Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2007-117 (tulip sheath dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 3515 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 412 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/15/07 2:27 AM
Last Updated:10/15/07 2:27 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SillyValley said...
Well Erica, your creation is the one that put me over the top. I'm doing it. I'm subscribing, tracing and all. This is gorgeous on you by the way...
10/15/07 3:07 AM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations Erica !!! Beautiful dress. I see a few Dior lookalikes in the last few issues of BWOF too.
10/15/07 3:33 AM
Shelia in Alaska said...
Once again you've done a fabulous job!! The dress looks wonderful on you and I love the pleating details. I sure wish I had this issue of BWOF!
10/15/07 3:44 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Really no FBA? And this looks very good on you, the only thing stopping me so far was the build of the ones who've done it before. Can't believe you've let tracing stop you from BWOF though, it's so easy... And do you have a rotary cutter with an adjustable guide arm, so you don't need to add a seam allowance? Burda are such idiots not to publicize this..
10/15/07 5:20 AM
So So said...
Thanks for makingh this dress and reviewing it! Previus reviews were made by smaller busted sewwers so I to wasa bit unsure.soglad you stuck with it and did not let your muslin put youoff. Just goes to show. What a fantastic colour. Very very NOW And even more WOW!
10/15/07 5:43 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I'm loving the colour! It looks fantastic on you...
10/15/07 5:55 AM
Linda G said...
Beautiful dress. I love the color and I really do like it collarless, I think the pleat detail shows more.
10/15/07 6:22 AM
LauraLo said...
Great dress, Erica! I love how it looks on you, I love that you gave up that collar and I also love that purple/fuchsia colour!
10/15/07 7:00 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic dress.
10/15/07 7:06 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Add me to one of those who you convinced to try the Burda Mag. This dress is gorgeous and the color is to die for. Waiting for an occasion? Every day we live is an occasion!
10/15/07 7:23 AM
xtreme1 said...
I think that will turn heads for sure. You've made it so well.
10/15/07 7:41 AM
MissCelie said...
That color just makes this dress POP. You look amazing. Welcome to the world of BWOF!!
10/15/07 8:01 AM
Sic said...
I love the collar alteration! Gorgeous dress - I like it better than the inspiration!
10/15/07 8:10 AM
Babs42 said...
Love this!! You look great in it and the color is fab. I can't wait to get my subscription. I hope it comes soon!
10/15/07 8:14 AM
Ingiepops said...
Ha, once you get hooked on Burda, there's no going back! If I ever feel down in the sewing dumps I just get some out and get inspired. This dress looks fab, the colour is great on you.
10/15/07 8:21 AM
snowey said...
Hey Girl that dress looks fabulous, I mean FABULOUS
10/15/07 8:57 AM
SandraB said...
This dress is very flattering on you and the colour is great.
10/15/07 9:51 AM
Nancy K said...
I knew you'd love BWOF! This looks great on you and I am so glad a curvier girl finally reviewed this dress. I like it without the collar too. I think it's probably more becoming to bustier women. Looks fab on you.
10/15/07 9:57 AM
Christina Sonja said...
So I think it's safe to say that you hit a home run with your first BWOF project. Fabulous...!
10/15/07 10:02 AM
cmarie12 said...
Congrats on finding success with your first BWOF! This is a nice dress!
10/15/07 10:44 AM
loohoo44 said...
Love it! You got a great fit, love all the details and the neckline looks great on you.
10/15/07 11:06 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I love your dress. The color is great on you.
10/15/07 12:05 PM
LindsayT said...
Okay me too, gotta try BWOF. This dress and your endorsement sold me.
10/15/07 1:18 PM
Hilary said...
I *LOVE* your dress!! The color is fantastic, and looks so incredible on you, and WOW! How cool that yours is similar to the one in your inspiration file :D only better of course!!
10/15/07 1:40 PM
Levone said...
Fantastic looking dress! Way to go for just jumping right in there....great job!
10/15/07 2:19 PM
EdnaW said...
Looking good, as usual!!
10/15/07 4:12 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wow, that is fabulous! I have this issue. I may just have to pull it out and trace off that pattern.
10/15/07 4:39 PM
Leora said...
This is a great silhouette on you! Lovely, Erica.
10/15/07 7:25 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Wow!
10/15/07 8:34 PM
Tany said...
Lovely! Your work is amazingly perfect! And that color suits you so well!
10/16/07 4:30 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is becoming a popular dress! Like that you made it from jersey and looks good without the collar.
10/16/07 5:12 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful dress..the color is gorgeous! I am loving BWOF more & more. The tracing of the patterns put me off for years, too, but I have now come to almost enjoy it! It helps me understand how the pattern fits together. Nice work, Erica!
10/16/07 7:39 AM
carolineG said...
I love how everyones version of this dress is so different --- yours looks fantastic!
10/16/07 11:34 AM
Annette1 said...
Very nice! (I'm a Burda fan, too, especially of their pants and jackets ... so well designed.) You look smashing in your dress. :o)
10/16/07 6:58 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Per usual - stunning! I love everything you make! Like you, I've wasted years of sewing before realizing how fantastic Burda patterns go together! congrats on your first Burda - I can't wait to see your next burda creation
10/17/07 2:41 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful dress, and it looks wonderful on you. Wonderful job as usual.
10/17/07 6:32 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
As usual, your interpretation ROCKS! Congratulations on BWOF!
10/19/07 12:17 PM
jjc said...
Great results on the dress. The fabric and color are wonderful.
10/19/07 8:40 PM
Dei said...
Erica, You are a wealth of information. I just bought my first BWOF magazine and I am excited to try some of the patterns, especially after seeing your fabulous-as-usual results. Great color choice and the omission of the collar was wise decision because the dress totally compliments you.
12/2/07 0:08 AM
Dei said...
Erica, You are a wealth of information. I just bought my first BWOF magazine and I am excited to try some of the patterns, especially after seeing your fabulous-as-usual results. Great color choice and the omission of the collar was a wise decision because the dress totally compliments you.
12/2/07 0:09 AM
rallmeida said...
looks great! the color is great on you and the fit is perfect!
1/18/08 8:57 AM
Michele19 said...
the dress is smashing, what a great color on you.
4/18/08 7:52 PM
trexx said...
I have attempted to get this pattern foreverrrrrr!!! How can I get this?
7/17/08 12:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 9848
photo
Review by KatieN on 5/13/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3658
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 12/15/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4173 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 4173 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us