SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1441 (Sporty Jacket)

Viewed 1036 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/20/07 8:19 AM
Last Updated:11/20/07 5:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingfordolls said...
Great job...Kind of strange to read this today as I was reading your blog only yesterday...somehow ran across it in my prowling on the sewing www...Your jacket is really nice and you got such a great fit...Good job.
11/20/07 8:50 AM
mastdenman said...
Beatiful jacket. You did a great job.
11/20/07 8:55 AM
EleanorSews said...
Great review. Beautiful jacket. Some very good info about Marfy patterns in general as well (since there is a coat I keep looking at online). Your lining is is elegant. Do I detect I "hidden" inside pocket?
11/20/07 9:06 AM
squirrellypoo said...
What a great job! It looks fantastic, and it's nice that you enjoyed the difficult process so much!
11/20/07 9:23 AM
pterion said...
Gorgeous jacket, very sharp looking. I especially love the shape and seaming on the sleeves.
11/20/07 9:38 AM
Sew_Creative said...
great color for you and I really like everything about the pattern I guess I need to buy this one.
11/20/07 9:43 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Wonderful jacket - great color.
11/20/07 10:04 AM
Elona said...
What a fine-looking jacket!
11/20/07 10:48 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow! That's a great jacket and you did a fab job on it.
11/20/07 10:49 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Stunning jacket! I love all the details - the sleeves in particular, but also the pockets and back belt. Terrific job.
11/20/07 10:50 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Gosh, I love the details on this jacket. I've often used this book as reference for an alternate method of easing in sleeves. Rather than using the feed dogs on your sewing machine to do the work, a tailor's ham and lots of steam will also do the job.
11/20/07 10:53 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very snazzy jacket. Great job on those special details. Your topstitching looks wonderful. Great fabric choice for this style.
11/20/07 10:55 AM
Re Becca said...
Very sharp! Kudos on using real suede. I looked at this pattern, but I didn't notice the details on the sleeve, you did a great job. I like the top stitching, that really accentuates the pattern details.
11/20/07 12:26 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, you have done a fantastic job. I love the unusual top sleeve. I really must get back to my Marfy muslin - they are all so cute.
11/20/07 2:30 PM
LauraTS said...
This looks wonderful; I love the details and how you're put this together.
11/20/07 5:24 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Advanced Beginner?? I sure don't think so!! This pattern is rated "Expert Level"!! Beautiful work, beautiful jacket!! You can be very proud!!
11/20/07 5:40 PM
julesberry said...
Rhonda in Montreal: There is no rating on my Marfy pattern, bought from Marfy. I think Vogue put "expert level" on all the Marfy patterns because they come without instructions. I think you only need to be expert level if you intend to use just your inner resources to construct the garment! As I said in my review I used Kenneth King's Tailored Jacket CD. I highly recommend this - it really has step-by step instructions making it possible for anyone a bit more experienced than an absolute beginner to make a jacket.
11/20/07 6:32 PM
Dee2 said...
Excellent review. The fit & fabric are wonderful.
11/20/07 6:49 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - great job!
11/20/07 8:48 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Exceptionally cool! You definitely deserve a rating promotion for this!
11/20/07 9:31 PM
Debra H said...
Congrats on figuring out a Marfy...they are usually well worth it. You did a very good job and the jacket looks great on you.
11/20/07 9:38 PM
lmg said...
Absolutely fantastic! Thanks for all the great tips too. I notice you had no problems with the collar, which looks fabulous BTW
11/20/07 11:47 PM
MareeAlison said...
That's a great jacket.
11/21/07 0:24 AM
Betsybobbin said...
Wow! Beautiful!
11/21/07 2:42 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, that is gorgeous. Glad you enjoyed the process. Thank you for such a thorough review and the CD recommendation.
11/21/07 3:15 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, great looking jacket. Love the detailed work you did and great lining w/pocket
11/21/07 5:25 AM
Peggy L said...
That is absolutely gorgeous and a great review. Wear it with pride!!
11/21/07 6:28 AM
piggyannie said...
you've done a beautiful job on this jacket! :)
11/21/07 7:40 AM
Sewingmi said...
Beautiful jacket! I only wish I could get to this level of sewing! I admire your talents!
11/21/07 3:51 PM
Karine said...
Thanks for the great review. I love the details on Marfy patterns, but know what you mean about the non-human-shaped models. Your jacket turned out beautifully and I'm glad you included a photo of the lining - truly a work of art!
11/21/07 4:53 PM
2BSewing said...
You've done a fantastic job with your jacket. You look great in it.
11/21/07 6:36 PM
nancy2001 said...
Absolutely stunning jacket.
11/22/07 10:13 AM
krystalkaes said...
Another wonderful garment. I just love your reviews.
11/22/07 11:12 PM
KitnRose said...
So sharp! Fantastic job!
2/5/08 9:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now