SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7672 (OOP) (Swimsuit)

Viewed 636 times 
Reviewed by:PatCSM
photo

 
 
About PatCSMstar
MS USA
Member since: 5/8/07
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/07 5:59 AM
Last Updated:10/13/07 5:59 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Nice work. A swim suit is something I haven't thought about sewing since 1971. I did a cotton one then. You have done a nice job.
8/10/09 4:06 PM
Annette1 said...
This really looks nice on you! Your persistence paid off. :o)
10/16/07 7:54 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I meant to make this dress/jacket for late summer special occasions but got no sewing done. I was sort of thinking of a built in bra or strapless underneath for really cool special occasion wear. I figured if it could be a swimdress ,it would be cool when the heat is on. I have collected some of these Mary Duffy oop patterns to perhaps try.
10/14/07 8:05 AM
CynthiaSue said...
beautiful princess seams love the criss cross back. people aspire to work with lycra and make swimwear. good job! cute suit!
10/14/07 1:51 AM
Marilyn N. said...
The finished suit looks very nice. Congratulations on your persistence, the results were worth it!
10/14/07 0:45 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh! Really, next time, use one of the Kwik Sew patterns, they have at least a couple with skirts and you'll find they fit you much better. You shouldn't have to deal with a suit pattern made for woven fabrics! This is just too archaic. I agree sometimes you need to wing the instructions, but if you aren't very experienced it helps to have some that work. It's amazing this looks so good on you :-)
10/13/07 2:51 PM
mary in FL said...
You did a great job! Your side view shows that you raised the lower front of the arm hole so the girls won't fall out. Your use of snaps is a very clever idea; I don't think I've ever heard of that before. Your patience really paid off!
10/13/07 10:03 AM
RuthieSews said...
Well adapted to make what you needed, and well done for working on it all summer, I tend to junk those projects!
10/13/07 9:33 AM
mastdenman said...
It's a good looking swim dress. Much better than the design photo.
10/13/07 9:25 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I have this pattern in the 18-24 range. I liked its easy jacket and decided if I ever had to don another swimsuit since the weight gain this would be a good one to try. I plan to make the jacket for the first time next spring - who knows I might get brave and decide to do the swim suit. Thanks for posting. It is hard to find a modest suit that fits well for plus size people that is not in some mumu print.
10/13/07 8:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

More Info
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

More Info