Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cutting Line Designs: 12140 (Town & Country) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 929 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo
About blue mooneystarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/07 4:47 PM
Last Updated:7/27/08 4:29 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
snaffles said...
Very nice adaptation of a pattern. I could really use one of these jackets. Did you just add an inch or so pleat the length of the front?
10/6/07 5:30 PM
Karla Kizer said...
You and Louise are a great combination. Your jacket is wonderful - useful, attractive and expensive-looking. And the pink "muslin" is lovely, too.
10/6/07 6:00 PM
busyozmum said...
Love the little extra details you've added. The shoulder pleat and hand stitching really 'make' this. Great review.
10/6/07 6:59 PM
Ceri said...
Love it! Great job!
10/6/07 8:20 PM
Peggy L said...
Wow! This is really awesome. Love all the details.
10/7/07 0:10 AM
babydoll said...
i love this - one day i'll make one for myself.
10/7/07 5:30 AM
blue mooney said...
snaffles, the pleat is 1/2" deep. To make, I slashed the front pattern piece parallel to the grainline and spread it 1", then folded the pleat and trued up the edge at the shoulder seam. Not hard! Thanks everyone for the nice comments.
10/7/07 7:09 AM
Irene Q said...
Both the shirt and jacket are beautiful! This is one of my favorite shirt patterns and I've always thought it was a shame it didn't have long sleeves. Thanks for the inspiration!
10/7/07 1:38 PM
cmarie12 said...
I like the details and the sentimental value of the jacket!
10/7/07 2:05 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Really smart looking jacket. Love the hand stitching...great job. Great review. too!
10/7/07 2:13 PM
Sigrid. said...
Love the topstitching you did. Beautiful blouse.
10/7/07 2:28 PM
Karine said...
Your jacket is lovely - the hand topstitching was worth the effort - it really is a nice design detail.
10/7/07 8:33 PM
beangirl said...
Very beautiful, you've done a wonderful job with this! And I love your linen version too. You and Irene have inspired me to check out this pattern.
10/7/07 9:07 PM
aunt saidee said...
What a vintage treasure! Have you sent a picture to Louise? Of course she may adapt her pattern...but she would have to give you credit. Or maybe Pendleton: oops! I love the detail of the topstitching; don't you love tiger tape? I like the subtlety of the pleat. The whole thing is so Hepburn, too, a classic, indeed. Thanks for sharing and for the good review.
10/7/07 10:16 PM
JeanetteE said...
Love, love, love it! What a beautiful classic. The shoulder pleat...Brilliant.
10/10/07 11:53 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - this looks fabulous and I, personally, love that color. Great job.
10/11/07 11:25 PM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking jacket. I had a similar Pendleton sans belt and loved it. It was a red wool plaid. Your topstitching is top notch! BTW, what is a tiger tape guide?
7/27/08 4:41 PM
Robin Denning said...
Very nice work! The extra details make it special.
7/27/08 7:06 PM
Mufffet said...
That is just beautiful. My Mom had a Pendleton jacket like this in a muted gray-greenish-black small plaid, very very stylish in the early fifties. Your review reminded me of that and of her. Your detailing is superb, and the color is so good for the garment. Thanks for the review and the ideas on modification.
7/27/08 7:42 PM
Annette1 said...
Very pretty! That fabric gets even prettier, the closer you get. I love you detailed topstitching, too.
7/27/08 10:21 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Isn't it fun to rework those TNT's? You're right, it is a classic.
7/28/08 0:09 AM
cecelia said...
These all came out so nicely, even the muslin. I'll have to sew this pattern up!
8/2/08 2:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1170
photo
Review by RachelEsq on 2/16/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pink Chalk Studio No.104 Mail Sack
photo
Review by Annelisa on 7/9/08
Read Review

Loes Hinse Criss Cross Top
Loes Hinse Criss Cross Top

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us