and a very helpful review , i will be putting this one on my list of must get vogues when they come on sale
9/25/07 10:44 AM
squirrellypoo said...
This looks lovely and so professional. I love that you inserted boning, too - the high-waisted skirt from the Fall SewStylish used boning and it was the first I've ever heard of such a thing!
9/25/07 10:53 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Very chic! and very professional. I'm looking forward to reviews of the rest of your plan.
9/25/07 11:02 AM
MissCelie said...
Girl. You are on fire in this skirt. Wow. It's very 'naughty secretary' isn't it? It works perfectly with your figure. And I never would have thought to use boning in the waist.
9/25/07 11:03 AM
Ceri said...
Great style and great execution! Congrats!
9/25/07 11:58 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I *love* this look! The Simplicity blouse works great with the high-waisted skirt.
9/25/07 12:24 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very Va va Voom, thanks for super tips, tutorial, etc. Great boning idea. Sure its comy sitting a ta desk??....if so i MUST try this too, my high waist clothes get those wrinkles. Thanks so much !
9/25/07 12:59 PM
LauraLo said...
Thank you all, I'm really happy you like it! Cidell, it is indeed naughty secretary :), I love this look. Miriam, aka Hawkemorningstar7, the skirt is super comfy, that's why I chose this sew-through boning, because it's very flexible and molds to the body. The pictures are taken after wearing the skirt an entirey day (which means sitting at a desk for an entire day). I didn't even feel there was a boning and bonus... there were hardly any wrinkles or wear lines at the end of the day (this is because of the sturdier interfacing as well).
9/25/07 1:09 PM
twistedangel said...
Now that is one hot piece of fashion!! Love it!
9/25/07 2:22 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow. That is so stylish and beautifully constructed. Thanks for the boning tip; it's a great idea for this waist style.
9/25/07 2:44 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous skirt and great review. Love it!
9/25/07 5:06 PM
yaiAnn said...
That skirt is so glamorous! Great job!
9/25/07 6:30 PM
Kennis said...
You are always so thorough (I read your blog as well) and I love your impeccable attention to details. I am very impressed and inspired!
9/25/07 8:05 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice skirt and it looks fantastic on you!
9/25/07 8:07 PM
emo said...
You totally give me hope about one day being able to make awesome stuff! This looks amazing, of course.
9/25/07 9:47 PM
ChristineX said...
hubba hubba, that is one beautiful skirt! Great outfit!
9/25/07 10:53 PM
EveS said...
This is seriously hot! I just love it, and you wear that style to perfection!!!
9/25/07 11:14 PM
LauraLo said...
Thank you, ladies! It is a pleasure to write reviews when there are so many people appreciating them! Thank you
9/26/07 4:29 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You are a great sewist! Very helpful review. Skirt looks great on you! Oh to be young and thin again!
9/26/07 5:24 AM
mending maven said...
Also love that top. What pattern is that? If you would be so kind?
9/26/07 7:33 AM
LauraLo said...
Hi, Dracula :) That top is a reprinted vintage pattern, Simplicity 4047 and you can read my review of this pattern here: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=20152
9/26/07 7:45 AM
Erica B. said...
Laura, this skirt looks fabulous on you! I plan to make this version too.
9/26/07 10:43 AM
Bonnie O said...
How handy that you and Erica both reviewed this today! I LOVE this look on you. Very striking. And your tips are very helpful.
9/26/07 12:00 PM
Bonnie O said...
OMG, I just spit my coffee out after reading Cidell's "Naughty Secretary" comment. So very true!!
9/26/07 12:02 PM
LindsayT said...
Fabulous, and I love reading about all the detail you put in to it.
9/26/07 4:17 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Another sassy skirt. Beautifully rendered. I love the storyboard. Can't wait to see all your creations : )
9/26/07 6:20 PM
Lori V said...
Wow, fantastic skirt. Great review, too.
9/26/07 10:16 PM
SarahWeb said...
Great skirt! Thanks for the review.
9/27/07 9:56 AM
Tany said...
Again fabulous outfit and VERY HELPFUL review!!! You look awesome!
9/27/07 4:15 PM
Plastic Kitten said...
Fabulous!! thanks for the tip about adding the boning, i think i shall do the same!
9/30/07 11:31 PM
KitnRose said...
Completely fabulous, excellent job!
10/4/07 10:25 PM
KitnRose said...
Completely fabulous, excellent job!
10/4/07 10:25 PM
lwcowgil said...
You know what is great about your review? All the details and pictures! Your specificity really helps those of us who might like to use some of the techniques and alterations you discussed! Thanks!
3/25/08 12:09 PM
lwcowgil said...
You know what is great about your review? All the details and pictures! Your specificity really helps those of us who might like to use some of the techniques and alterations you discussed! Thanks!
3/25/08 12:13 PM
gernella said...
I'm tempted with this pattern because you look so good in it but I haven't got your figure. Love the top with it as well.
3/6/10 1:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2264
photo
Review by Crys0904 on 4/11/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5979
photo
Review by maedchen on 12/31/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us