Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8451 (Very Easy Vogue Misses' top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 881 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR
About michellep74starstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/07 6:29 PM
Last Updated:11/6/07 6:29 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ITAdmin said...
I've been looking at this top, as I'm searching for something to do with a piece of matte jersey. Your review is on point since I have an ample bosom as well. Thanks for the helpful info.
11/6/07 7:13 PM
HeyJane said...
Love the color. Love the $1.50 ! Looks good on you and I like the sleeve shape. Thanks for the info, I like Vogue top patterns...can you stitch the pleat down with a little decorative stitch somehow? Looks OK to me, though.
11/6/07 7:28 PM
Linda F said...
We could be body doubles. Personally I would skip the version with the pleat all together. Instead I would put the sleeves from view c and put them on the front of view B. Then you get the beautiful scoop, the darts and the sleeves without the pleat in the front. Unless you are in love with the pleat detail, I just don't see how it is going to work, that is unless you are the size of my DD, which is about a large A to a very small B cup.
11/6/07 7:50 PM
tomed said...
Beautiful color on you! Thanks for the review.
11/6/07 7:53 PM
michellep74 said...
Linda, that's probably the only design that I'd consider making from this pattern again. From the line drawing on the front, I was drawn to the button detail, and didn't think about how the pleat would work. Newbie mistake, I guess.
11/6/07 8:00 PM
cathy45 said...
I never would have looked twice at this pattern if yours didn't look so cute. Great color on you.
11/6/07 11:24 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I think part of the problem with the pleat is that you probably need an FBA. Pleats really need -ease- in the place they go into, otherwise they just splay to supply it.. I totally second the suggestion to use the darted front, although you'd need an FBA there too, Vogue patterns being so 'B cup'.
11/7/07 4:12 AM
ryan's mom said...
Although you had issues sewing it, the top looks so pretty and the color looks fab on you!
11/7/07 6:41 AM
cindy-lou said...
I agree with Ryan's Mom. Wear it! :)
11/7/07 9:25 AM
ZeldaDC said...
Me too! It's pretty. Thanks for the great review.
11/7/07 11:05 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Boy, I really like that pattern. Thanks for sewing it up. Do you think your soft fabric choice may be what is causing the pleat problem. Maybe in a firmer fabric you wouldn't have quite so much trouble.
11/7/07 9:17 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive on you, Michelle!
11/8/07 0:43 AM
Terri Smith said...
I have this pattern on my list for Hancock's Veteran's day sale, and plan on purchasing it tomorrow. I appreciate your review concerning the neck facings and darts--I want to make view B, because I am sure I would totally blow the neck of view C. Love your choice of color.
11/11/07 8:14 PM
greenandlilac said...
This top looks great on you. You are too hard on yourself. Wear it, the color is wonderful
2/9/08 1:18 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks for the great review. I was thinking about buying this pattern.
10/29/08 2:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 2662
photo
Review by MapleCandy... on 3/19/10
Read Review

Burda 9712 Pattern
Burda 9712 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2801 Pattern
Jalie 2801 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6788 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by aaltje on 1/24/14
Read Review

Oliver S 2 2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S 2   2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us