SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9949 (Tote bags)

28 more reviews
Viewed 1527 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 359
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
patterns reviewed: 259
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/03 6:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PhyllisC said...
Deepika - the first time I made a bag like this I had a similiar experience - and I realized that what really makes a great bag is the interfacings and internal construction. I've used a fusible batting on the body of bags, which gives them a nice "heft", and I sometimes use buckram in the bottom - to weigh down the bag and counterbalance a tendency for the bag to fall over. Home-Sew and Lacis both carry lots of great bag hardware and notions that really make a difference (like magnetic snaps and other cool notions.)
3/23/03 7:45 PM
Deepika said...
Phyllis, where did you find buckram and where are these stores located?
3/23/03 9:51 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
What a cute bag, Deepika! I really like your fabric choice. I just picked up a couple bag patterns, and missed this one. I'll have to add this to my wish list for the next sale, such a nice variety of styles!
3/23/03 10:32 PM
Pam Z said...
A nice looking bag. Too bad the zip isn't easier to use.
3/24/03 4:45 AM
PhyllisC said...
Deepika - Lacis is in San Francisco, I reviwed them in the web sites section (they have good e-commerce capability) and Home-Sew is in PA. Home Sew was reviewed in PR web sites by Georgene a while back. Their e-commerce is not quite as robust, but still decent. You can sometimes find buckram in JoAnns or at Fabric Place. It's not washable; so as a subsitute, if you want to wash the bag, you could use plastic canvas or a similiar weight flexible plastic, such as a report cover from an office supply store. For example, in terms of constant use, an evening bag might not need to be washed, but a tote used daily might need to be.
3/24/03 2:21 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Your bag is so adorable - just perfect for summer. I like to use fusible fleece whenever I make bags - it really beefs up the fabric (you can also use regular fleece and fusible web by the yard). I also like either plastic canvas (totally washable so you don't have to make it removable) or foamcore (which I cover with fabric and can remove for washing) in the bottoms for added structure. Warning, making bags can become an addiction.
3/24/03 2:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 200965-1006

photo
by: tigergirl

Review
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review