SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9949 (Tote bags)

28 more reviews
Viewed 1529 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 267
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/03 6:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
Your bag is so adorable - just perfect for summer. I like to use fusible fleece whenever I make bags - it really beefs up the fabric (you can also use regular fleece and fusible web by the yard). I also like either plastic canvas (totally washable so you don't have to make it removable) or foamcore (which I cover with fabric and can remove for washing) in the bottoms for added structure. Warning, making bags can become an addiction.
3/24/03 2:36 PM
PhyllisC said...
Deepika - Lacis is in San Francisco, I reviwed them in the web sites section (they have good e-commerce capability) and Home-Sew is in PA. Home Sew was reviewed in PR web sites by Georgene a while back. Their e-commerce is not quite as robust, but still decent. You can sometimes find buckram in JoAnns or at Fabric Place. It's not washable; so as a subsitute, if you want to wash the bag, you could use plastic canvas or a similiar weight flexible plastic, such as a report cover from an office supply store. For example, in terms of constant use, an evening bag might not need to be washed, but a tote used daily might need to be.
3/24/03 2:21 PM
Pam Z said...
A nice looking bag. Too bad the zip isn't easier to use.
3/24/03 4:45 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
What a cute bag, Deepika! I really like your fabric choice. I just picked up a couple bag patterns, and missed this one. I'll have to add this to my wish list for the next sale, such a nice variety of styles!
3/23/03 10:32 PM
Deepika said...
Phyllis, where did you find buckram and where are these stores located?
3/23/03 9:51 PM
PhyllisC said...
Deepika - the first time I made a bag like this I had a similiar experience - and I realized that what really makes a great bag is the interfacings and internal construction. I've used a fusible batting on the body of bags, which gives them a nice "heft", and I sometimes use buckram in the bottom - to weigh down the bag and counterbalance a tendency for the bag to fall over. Home-Sew and Lacis both carry lots of great bag hardware and notions that really make a difference (like magnetic snaps and other cool notions.)
3/23/03 7:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

Buy Now
Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2007-02

photo
by: Janine S

Review