SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> PatternCompany.de> 04-265 (Jacket with cut-on hood)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1256 times 
Reviewed by:RuthieSews
photo

 
 
About RuthieSewsstarstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/06
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/07 6:32 PM
Last Updated:10/20/07 11:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tini said...
oh, sorry to hear, that your muslin needs tweaking. Mine came out fine but keep in mind that this is a jacket to be worn over a pullover, so it has more ease than a suit jacket
10/13/07 6:53 PM
RuthieSews said...
Tini, I am going to keep persevering until I make at least one wearable version of this. I need to retrace off 2 sizes smaller and try again.
10/13/07 7:10 PM
Deepika said...
Ruth, I actually don't think it looks bad. So dont give up on it just yet. Perhaps with some more alterations it'll fit better. Good to know that the pattern runs large.
10/13/07 7:52 PM
Birgitte said...
I agree with Deepika- I was drawn to the picture. Your jacket looks very artistic. Honestly, I think yours looks a lot more interesting than the STOFF Atlier version :-)
10/13/07 9:38 PM
moushka said...
Ruthie, that's a stunning pattern. I hope you can make it work. In fact, I was impressed with all the patterns on the website. They look especially well cut, with real sleeveheads, as you said. Has anyone tried their pants? I'd be interested to know how they fit, as they look very different from the American patterns. Good luck with your jacket. Maybe changing the proportions, either longer or shorter, would help. Sue
10/14/07 1:32 AM
blue mooney said...
Good thing you did a muslin rather than cutting into the good stuff. It does look oversized on the model, too. Good luck with your revisions, Ruthie!
10/14/07 7:30 AM
Geordie Girl said...
Ruthie, I think it will look great with some tweaking. Be sure to let us know when it works out for you.
10/14/07 9:39 AM
Sanibelle said...
I'm sorry that the muslin didn't turn out as you would have liked, but thank you for showing it in the pre-tweaking stage, giving us a good idea of what to expect if we want to make it. I'm glad you're not giving up on it, since it really is a pretty jacket.
10/14/07 10:16 AM
Em's Summer said...
Sorry that it still needs a lot of tweaking, BUT congratulations on your weight loss. You are looking MUCH thinner!
10/14/07 12:12 PM
Ronda Rae said...
It's a gorgeous pattern and I wouldn't give up yet either. It definitely has potential to look wonderful on you. Definitely try another muslin. Maybe you could measure the finished jacket/yourself and go from there? Good luck.
10/14/07 12:14 PM
sherry pete said...
I think with boiled wool fabric you will get a completly different look with its nice draping quality and when you size it down a bit. You were so smart to do a muslin--I will need one too before I cut the real stuff$$. Thanks for posting this.
10/15/07 12:06 PM
Karin Mantefors said...
Iīv started on mine too and itīs OK I had to do a lot of alterations on the sleeve caps ans added some embellishments. Itīs nice...
10/19/07 2:39 PM
RuthieSews said...
Updated muslin and photos added.
10/20/07 11:26 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very nice Ruthie, it looks great on you, love the pin too!
10/20/07 11:30 AM
RuthieSews said...
The pin was a gift from my closest friend, because she said it was very me and she had to get it for me. I haven't worn it much due to the sheer size of it, but it works very well as a closure for the jacket.
10/20/07 12:17 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Wow, I love the jacket. Personally, I like the longer version with the hem trim. It looks like you nailed all the the revisions. Wonderful job. I love dragonflies!
10/20/07 1:14 PM
Debbie Cook said...
What a great difference!
10/20/07 2:29 PM
Sigrid. said...
What a difference with your first version, this is much better, and I don't think the length is bad at all on you.
10/21/07 11:48 AM
moushka said...
Ruthie, I love the version with the hem trim. What a difference since you made the alterations! It's looking pretty good now. Good luck with your odyssey. Sue
10/22/07 10:28 PM
Tini said...
oooh btw. the 1 cm s.a. is included in the pattern as I just looked up (I'll be cutting the jacket out in a minute too )
12/26/07 8:16 AM
RuthieSews said...
Tini, I didn't realise it had a 1cm seam allowance included. That could well account for my sizing problems. Thanks for letting me know. It'll be cool to see yours when sewn.
12/27/07 11:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

More Knits
More Knits

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-102

photo
by: Merche

Review
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now