Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5479 (Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 793 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 337
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/07 10:01 PM
Last Updated:11/9/07 11:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew_Creative said...
Hey LoriV I think this coat looks very in, and don't beat yourself up about the back I mean have you looked at some of the RTW thats being sold, believe me when I say this looks very good, nice review too. love the blog Debbie
11/9/07 10:33 PM
svenskaflicka said...
I just cut this out on Wednesday night! Glad to see a review. Yours turned out really cute! I think the plaid enhances the vintagey look, and I like your collar solution. I just may steal the idea if the same thing happens to me. Doing mine in an uncut corduroy.
11/9/07 11:02 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Very cute coat! I love the changes you made to really make it your own. I love your modification to the collar - it's surprising how that little detail can really change the look of the whole garment.
11/9/07 11:47 PM
CharityAK said...
Love this style. The plaid reminds me of some of those yummy Pendleton wool jackets from the 40s. I think this has a wonderful Vintage Chic look to it. Great job!
11/9/07 11:51 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Way cuter than the pattern pix. I did not pick this up because of the pattern pix but now I see yours and must go get it! LOVE the sleeve bands. LOVE the Betzina book as well-my favorite!
11/10/07 0:29 AM
northern nasturtium said...
That coat is much nicer than the one on the pattern envelope!
11/10/07 1:28 AM
Puppy said...
I like this very much and I, too, like your solution for the high neck and feel like it's a great design enhancement. I'd buy it in a store in a heartbeat. (And I, too, also wish I had some in-the-flesh friend(s) who sew!)
11/10/07 4:00 AM
Nancy K said...
As you say, no one but those of us on the internet will ever notice the back. It's not even that much off. Looks lovely and I agree about the wide sleeves. Your fix works really well. I keep looking at these patterns and resist because I keep thinking , even wider hips with these!
11/10/07 7:07 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lori, LOVE the changes you made and hilarious review! I must be colorblind today because I didn't notice the buttons don't really match.
11/10/07 7:50 AM
BeckyW said...
I love your jacket. It looks much better than the one on the front of the pattern. I think your fabric must drape better. I would totaly wear your jacket. You made me rethink that pattern.
11/10/07 9:01 AM
carolynw said...
This looks great - I had the pattern in my hand yesterday (at a store where they were on sale) and put it back - guess I maybe (should have) got it? Thanks for your helpful and some what funny review - a good sense of humour is always an asset!! Wear your jacket with pride - you'll get many compliments I am sure
11/10/07 9:09 AM
Erica B. said...
Lori, I think the jacket looks great. If you look at most RTW, the plaids hardly ever match correctly. Yours turned out beautifully and no one will notice.
11/10/07 10:17 AM
cmarie12 said...
Lori - love how you incorporated the things you liked about the pattern and then changed the things you didn't to make it more yours. Enjoy wearing your new coat!
11/10/07 12:01 PM
ALY said...
Your jacket looks great. I like the plaid, but I like anything red. The bias bands on the sleeve is a great design detail.
11/10/07 4:07 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I LOVE your coat Lori! If you decide you don't want it, send it to me! ;-) Great fabric choice too.
11/10/07 11:26 PM
Membear said...
Your plad matching is alot better than I have seen on alot of RTW so dont fuss. You are just seeing it as a bigger problem than it is . I like the jacket its a good combo of fabric and style well done!!
11/11/07 5:57 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'll tell you one thing, your changes "make" this jacket! The proportion is much more flattering, to my eye, in the longer length, plus your sleeve bands make for a slimmer silhouette. REALLY nice. Now go get your gray turtleneck!
11/13/07 12:50 PM
J-Girl said...
Great review, and the coat looks cute. I appreciate the sleeve mod suggestions. I love the look of full sleeves on others, but then feel like a dolt when I wear them myself, so this is a good solution!
11/16/07 2:29 AM
Athene said...
Love your coat. I like the modifications you made - length, collar and bands - it all made it much nicer than the pattern picture.
11/16/07 10:25 PM
Dei said...
Lori, your coat turned out great and I am impressed with your plaid lay-out. Clever solution for the collar and I didn't even notice the difference about the buttons. Excellent review. I will refer to Sandra Betzina's book about the lining. I am going to "attempt" this in a brocade (view C, the double breasted view) for an evening coat. Wish me luck.
12/2/07 10:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

KnipMode Magazine 07-2009-22
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 11/13/09
Read Review

McCalls 6366 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6366 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 311/2-32 1/2 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 311/2-32 1/2 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1224 misses dress
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 5/21/12
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us