Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5512 (Lined dress and legging) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 933 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/07 10:25 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Catbird said...
This looks great! I love the way it looks in a knit and may try it myself. A nice variation might be long sleeves. You and your daughter did a fantastic job!
11/4/07 10:59 AM
Diane E said...
Bravo to you and your daughter! This is a very current and terrific dress. I love the color. Thanks for the tips on making it in a knit.
11/4/07 11:10 AM
Lori V said...
Your daughter did a fantastic job. This is a very cute outfit. Thanks for the tips on the sizing.
11/4/07 11:54 AM
cindy-lou said...
Like mother, like daughter-- you make such beautiful things, and now so does your girl! Tell her she did a beautiful job. BTW, I often find the same thing with kids patterns-- they sometimes (but not always!) run VERY big. I don't know why they do this, but they do. Great save with the measuring beforehand.
11/4/07 12:52 PM
kiddo said...
Awesome dress and leggings!!! One thing about using a stretch fabric with a non-stretch pattern: You need to compensate for the extra "ease" that will be created by using a knit. Depending on the percentage of extra room the knit will give you going down a size or two will give you the correct amount of ease. The other method is to fold out the percentage of excess vertically in the pattern. Sara Veblen has written articles for Threads magazine about handling knits. Great dress!
11/4/07 2:57 PM
LindsayT said...
Nice work. I would love for my teenage DD to try sewing a dress like this, but I think the sewing gene skipped a generation with her!
11/4/07 5:59 PM
Athene said...
This dress looks very nice on your daughter. It turned out very well in a knit. Good to know about the sizing running large.
11/4/07 6:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute dress, perfect I think for your daughter. Good job!
11/5/07 5:31 AM
cmarie12 said...
Love the dress! It looks great on your daughter! Thanks for a very helpful review!
11/5/07 9:27 AM
MissCelie said...
What a smart looking dress and I love how she wears it with her boots!
11/5/07 5:18 PM
LauraLo said...
According to the Big 4 size chart, I'm a 10 and I make all the time a 6 or a 4 (depending on what's available). This is a very nice dress, trendy and comfy. Pretty easy to make as well, I think.
11/7/07 7:48 AM
Tany said...
Great dress! Your daughter shows talent!
11/11/07 8:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 1886 Misses Top
photo
Review by jrbarham on 3/16/12
Read Review

New Look 6613 Pattern
New Look 6613 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other LL007 Padfolio
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 2/17/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us