SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> 12140 (Town & Country)

3 more reviews
Viewed 940 times 
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo

 
 
About blue mooneystarstarstar
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/07 4:47 PM
Last Updated:7/27/08 4:29 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cecelia said...
These all came out so nicely, even the muslin. I'll have to sew this pattern up!
8/2/08 2:45 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Isn't it fun to rework those TNT's? You're right, it is a classic.
7/28/08 0:09 AM
Annette1 said...
Very pretty! That fabric gets even prettier, the closer you get. I love you detailed topstitching, too.
7/27/08 10:21 PM
Mufffet said...
That is just beautiful. My Mom had a Pendleton jacket like this in a muted gray-greenish-black small plaid, very very stylish in the early fifties. Your review reminded me of that and of her. Your detailing is superb, and the color is so good for the garment. Thanks for the review and the ideas on modification.
7/27/08 7:42 PM
Robin Denning said...
Very nice work! The extra details make it special.
7/27/08 7:06 PM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking jacket. I had a similar Pendleton sans belt and loved it. It was a red wool plaid. Your topstitching is top notch! BTW, what is a tiger tape guide?
7/27/08 4:41 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - this looks fabulous and I, personally, love that color. Great job.
10/11/07 11:25 PM
JeanetteE said...
Love, love, love it! What a beautiful classic. The shoulder pleat...Brilliant.
10/10/07 11:53 AM
aunt saidee said...
What a vintage treasure! Have you sent a picture to Louise? Of course she may adapt her pattern...but she would have to give you credit. Or maybe Pendleton: oops! I love the detail of the topstitching; don't you love tiger tape? I like the subtlety of the pleat. The whole thing is so Hepburn, too, a classic, indeed. Thanks for sharing and for the good review.
10/7/07 10:16 PM
beangirl said...
Very beautiful, you've done a wonderful job with this! And I love your linen version too. You and Irene have inspired me to check out this pattern.
10/7/07 9:07 PM
Karine said...
Your jacket is lovely - the hand topstitching was worth the effort - it really is a nice design detail.
10/7/07 8:33 PM
Sigrid. said...
Love the topstitching you did. Beautiful blouse.
10/7/07 2:28 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Really smart looking jacket. Love the hand stitching...great job. Great review. too!
10/7/07 2:13 PM
cmarie12 said...
I like the details and the sentimental value of the jacket!
10/7/07 2:05 PM
Irene Q said...
Both the shirt and jacket are beautiful! This is one of my favorite shirt patterns and I've always thought it was a shame it didn't have long sleeves. Thanks for the inspiration!
10/7/07 1:38 PM
blue mooney said...
snaffles, the pleat is 1/2" deep. To make, I slashed the front pattern piece parallel to the grainline and spread it 1", then folded the pleat and trued up the edge at the shoulder seam. Not hard! Thanks everyone for the nice comments.
10/7/07 7:09 AM
babydoll said...
i love this - one day i'll make one for myself.
10/7/07 5:30 AM
Peggy L said...
Wow! This is really awesome. Love all the details.
10/7/07 0:10 AM
Ceri said...
Love it! Great job!
10/6/07 8:20 PM
busyozmum said...
Love the little extra details you've added. The shoulder pleat and hand stitching really 'make' this. Great review.
10/6/07 6:59 PM
Karla Kizer said...
You and Louise are a great combination. Your jacket is wonderful - useful, attractive and expensive-looking. And the pink "muslin" is lovely, too.
10/6/07 6:00 PM
snaffles said...
Very nice adaptation of a pattern. I could really use one of these jackets. Did you just add an inch or so pleat the length of the front?
10/6/07 5:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8701

photo
by: sarahark

Review
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

More Info
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

More Info