Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2007-111 (cape/jacket) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1268 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/07 11:20 PM
Last Updated:11/11/07 11:20 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Very chic cape/jacket. Fabulous job! You handled your "a-hem" interview with intelligence, poise, style and just the right amount of humor!
11/11/07 11:36 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful cape and thanks for the interview, I enjoyed it very much.
11/11/07 11:46 PM
MissCelie said...
Looooove your review and what an amazing edition of the cape jacket!
11/11/07 11:59 PM
CynthiaSue said...
utterly amazing. you are very talented!
11/12/07 0:02 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Ms. Simple, shall we call you that way in the future? LOL!!! Great cape that suits you very well and an entertaining review, what more can one ask, thank you:-) Marita
11/12/07 0:03 AM
Leora said...
So, did Steve ask you off camera to make him one? hehe. Beautiful work, the color is wonderful!
11/12/07 0:06 AM
Karen8320 said...
Ms Simple, I love it!!! Both your garment and your review. Your review is such genius! Your cape looks absolutely stunning on you. Congratulations on a fantastic piece of work that will most definitely win you plenty of compliments!
11/12/07 0:07 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Your cape looks very expensive! Nice. And I love the interview format of your review :)
11/12/07 0:12 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous cape and fabulous review (what a hoot!!!). You look so stylish and that is why I **hope** to get myself a cape made in my lifetime! LOL
11/12/07 0:19 AM
Englebert said...
Great review! :)
11/12/07 0:30 AM
Frogstitcher said...
You are stylin'. Your cape turned out absolutely fabulous and I love it. This project proves that your skills are beyond CAPE-able. Now the pressure's on!
11/12/07 1:09 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Another great cape - well done! Fun review too.
11/12/07 1:58 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Witty review! I'm sitting here with a smile on my face. Fabulous cape!
11/12/07 2:59 AM
MarijaSLO said...
I love the interview style of review as well. The cape is really great and stylish. When I first saw this pattern, it reminded me of Bob Rock from Alan Ford comic book.
11/12/07 3:29 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Ms Simple, my only comment is that your interview totally matches the fabulous color of your cape... But tell us, did you make the black fleece jacket purposefully so you wouldn't freeze to death while looking dashing in something open to the sides?? That'd be a good idea, because the black sets off the orange really nicely. And without insulting lovely BC's climate, one does need a bit of.. coverage :-). I was fascinated by the way to see in the 'les annees folles 1919-1929' show in Paris that an early Burberry raincoat of the period looks very much like this coat, only longer and with sleeves. Mmm...
11/12/07 5:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review!!!Lovely cape. You guys making this pattern have done an excellent job.
11/12/07 5:30 AM
squirrellypoo said...
that is FABULOUS. And your review made me giggle. :)
11/12/07 5:46 AM
Peggy L said...
Great review. Love the cape! And yes, you are styling!!
11/12/07 6:11 AM
BillieJean said...
Lovely interview, er review. And the jacket ain't half bad either. Love that color.
11/12/07 6:20 AM
CarolynGM said...
I'm not sure which I enjoyed more -- your very original review or your lovely cape.
11/12/07 8:37 AM
Fran G said...
Welcome to the Cape Club! Love the color you chose; your review as unique as the cape itself. You are one creative lady!
11/12/07 8:44 AM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket cape is beautiful on you! I really enjoyed reading your interview. I was envisioning you being interviewed on the 'red carpet' by Steve with the cameras rolling and everyone's heads are turning to look at the beautiful woman in the red jacket cape. I could envision the baffled look on Steve's face when you said 'frog stitch'. What a hoot! Thanks for a great way to start my day!
11/12/07 8:48 AM
Bonnie O said...
Gorgeous!! I doubt I'll ever get around to making this one (although I would LOVE one) but if I do, I'll have your and Tany's reviews right next to me.
11/12/07 8:48 AM
avancleve said...
Thank you so much for the info on Tany's instructions. I have been wanting to make this, however was a little scared since many reviews said it was a bit of a challenge and the instructions were vague. Your coat looks fabulous!
11/12/07 9:23 AM
Kay Y said...
I love the twist on the standard review template! This cape jacket has caught a lot of attention and each version is wonderful - wear yours with panache, and please come back for a return interview with Steve to tell the rest of us who live north of 60 how it fares as a cold weather garment.
11/12/07 9:34 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Beautiful job....love your review, very cute, indeed! ;-)
11/12/07 12:01 PM
Erica B. said...
Your cape is stunning!
11/12/07 3:28 PM
carolynw said...
Well Ms. Simple that was averyinteresting interview you gave - I thoroughly enjoyed it. I am sure the "reporter" was as taken with your cape/jacket as I am - colour - finish everything looks just so perfect!
11/12/07 4:25 PM
Nancy K said...
Great review of your fabulous version of this jacket cape. Brava ! Funny too.
11/12/07 8:01 PM
Dmd4106 said...
What a fantastic review! Great cape too
11/12/07 10:58 PM
Nancywin said...
Another beautiful garment, SS. This color looks great on you.
11/13/07 9:50 AM
Annette1 said...
In a word, PERFECT. I LOVE the lining, the style, the fit, the belt, everything about this. At times it seems that capes are just, well, unflattering. That certainly can't be said for this, with the combination of the caped shoulders and the belted waist. Fabulous! And I don't even think it's impractical. I'd say it's a classic!
11/13/07 12:35 PM
Sigrid. said...
Your review had me grinning too, what fun. Your jacket/cape is gorgeous. So stylish and the color is wonderful.
11/13/07 2:10 PM
Hilary said...
That is FABULOUS on you!!! Great color, and love the contrast lining-beautiful work! I thoroughly enjoyed your interview, and give my thanks to Steve for asking such valid questions :D :D Thanks!
11/13/07 8:51 PM
SarahWeb said...
Wow! You look fabulous, and, as always, your skill is quite evident in your beautiful garment! Enjoy it. I know you'll receive many compliments.
11/14/07 9:09 AM
Tany said...
I'm so glad my project notes where useful and helped you on this great achievement! Your work is outstanding, both on the sewing front and this review!Very well done!
11/14/07 2:55 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Obrigada, Tany. Seus diagramas e instruções eram maravilhosos.
11/14/07 4:46 PM
Heatherrique said...
Ultra, ultra, ultra breathtaking et tres merveilleuse! Everything about your jacket is outstanding!
11/17/07 9:39 AM
Tany said...
Seamingly Simple: Oh, que bom ler Portugues aqui! Obrigada!
11/18/07 4:30 PM
shinta said...
Beautiful cape! Very stylish and wearable, definitely not "impractical".
11/20/07 5:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-119
photo
Review by rabitgrl on 2/20/13
Read Review

Butterick 5322 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5322 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3146 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3146 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1426
photo
Review by KWNightwin... on 4/21/14
Read Review

Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Katy Bags
Katy Bags

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us