Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5102 (Retro jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 2469 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/03 3:39 AM
Last Updated:3/27/03 3:43 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
You must be very proud of your work. Your jacket is fabulous! I wish I could try it on. Love the buttons too.
3/27/03 5:53 AM
jlg said...
What a lovely jacket. You've inspired me to pick up this pattern.
3/27/03 8:17 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Diane, the jacket is gorgeous. I've had this pattern for a while, but I've been afraid of the wide shoulders that have been mentioned by others. One of these days, I'll tackle it. Hope mine looks as great as yours....
3/27/03 8:31 AM
Lori V said...
beautiful jacket, Diane, great job
3/27/03 9:07 AM
Deepika said...
Diane you are just too good! I just keep thinking about making jacket and there is a new review from you! Love that jacket and THE buttons are too cool! LH patterns run a little big for me too. I agree flat pattern measurements are a MUST with her patterns more so because they are not marked. Thanks for the review!
3/27/03 10:20 AM
Skymom said...
Diane, I"ve been planning to do this jacket for some time and find your review very helpful. I'm probably about your height, also with a small upper-body frame, and thought I'd probably wear a small based on trying on a sample, but when I get to it I'll measure carefully to be sure. Can you give some details on the hand of the fabric you used? Is it something that, were you to tailor it, you'd interface completely, or does it have a fair amount of body? Since this jacket has so little inner structure, I'm concerned about building in droopiness with a soft fabric. Also, since the jacket isn't lined, do you think that it needs slightly more ease than usual to slide off and on smoothly and not get hung up on garments worn underneath? I've been worrying about ending up with something that clings and won't be comfortable to wear over, say, a turtleneck. Meanwhile, I do have a lovely wool crepe with a tiny check that would look great in this style, as long as it's got enough body...
3/27/03 10:34 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Diane, another fabulous garment!
3/27/03 10:47 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Beautiful jacket, and I love those buttons too!
3/27/03 10:49 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Fabulous as always, Diane. I love the buttons too. And AMEN to always checking the flat pattern measurements! I've been bitten by the last two patterns I've made up! So now I plan to measure everything. -Ann
3/27/03 12:05 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Lovely, as always, Dianne!
3/27/03 1:23 PM
http mom said...
Always wanted to see this pattern made up. It looks Great!
3/28/03 6:15 AM
Diane E said...
Thanks so much for your comments, everyone. I wore this jacket to work yesterday and to my kids' open house last night, and I was stunned with the compliments. For one thing, the fabric really is pretty, and I think it's rare that anyone dares wear a light color (I know it's rare for me, indeed!). Skymom, I agonized over whether I should provide additional body to the fabric, as it is very very soft. I ended up following Loes's advice: no lining and no interfacing. I was a little nervous that the buttons would sag (they are bone and rather heavy, especially four in a row) and that the buttonholes would gape. I corded the buttonholes and since the fabric is doubled, the buttons are not sagging at all. I had gotten advice (thanks, Terri!) that one absolutely must have a drapey fabric for this jacket, so I just plowed ahead. The only problem that I see with no lining, is that a darker color garment underneath will cause shoulder pads and seams to be somewhat visible. Also, as for cling, if one is using a potentially "sticky" wool, the extra ease is nice for the slide factor. I wore the jacket over Christine Jonson's basewear turtleneck yesterday, and since it's very closefitting and made of rayon lycra, there was no problem with bulk or clinging.
3/28/03 12:05 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks for the review, Diane! I just finished tracing off my Retro pattern last week; trying to decide which fabric to use to make it up....and I will compare the traced pattern to my tweaked Florence jacket pattern, just to make sure I don't need to go down a size, too! ;)
3/28/03 4:39 PM
Skymom said...
Thanks, Diane, for the input on fabric choices. Of course you got compliments--it's gorgeous! And having just returned from an at-school event with my first-grader, I can say that most moms don't get too fancy when they're dealing with their kids, so a nice jacket is all the more outstanding in that kind of setting.
3/28/03 6:17 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Diane, your jacket is gorgeous. You did a fantastic job with it. The workmanship is lovely.
4/2/03 11:00 PM
WandaJ said...
Thanks Diane for this review and photo. Your jacket looks as well constructed as the one shown on the pattern cover and the LH site. You did a wonderful job. I've had this pattern for a long...time and have been skeptical about making it because a lining is not recommended and the seams are so small. I prefer both a lining and larger seams. Do you think these two additions will take away from the wonderfully soft look of the jacket?
4/3/03 7:30 PM
Diane E said...
Hi Wanda, I think you could add larger seam allowances without compromising the softness of the jacket. You could also line the jacket with something really drapey, as well. Perhaps a very light silk lining? Try this pattern, I think you'll like it very much.
4/9/03 11:09 PM
dbsewer said...
Wow!!! What a gorgeous jacket. I can't wait to make one - but I'll line mine. I'm a lining junkie, thanks to Connie Long and her fabulous instructions. Also, I work in DC where everything is overly air-conditioned. Thanks so much for showing us your beautiful work.
1/28/04 1:10 PM
Irene said...
Diane, trying on your jacket at last January's Bay Area PR bash overcame my anxiety on size. I made this up in an XS (just shortened the sleeves), and I think that size would suit you for this pattern. I wear the jacket open since it's a bit snug in the hips. LH suggested adding a smidgen of each seamline, starting above the flare.
2/4/05 4:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

McCall's 6078 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Knitters D... on 1/3/11
Read Review

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maggie
Maggie

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6805 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by michellep7... on 7/11/08
Read Review

Burda 7148 Pattern
Burda 7148 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4213 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 4213 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us