SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-111 (cape/jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1269 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/07 11:20 PM
Last Updated:11/11/07 11:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shinta said...
Beautiful cape! Very stylish and wearable, definitely not "impractical".
11/20/07 5:52 AM
Tany said...
Seamingly Simple: Oh, que bom ler Portugues aqui! Obrigada!
11/18/07 4:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
Ultra, ultra, ultra breathtaking et tres merveilleuse! Everything about your jacket is outstanding!
11/17/07 9:39 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Obrigada, Tany. Seus diagramas e instruções eram maravilhosos.
11/14/07 4:46 PM
Tany said...
I'm so glad my project notes where useful and helped you on this great achievement! Your work is outstanding, both on the sewing front and this review!Very well done!
11/14/07 2:55 PM
SarahWeb said...
Wow! You look fabulous, and, as always, your skill is quite evident in your beautiful garment! Enjoy it. I know you'll receive many compliments.
11/14/07 9:09 AM
Hilary said...
That is FABULOUS on you!!! Great color, and love the contrast lining-beautiful work! I thoroughly enjoyed your interview, and give my thanks to Steve for asking such valid questions :D :D Thanks!
11/13/07 8:51 PM
Sigrid. said...
Your review had me grinning too, what fun. Your jacket/cape is gorgeous. So stylish and the color is wonderful.
11/13/07 2:10 PM
Annette1 said...
In a word, PERFECT. I LOVE the lining, the style, the fit, the belt, everything about this. At times it seems that capes are just, well, unflattering. That certainly can't be said for this, with the combination of the caped shoulders and the belted waist. Fabulous! And I don't even think it's impractical. I'd say it's a classic!
11/13/07 12:35 PM
Nancywin said...
Another beautiful garment, SS. This color looks great on you.
11/13/07 9:50 AM
Dmd4106 said...
What a fantastic review! Great cape too
11/12/07 10:58 PM
Nancy K said...
Great review of your fabulous version of this jacket cape. Brava ! Funny too.
11/12/07 8:01 PM
carolynw said...
Well Ms. Simple that was averyinteresting interview you gave - I thoroughly enjoyed it. I am sure the "reporter" was as taken with your cape/jacket as I am - colour - finish everything looks just so perfect!
11/12/07 4:25 PM
Erica B. said...
Your cape is stunning!
11/12/07 3:28 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Beautiful job....love your review, very cute, indeed! ;-)
11/12/07 12:01 PM
Kay Y said...
I love the twist on the standard review template! This cape jacket has caught a lot of attention and each version is wonderful - wear yours with panache, and please come back for a return interview with Steve to tell the rest of us who live north of 60 how it fares as a cold weather garment.
11/12/07 9:34 AM
avancleve said...
Thank you so much for the info on Tany's instructions. I have been wanting to make this, however was a little scared since many reviews said it was a bit of a challenge and the instructions were vague. Your coat looks fabulous!
11/12/07 9:23 AM
Bonnie O said...
Gorgeous!! I doubt I'll ever get around to making this one (although I would LOVE one) but if I do, I'll have your and Tany's reviews right next to me.
11/12/07 8:48 AM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket cape is beautiful on you! I really enjoyed reading your interview. I was envisioning you being interviewed on the 'red carpet' by Steve with the cameras rolling and everyone's heads are turning to look at the beautiful woman in the red jacket cape. I could envision the baffled look on Steve's face when you said 'frog stitch'. What a hoot! Thanks for a great way to start my day!
11/12/07 8:48 AM
Fran G said...
Welcome to the Cape Club! Love the color you chose; your review as unique as the cape itself. You are one creative lady!
11/12/07 8:44 AM
CarolynGM said...
I'm not sure which I enjoyed more -- your very original review or your lovely cape.
11/12/07 8:37 AM
BillieJean said...
Lovely interview, er review. And the jacket ain't half bad either. Love that color.
11/12/07 6:20 AM
Peggy L said...
Great review. Love the cape! And yes, you are styling!!
11/12/07 6:11 AM
squirrellypoo said...
that is FABULOUS. And your review made me giggle. :)
11/12/07 5:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review!!!Lovely cape. You guys making this pattern have done an excellent job.
11/12/07 5:30 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Ms Simple, my only comment is that your interview totally matches the fabulous color of your cape... But tell us, did you make the black fleece jacket purposefully so you wouldn't freeze to death while looking dashing in something open to the sides?? That'd be a good idea, because the black sets off the orange really nicely. And without insulting lovely BC's climate, one does need a bit of.. coverage :-). I was fascinated by the way to see in the 'les annees folles 1919-1929' show in Paris that an early Burberry raincoat of the period looks very much like this coat, only longer and with sleeves. Mmm...
11/12/07 5:10 AM
MarijaSLO said...
I love the interview style of review as well. The cape is really great and stylish. When I first saw this pattern, it reminded me of Bob Rock from Alan Ford comic book.
11/12/07 3:29 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Witty review! I'm sitting here with a smile on my face. Fabulous cape!
11/12/07 2:59 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Another great cape - well done! Fun review too.
11/12/07 1:58 AM
Frogstitcher said...
You are stylin'. Your cape turned out absolutely fabulous and I love it. This project proves that your skills are beyond CAPE-able. Now the pressure's on!
11/12/07 1:09 AM
Englebert said...
Great review! :)
11/12/07 0:30 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous cape and fabulous review (what a hoot!!!). You look so stylish and that is why I **hope** to get myself a cape made in my lifetime! LOL
11/12/07 0:19 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Your cape looks very expensive! Nice. And I love the interview format of your review :)
11/12/07 0:12 AM
Karen8320 said...
Ms Simple, I love it!!! Both your garment and your review. Your review is such genius! Your cape looks absolutely stunning on you. Congratulations on a fantastic piece of work that will most definitely win you plenty of compliments!
11/12/07 0:07 AM
Leora said...
So, did Steve ask you off camera to make him one? hehe. Beautiful work, the color is wonderful!
11/12/07 0:06 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Ms. Simple, shall we call you that way in the future? LOL!!! Great cape that suits you very well and an entertaining review, what more can one ask, thank you:-) Marita
11/12/07 0:03 AM
CynthiaSue said...
utterly amazing. you are very talented!
11/12/07 0:02 AM
MissCelie said...
Looooove your review and what an amazing edition of the cape jacket!
11/11/07 11:59 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful cape and thanks for the interview, I enjoyed it very much.
11/11/07 11:46 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Very chic cape/jacket. Fabulous job! You handled your "a-hem" interview with intelligence, poise, style and just the right amount of humor!
11/11/07 11:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 7196 (OOP)

photo
by: Leu

Review
Burda 8358

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now