SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2007-115 (skirt)

6 more reviews
Viewed 902 times 
Reviewed by:hongkongshopper
photo

 
 
About hongkongshopperstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/26/04
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/07 7:30 PM
Last Updated:11/18/07 0:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ingiepops said...
Thanks for reviewing this, I really liked this one in the magazine until I realised it has a gathered back (wish they'd show these details in the model photo!). I bought some linen for it so I should give it a go and beware about the issues you mentioned. Thanks for the heads up!
11/17/07 8:02 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I love the lines of this skirt. I think it looks nicer with a traditional hem rather than fringe. The back elastic adds some roundness, which might be welcome if you're flat and unwelcome if you're not.
11/17/07 9:50 PM
Annette1 said...
You know, when I looked at the pictures of your skirt, I thought it was white linen, until I read that it's crinkle poly. Now it will NEVER wrinkle. :o) I love the waistline of this skirt and (of course) that back panel, too. I wish I looked as good in a straight skirt as you do -- ha! Very pretty.
11/17/07 10:29 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks Seamingly Simple for the link - the site would not work this morning when I did the review. I have now updated to put the page in the review.
11/18/07 0:33 AM
marjenann said...
Wow! I think that is a really smart looking skirt, from the front and back! Looks great on you!!
11/18/07 7:30 AM
blue mooney said...
great outfit, cute detail. Burda seems to provide details in the back pretty often - so they never show up in the photos and you have to discover them in the line drawings.
11/18/07 7:31 AM
Linda G said...
Your skirt is so cute and you got it to fit well. I made this skirt too and reviewed the pattern...I also had to take lots and lots of fullness out of the butt. Mine is very casual and I did the raw bottom. I really like to wear it but next time (if there is a next time) I think I will redraft the back so the part below the elastic is a seperate piece that is gathered so the fullness does not go all the way up the piece.
11/18/07 8:14 AM
Nancy K said...
It looks great on you, but I also made this skirt and had to take in the back panel so that it wouldn't pouf too. I did a review of it and really love it. I did leave off the pockets though as I was both pressed for time and material. I am planning on making one for my daughter with pockets, can you take a picture of this with the waist line showing? I would love to see how this lays.,
11/18/07 8:18 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks everyone for nice comments! LindaG, that is a good idea for the bottom of the skirt. I might try that if I make it again. Nancy, I have updated the review to link to my album and blog. I have a photo there of the pocket, belt loop and waist.
11/18/07 10:20 PM
MissCelie said...
I just looked at this pattern over the weekend. I love the elastic in the lower hem.
11/19/07 9:59 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love your skirt!
11/19/07 3:41 PM
Winifred said...
I love the look of the fabric in thks lovely skirt. What was it like to press ? Do the crinkles come out ?
11/20/07 10:37 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Winifred, sorry for the delay - my internet has been down for a week - No the wrinkles don't press out. But the seams press pretty good for a poly.
11/29/07 8:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now