Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2007-115 (skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 901 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:hongkongshopper
photo
About hongkongshopperstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/26/04
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/07 7:30 PM
Last Updated:11/18/07 0:32 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ingiepops said...
Thanks for reviewing this, I really liked this one in the magazine until I realised it has a gathered back (wish they'd show these details in the model photo!). I bought some linen for it so I should give it a go and beware about the issues you mentioned. Thanks for the heads up!
11/17/07 8:02 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I love the lines of this skirt. I think it looks nicer with a traditional hem rather than fringe. The back elastic adds some roundness, which might be welcome if you're flat and unwelcome if you're not.
11/17/07 9:50 PM
Annette1 said...
You know, when I looked at the pictures of your skirt, I thought it was white linen, until I read that it's crinkle poly. Now it will NEVER wrinkle. :o) I love the waistline of this skirt and (of course) that back panel, too. I wish I looked as good in a straight skirt as you do -- ha! Very pretty.
11/17/07 10:29 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks Seamingly Simple for the link - the site would not work this morning when I did the review. I have now updated to put the page in the review.
11/18/07 0:33 AM
marjenann said...
Wow! I think that is a really smart looking skirt, from the front and back! Looks great on you!!
11/18/07 7:30 AM
blue mooney said...
great outfit, cute detail. Burda seems to provide details in the back pretty often - so they never show up in the photos and you have to discover them in the line drawings.
11/18/07 7:31 AM
Linda G said...
Your skirt is so cute and you got it to fit well. I made this skirt too and reviewed the pattern...I also had to take lots and lots of fullness out of the butt. Mine is very casual and I did the raw bottom. I really like to wear it but next time (if there is a next time) I think I will redraft the back so the part below the elastic is a seperate piece that is gathered so the fullness does not go all the way up the piece.
11/18/07 8:14 AM
Nancy K said...
It looks great on you, but I also made this skirt and had to take in the back panel so that it wouldn't pouf too. I did a review of it and really love it. I did leave off the pockets though as I was both pressed for time and material. I am planning on making one for my daughter with pockets, can you take a picture of this with the waist line showing? I would love to see how this lays.,
11/18/07 8:18 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks everyone for nice comments! LindaG, that is a good idea for the bottom of the skirt. I might try that if I make it again. Nancy, I have updated the review to link to my album and blog. I have a photo there of the pocket, belt loop and waist.
11/18/07 10:20 PM
MissCelie said...
I just looked at this pattern over the weekend. I love the elastic in the lower hem.
11/19/07 9:59 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love your skirt!
11/19/07 3:41 PM
Winifred said...
I love the look of the fabric in thks lovely skirt. What was it like to press ? Do the crinkles come out ?
11/20/07 10:37 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Winifred, sorry for the delay - my internet has been down for a week - No the wrinkles don't press out. But the seams press pretty good for a poly.
11/29/07 8:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Child's shirt
photo
Review by michellep7... on 10/11/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3300 Bra
photo
Review by Nancywin on 6/9/09
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6932 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6932 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2278 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2278 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us