SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 1325 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaL
photo

 
 
About JuliaLstar
KS USA
Member since: 11/6/02
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/03 2:04 PM
Last Updated:3/15/03 9:05 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
very nice top Julia. The color is very pretty on you! I agree about the broad shoulders. I have only made a muslin of this top and I need to fix the shoulders before I make the final version.
3/14/03 2:09 PM
KarenP said...
Julia, I really like your top. I'm looking forward to seeing a picture of your second version. Did you actually sew in the dart, or did you create the dart and then ease it in when sewing it up?
3/14/03 2:29 PM
Julie Culshaw said...
Thanks for your review, Julia. It is very helpful to folks like myself who also have to accommodate a full bust, but don't want those grand shoulders. I have heard the sleeves are small in most of Loes' patterns, something I will have to watch for as I have big upper arms too.
3/14/03 5:35 PM
JuliaL said...
Deepika -- Yes, I love this color. I think I might have enough fabric left to squeeze out a summer top. Karen -- Yes :) On the purple top, I eased the bust dart first, but the fabric got a gathered look that I didn't like, so I ripped it out and sewed the dart. On the pink top, I was able to ease the dart, although it's not perfect (but what is?) Julie -- Until I saw the red top from the side in the mirror, I hadn't realized I HAD a full bust. Quite a lightbulb moment...I expect my sewing will be much better from now on!
3/15/03 9:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-114

photo
by: grays08

Review
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now