SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1005 (Marfy)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2214 times 
Reviewed by:marjenann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marjenannstarstar
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/07 9:20 AM
Last Updated:9/30/07 9:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
60 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
/anne... said...
Marfy is wrong about it being a 60s coat - I bought an almost identical coat in 1976. Early to mid 70s clothes were beautifully fitted, flattering and womanly (at least here in Australia). I've been digging out my old Vogue patterns from then, and they're perfect for now. Lovely coat!
7/31/09 11:00 PM
sara in burli said...
I am thinking of doing this pattern in a light grey cashmere coating weight fabric and your review is very helpful
1/3/09 0:19 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful! The color is wonderful and your DD must feel like a princess in it. How did I miss this before? Great review.
2/27/08 4:53 PM
susinok said...
That is a gorgeous coat and I love the color!
2/27/08 6:20 AM
301A said...
I just discovered Marfy some time within this last year and am tempted to try a coat pattern. The 42 size seems very close to a 12 pattern size. I wear a 4 or 6 and wondered if you needed to alter this coat for your daughter since she is tiny. Your coat is very nice. Ande
2/24/08 4:46 PM
Elle D said...
This is the kind of garment that draws you to it from across the room, and begs you to bury your hands in the fabric and then you just want to take it home. Any pictures to add of your daughter in this beautiful coat?
1/25/08 5:08 PM
JaneH said...
Fantastic coat!!
12/28/07 9:49 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
*GASP* This is so very very pretty. Lovely in every way. Where do I sign up to become one of your daughters?
12/27/07 8:47 PM
/anne... said...
I bought a coat just like that in 1975, when I got my first job. I earned $1.15/hour, and the coat cost $140 - but I felt like a princess in it! I'm sure your daughter will too :-)
11/30/07 10:05 PM
/anne... said...
I bought a coat just like that in 1975, when I got my first job. I earned $1.15/hour, and the coat cost $140 - but I felt like a princess in it! I'm sure your daughter will too :-)
11/30/07 10:05 PM
CharityAK said...
This is soooooo lovely! Very elegant. Utter perfection in execution.
11/8/07 6:27 PM
fastkitty said...
Excellent work. Beautiful coat.
10/23/07 10:28 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Wow, that is SO beautiful. Very haute couture. Gorgeous!
10/19/07 3:45 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is a very pretty coat! Love the color of the fabric and the details!
10/13/07 8:44 AM
singingtothewheat said...
Very very Nice.
10/9/07 2:52 AM
Boo97 said...
Beautiful coat!!!!
10/3/07 11:50 PM
minieme said...
very nice!
10/2/07 6:27 PM
SarahWeb said...
Beautiful! What a terrific result.
10/2/07 5:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
What a beautiful sunny delight! Exquisite work for one lucky lady!
10/2/07 4:58 PM
EveS said...
This coat is just plain yummy! It makes me want a lemon sorbet!
10/2/07 0:20 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow -- I think I'm in love with this coat. How beautiful! I bet your daughter is very happy and proud to have such a talented mother!
10/1/07 4:32 PM
crisford said...
Really, really yummy. And I just love how the lapels look so soft and lovely.
10/1/07 2:38 PM
sarahb said...
wow, that coat looks beautiful!
10/1/07 9:13 AM
Sewing Geek said...
Absolutely beautiful coat!
10/1/07 8:52 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Words elude me - or have already been used. What a gorgeous coat! You did a wonderful job.
10/1/07 7:02 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
If you need another daughter, I'm available.
10/1/07 6:15 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful, beautiful coat, and I'm sure your daughter loves it.
10/1/07 6:10 AM
piggyannie said...
great job on the coat! and the color is just marvelous! I am sure your daughter will love the coat
10/1/07 0:08 AM
Linda G said...
Your coat is so beautiful. I admire those of you that are brave enough to give the Marfy patterns a try.
9/30/07 11:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I can't even describe how much I love this coat. Coats are my weakness anyway. :O) Every single thing is PERFECT. I'll tell you one thing: Your daughter will be in a class all by herself in THIS coat! SUPERB job.
9/30/07 6:38 PM
jnamcd said...
Oh my gosh--this is just gorgeous! Beautiful job!
9/30/07 6:32 PM
PhyllisC said...
Delightful! This is the prefect coat to wear with a cocktail dress.
9/30/07 6:31 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
This is incredibly more gorgeous than the pattern line drawing suggests. Stunning!
9/30/07 6:11 PM
sewbehind said...
Oh, Oh, Oh! That is a pretty coat. Wonderful job.
9/30/07 4:36 PM
Elemenopeo said...
You did an incredible job!
9/30/07 4:32 PM
Reggies Mom said...
Simply gorgeous. What a cheery color to brighten up those dreary winter days. (I noticed that the princess seams are from the shoulder in front and the armseye in back. Don't think I've ever seen that before....how interesting!)
9/30/07 4:21 PM
Reggies Mom said...
double post
9/30/07 4:21 PM
Reggies Mom said...
Simply gorgeous. What a cheery color to brighten up those dreary winter days. I too would love to see a pic of you daughter wearing it. (I noticed that the princess seams are from the shoulder in front and the armseye in back. Don't think I've ever seen that before....how interesting!)
9/30/07 4:18 PM
LauraTS said...
Wow, that is jaw-dropping. Gorgeous.
9/30/07 4:00 PM
Erica B. said...
What a beautiful coat!
9/30/07 3:40 PM
Kellie R. said...
Everything about your coat is gorgeous! The color... the style! I just love it! Great job!
9/30/07 3:38 PM
Carolyndh said...
Wow, what a lovely style and color of coat--unusual and striking. What a lucky daughter.
9/30/07 3:26 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning.
9/30/07 1:32 PM
Nancywin said...
This turned out beautifully. Don't you just love the Marfy designs? It looks great!
9/30/07 12:38 PM
jessbev said...
Wow Marjenann - this coat is so beautiful. I love the colour, and the feminine shape. You have inspired me.
9/30/07 11:37 AM
Jan B. said...
Fantastic! That pattern is so cute, your daughter will be so proud. It's amazing that you didn't need to use interfacing. Congratulations on a terrific project--and difficult!
9/30/07 11:36 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful coat, your daughter will love wearing this. I know exactly what you mean about having no instructions. I am making a Marfy coat at this very moment, and it's much harder without instructions.
9/30/07 11:34 AM
Englebert said...
This is exquisite!!
9/30/07 11:31 AM
erikagut said...
Absolutely beautiful! So great to see something beyond black for a coat.
9/30/07 11:16 AM
Christina Sonja said...
What a gorgeous garment! Your daughter can wear that forever.
9/30/07 10:52 AM
cindyann said...
That is beautiful! The color is so unusual and gorgeous. Love the style.
9/30/07 10:51 AM
Immelu said...
That is absolutely fantastic!!!!
9/30/07 10:38 AM
carolynw said...
This is indeed a very special coat - love the color and the workmanship is terrific.
9/30/07 10:35 AM
dbsewer said...
This coat is gorgeous - and it's my color ;-). I'd love to see a picture of your daughter wearing it. I'll bet she'll feel like a princess. I have to admire anyone who can make a Marfy. I have several but haven't had the nerve to try them.
9/30/07 10:33 AM
lmg said...
Wow! Truly magnificent. Your daughter should get lots of wear (and compliments) from this
9/30/07 10:15 AM
Lori V said...
That is stunning, my hubby was super-impressed, too.
9/30/07 10:04 AM
TrixieD said...
Stunning!
9/30/07 9:57 AM
mochalover said...
Absolutely gorgeous coat! Great fabric everything is just perfect.
9/30/07 9:51 AM
KathleenS said...
Wow! You're right, it's a really special coat.
9/30/07 9:43 AM
MissCelie said...
So amazing. The color, the style, the buttons. It's beautiful.
9/30/07 9:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

New Look 6162

photo
by: Mazzygirl

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Other Zipper Pouch

photo
by: Holmar

Review