SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 1329 times 
Reviewed by:JuliaL
photo

 
 
About JuliaLstar
KS USA
Member since: 11/6/02
Reviews: 19 (patterns: 16)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/03 2:04 PM
Last Updated:3/15/03 9:05 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JuliaL said... (3/15/03 9:09 PM) Reply
Deepika -- Yes, I love this color. I think I might have enough fabric left to squeeze out a summer top. Karen -- Yes :) On the purple top, I eased the bust dart first, but the fabric got a gathered look that I didn't like, so I ripped it out and sewed the dart. On the pink top, I was able to ease the dart, although it's not perfect (but what is?) Julie -- Until I saw the red top from the side in the mirror, I hadn't realized I HAD a full bust. Quite a lightbulb moment...I expect my sewing will be much better from now on!
Julie Culshaw said... (3/14/03 5:35 PM) Reply
Thanks for your review, Julia. It is very helpful to folks like myself who also have to accommodate a full bust, but don't want those grand shoulders. I have heard the sleeves are small in most of Loes' patterns, something I will have to watch for as I have big upper arms too.
KarenP said... (3/14/03 2:29 PM) Reply
Julia, I really like your top. I'm looking forward to seeing a picture of your second version. Did you actually sew in the dart, or did you create the dart and then ease it in when sewing it up?
Deepika said... (3/14/03 2:09 PM) Reply
very nice top Julia. The color is very pretty on you! I agree about the broad shoulders. I have only made a muslin of this top and I need to fix the shoulders before I make the final version.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

McCall's 6996

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details