SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8451 (Very Easy Vogue Misses' top)

15 more reviews
Viewed 883 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 159
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/07 6:29 PM
Last Updated:11/6/07 6:29 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ITAdmin said...
I've been looking at this top, as I'm searching for something to do with a piece of matte jersey. Your review is on point since I have an ample bosom as well. Thanks for the helpful info.
11/6/07 7:13 PM
HeyJane said...
Love the color. Love the $1.50 ! Looks good on you and I like the sleeve shape. Thanks for the info, I like Vogue top patterns...can you stitch the pleat down with a little decorative stitch somehow? Looks OK to me, though.
11/6/07 7:28 PM
Linda F said...
We could be body doubles. Personally I would skip the version with the pleat all together. Instead I would put the sleeves from view c and put them on the front of view B. Then you get the beautiful scoop, the darts and the sleeves without the pleat in the front. Unless you are in love with the pleat detail, I just don't see how it is going to work, that is unless you are the size of my DD, which is about a large A to a very small B cup.
11/6/07 7:50 PM
tomed said...
Beautiful color on you! Thanks for the review.
11/6/07 7:53 PM
michellep74 said...
Linda, that's probably the only design that I'd consider making from this pattern again. From the line drawing on the front, I was drawn to the button detail, and didn't think about how the pleat would work. Newbie mistake, I guess.
11/6/07 8:00 PM
cathy45 said...
I never would have looked twice at this pattern if yours didn't look so cute. Great color on you.
11/6/07 11:24 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I think part of the problem with the pleat is that you probably need an FBA. Pleats really need -ease- in the place they go into, otherwise they just splay to supply it.. I totally second the suggestion to use the darted front, although you'd need an FBA there too, Vogue patterns being so 'B cup'.
11/7/07 4:12 AM
ryan's mom said...
Although you had issues sewing it, the top looks so pretty and the color looks fab on you!
11/7/07 6:41 AM
cindy-lou said...
I agree with Ryan's Mom. Wear it! :)
11/7/07 9:25 AM
ZeldaDC said...
Me too! It's pretty. Thanks for the great review.
11/7/07 11:05 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Boy, I really like that pattern. Thanks for sewing it up. Do you think your soft fabric choice may be what is causing the pleat problem. Maybe in a firmer fabric you wouldn't have quite so much trouble.
11/7/07 9:17 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive on you, Michelle!
11/8/07 0:43 AM
Terri Smith said...
I have this pattern on my list for Hancock's Veteran's day sale, and plan on purchasing it tomorrow. I appreciate your review concerning the neck facings and darts--I want to make view B, because I am sure I would totally blow the neck of view C. Love your choice of color.
11/11/07 8:14 PM
greenandlilac said...
This top looks great on you. You are too hard on yourself. Wear it, the color is wonderful
2/9/08 1:18 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks for the great review. I was thinking about buying this pattern.
10/29/08 2:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

No Pattern Used 05-2012

photo
by: maria 6705

Review
McCall's 5525

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now