SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9949 (Tote bags)

30 more reviews
Viewed 1531 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews: 377 (patterns: 274)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 312 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/03 6:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said... (3/24/03 2:36 PM) Reply
Your bag is so adorable - just perfect for summer. I like to use fusible fleece whenever I make bags - it really beefs up the fabric (you can also use regular fleece and fusible web by the yard). I also like either plastic canvas (totally washable so you don't have to make it removable) or foamcore (which I cover with fabric and can remove for washing) in the bottoms for added structure. Warning, making bags can become an addiction.
PhyllisC said... (3/24/03 2:21 PM) Reply
Deepika - Lacis is in San Francisco, I reviwed them in the web sites section (they have good e-commerce capability) and Home-Sew is in PA. Home Sew was reviewed in PR web sites by Georgene a while back. Their e-commerce is not quite as robust, but still decent. You can sometimes find buckram in JoAnns or at Fabric Place. It's not washable; so as a subsitute, if you want to wash the bag, you could use plastic canvas or a similiar weight flexible plastic, such as a report cover from an office supply store. For example, in terms of constant use, an evening bag might not need to be washed, but a tote used daily might need to be.
Pam Z said... (3/24/03 4:45 AM) Reply
A nice looking bag. Too bad the zip isn't easier to use.
Debbie Spriggs said... (3/23/03 10:32 PM) Reply
What a cute bag, Deepika! I really like your fabric choice. I just picked up a couple bag patterns, and missed this one. I'll have to add this to my wish list for the next sale, such a nice variety of styles!
Deepika said... (3/23/03 9:51 PM) Reply
Phyllis, where did you find buckram and where are these stores located?
PhyllisC said... (3/23/03 7:45 PM) Reply
Deepika - the first time I made a bag like this I had a similiar experience - and I realized that what really makes a great bag is the interfacings and internal construction. I've used a fusible batting on the body of bags, which gives them a nice "heft", and I sometimes use buckram in the bottom - to weigh down the bag and counterbalance a tendency for the bag to fall over. Home-Sew and Lacis both carry lots of great bag hardware and notions that really make a difference (like magnetic snaps and other cool notions.)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Pattern Details
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Pattern Details