SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 1327 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaL
photo

 
 
About JuliaLstar
KS USA
Member since: 11/6/02
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/03 2:04 PM
Last Updated:3/15/03 9:05 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JuliaL said... (3/15/03 9:09 PM) Reply
Deepika -- Yes, I love this color. I think I might have enough fabric left to squeeze out a summer top. Karen -- Yes :) On the purple top, I eased the bust dart first, but the fabric got a gathered look that I didn't like, so I ripped it out and sewed the dart. On the pink top, I was able to ease the dart, although it's not perfect (but what is?) Julie -- Until I saw the red top from the side in the mirror, I hadn't realized I HAD a full bust. Quite a lightbulb moment...I expect my sewing will be much better from now on!
Julie Culshaw said... (3/14/03 5:35 PM) Reply
Thanks for your review, Julia. It is very helpful to folks like myself who also have to accommodate a full bust, but don't want those grand shoulders. I have heard the sleeves are small in most of Loes' patterns, something I will have to watch for as I have big upper arms too.
KarenP said... (3/14/03 2:29 PM) Reply
Julia, I really like your top. I'm looking forward to seeing a picture of your second version. Did you actually sew in the dart, or did you create the dart and then ease it in when sewing it up?
Deepika said... (3/14/03 2:09 PM) Reply
very nice top Julia. The color is very pretty on you! I agree about the broad shoulders. I have only made a muslin of this top and I need to fix the shoulders before I make the final version.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-103

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Pattern Details
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 1061

photo
by: shaleenyma...

Review