SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 1330 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaL
photo

 
 
About JuliaLstar
KS USA
Member since: 11/6/02
Reviews: 19 (patterns: 16)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/03 2:04 PM
Last Updated:3/15/03 9:05 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
JuliaL said... (3/15/03 9:09 PM) Reply
Deepika -- Yes, I love this color. I think I might have enough fabric left to squeeze out a summer top. Karen -- Yes :) On the purple top, I eased the bust dart first, but the fabric got a gathered look that I didn't like, so I ripped it out and sewed the dart. On the pink top, I was able to ease the dart, although it's not perfect (but what is?) Julie -- Until I saw the red top from the side in the mirror, I hadn't realized I HAD a full bust. Quite a lightbulb moment...I expect my sewing will be much better from now on!
Julie Culshaw said... (3/14/03 5:35 PM) Reply
Thanks for your review, Julia. It is very helpful to folks like myself who also have to accommodate a full bust, but don't want those grand shoulders. I have heard the sleeves are small in most of Loes' patterns, something I will have to watch for as I have big upper arms too.
KarenP said... (3/14/03 2:29 PM) Reply
Julia, I really like your top. I'm looking forward to seeing a picture of your second version. Did you actually sew in the dart, or did you create the dart and then ease it in when sewing it up?
Deepika said... (3/14/03 2:09 PM) Reply
very nice top Julia. The color is very pretty on you! I agree about the broad shoulders. I have only made a muslin of this top and I need to fix the shoulders before I make the final version.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

StyleArc Shelly Skirt

photo
by: yorkshire ...

Review
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Pattern Details
Contest Frankenpattern Contest

photo
by: unfinished...

Review