Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8398 (Very Easy Vogue) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1001 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:hongkongshopper
photo
About hongkongshopperstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/26/04
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/07 8:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
Oh good, I was meaning to ask you for the pattern number for this. It's ever so cute, and I like the seam details with the topstitching.
11/2/07 8:49 PM
Birgitte said...
What a beautiful jacket, and your review is detailed with lots of pictures- thanks!
11/2/07 8:56 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What an adorable little jacket!
11/2/07 9:33 PM
Laurasews said...
I love how you show the comparison of the 6 vs. the 8. Very helpful. I think a lot of us use a bigger size than we need sometimes. Your pictures perfectly illustrate what I should be looking for.
11/2/07 9:42 PM
Larkin said...
What a great outfit! You've done a great job and it looks adorable on you! I'm just jealous that I couldn't join you for your PR weekend - cross Pacific is just too far!
11/3/07 2:26 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great review. I really appreciate all the info about choosing the right size. This style is just perfect for a light summer jacket.
11/3/07 5:28 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely jacket - you have the slim figure to carry this off well. Love the entire outfit
11/3/07 8:53 AM
ALY said...
Cute jacket and the outfit looks great on you.
11/3/07 9:26 AM
LindsayT said...
Very attractive jacket, and helpful review. Thanks!
11/3/07 9:29 AM
Nancy K said...
I made this last summer and had similar complaints about this 'easy' pattern. They skimp on technique in these patterns and thus I think it is harder rather than easy for a beginner. I too used my own finding for neck and seams. I think that this is much easier than using ready made bias tape. Yours is lovely and flattering.
11/3/07 10:58 AM
kiddo said...
Great combo!!! Thank you for taking the time to photograph the steps involved. A picture is worth a thousand words!
11/3/07 3:43 PM
Vonnevo said...
Lookin' noice Vicki !!!!!
11/3/07 4:51 PM
rivergum said...
Terrific outfit! I'm also very impressed with the alterations you made.
11/3/07 5:37 PM
Annette1 said...
Boy, that's the best-fitting bolero I've ever seen. Seems like they normally hang in an unflattering way over the bust, but this one fits you just perfectly and is very flattering. I love your seam binding, too. :o)
11/3/07 10:00 PM
MissCelie said...
I love this as a coverup. But it also looks so very well made!
11/5/07 5:20 PM
supermollio said...
You did a beautiful job on the jacket (and the skirt as well)! I never would have noticed that pattern, but it's really cute as you did it!
11/6/07 10:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2005-133
photo
Review by pharmercoo... on 4/19/05
Read Review

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2013-122 Pleated Blouse
photo
Review by MNBarb on 7/8/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2237 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 2237 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7137 Pattern
Burda 7137 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us