SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5512 (Lined dress and legging)

9 more reviews
Viewed 937 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 135 people
patterns reviewed: 143
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/07 10:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Catbird said...
This looks great! I love the way it looks in a knit and may try it myself. A nice variation might be long sleeves. You and your daughter did a fantastic job!
11/4/07 10:59 AM
Diane E said...
Bravo to you and your daughter! This is a very current and terrific dress. I love the color. Thanks for the tips on making it in a knit.
11/4/07 11:10 AM
Lori V said...
Your daughter did a fantastic job. This is a very cute outfit. Thanks for the tips on the sizing.
11/4/07 11:54 AM
cindy-lou said...
Like mother, like daughter-- you make such beautiful things, and now so does your girl! Tell her she did a beautiful job. BTW, I often find the same thing with kids patterns-- they sometimes (but not always!) run VERY big. I don't know why they do this, but they do. Great save with the measuring beforehand.
11/4/07 12:52 PM
kiddo said...
Awesome dress and leggings!!! One thing about using a stretch fabric with a non-stretch pattern: You need to compensate for the extra "ease" that will be created by using a knit. Depending on the percentage of extra room the knit will give you going down a size or two will give you the correct amount of ease. The other method is to fold out the percentage of excess vertically in the pattern. Sara Veblen has written articles for Threads magazine about handling knits. Great dress!
11/4/07 2:57 PM
LindsayT said...
Nice work. I would love for my teenage DD to try sewing a dress like this, but I think the sewing gene skipped a generation with her!
11/4/07 5:59 PM
Athene said...
This dress looks very nice on your daughter. It turned out very well in a knit. Good to know about the sizing running large.
11/4/07 6:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute dress, perfect I think for your daughter. Good job!
11/5/07 5:31 AM
cmarie12 said...
Love the dress! It looks great on your daughter! Thanks for a very helpful review!
11/5/07 9:27 AM
MissCelie said...
What a smart looking dress and I love how she wears it with her boots!
11/5/07 5:18 PM
LauraLo said...
According to the Big 4 size chart, I'm a 10 and I make all the time a 6 or a 4 (depending on what's available). This is a very nice dress, trendy and comfy. Pretty easy to make as well, I think.
11/7/07 7:48 AM
Tany said...
Great dress! Your daughter shows talent!
11/11/07 8:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8705

photo
by: Willowwear...

Review