SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Mrs. Stylebook Magazine> # 144 pg. 23 (Jacket)

Viewed 2024 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/07 7:49 PM
Last Updated:12/10/07 8:03 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda G said...
YOur are awesome. I can't imagine using a pattern like that. I don't have the patience. You did a great job and the fabric is beautiful. I just cut out a Burda pattern with a very similar collar piece, now I am anxious to get it sewn...I thought it was interesting when I cut it.
11/25/07 7:53 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Fit looks completely couture. you are very talented.
11/25/07 7:57 PM
Betsybobbin said...
What an incredible jacket and review! I aspire to make a garmet as lovely as this Kay. Thank you!
11/25/07 8:23 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very,very nice!
11/25/07 8:34 PM
Peggy L said...
Absolutely awe inspiring! The workmanship is impeccable. Bravo.
11/25/07 8:38 PM
marjenann said...
Oh Kay! That is one awesome jacket! Very couture!!! Did you do pad stitching on the lapels, or build structure with interfacings instead???
11/25/07 8:43 PM
CarolynGM said...
Another awesome jacket (I would love to get my hands on some of that fabric). You are the queen of tailoring! what an adventure to draft this yourself.
11/25/07 9:08 PM
Riordan said...
Gorgeous jacket! I am in awe of your skill. Truly exquisite work. I am drooling!
11/25/07 9:18 PM
KarmenG said...
Adventure is right! This is amazing Kay. Love the fabric and love the fit.
11/25/07 9:35 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Kay, great jacket. And well done on shopping from the stash!
11/25/07 10:02 PM
Mahler said...
Congratulations ! This jacket is a big succes. I love the fabric. It is always a great pleasure to read your reviews and to see your creations. Your are such a great sewer !
11/25/07 10:03 PM
Seaspur said...
Wow, that jacket is beautiful! I also now have 2 MSB magazines and can't wait to make something. I got the dartless sloper drafted, but haven't had the time to make it up to see how it fits. I admit to being just a little intimidated by the whole thing.
11/25/07 10:48 PM
Annette1 said...
Another spectacular jacket with impeccable workmanship. I can only say you have way, way, way, way, way, WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY more patience than I do! :o) Thanks for the great review!
11/25/07 11:49 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Gosh, this is a gorgeous jacket. I bought a Japanese magazine (Lady Boutique) but I haven't felt up to the challenge of drafting yet. Your review is inspiring me to give it a try, since your efforts were rewarded with a great-fitting and great-looking jacket. Thank you.
11/26/07 1:04 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Kay, truly a fantastic jacket and a great review, thank you:-)
11/26/07 2:44 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oooooh! I drool..
11/26/07 4:21 AM
Tez said...
Gorgeous jacket. You are so talented!
11/26/07 5:05 AM
FloraNature said...
That's a beautiful jacket, well worth the time to draft the styling.
11/26/07 5:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great looking jacket.
11/26/07 5:29 AM
Mary W said...
Great jacket, you did an amazing job
11/26/07 7:59 AM
Cornelia said...
Lovely jacket, beautiful workmanship, only one question: Why are your skills rated as only intermediate?
11/26/07 8:09 AM
Sigrid. said...
How wonderful. Great jacket and you certainly have a lot of patience to find out how this works. Impressive result.
11/26/07 9:41 AM
Sigrid. said...
Double post, sorry
11/26/07 9:41 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Wow what a great review. I own two MSB as well but have never tried sewing anything from them. Excellent jacket
11/26/07 9:48 AM
Nancy K said...
There were some Mrs Stylebooks available on Ebay, but I hesitated too long and they were gone. I love your jacket and I am intrigued by your inputting into your PMB program. That is very interesting . I had been toying with buying one, but not been impressed with anything that I have seen from it. But this would be a very interesting use of PMB.
11/26/07 1:24 PM
LindsayT said...
I am in awe (and jealous of) your tailoring expertise. Wow. And what a great-looking jacket.
11/26/07 1:36 PM
Shrazzy said...
Beautiful jacket!
11/26/07 3:20 PM
carolynw said...
Wonderful work - your jacket looks like really expensive ready to wear. Great review
11/26/07 3:59 PM
lmg said...
What a beautiful job! Exquisite. What an inspiration.
11/26/07 6:28 PM
kiddo said...
Just brilliant!!!
11/26/07 7:34 PM
jaeng said...
I am very impressed by your creation. The smooth sleeves tell me that you are a talented sewer. I wish I am as good as you.
11/26/07 8:07 PM
Sew_Creative said...
well I know you have received a lot of comments but I just wanted to say this is the best review I have read thus far and I will be looking to read more of your reviews, thank you for taking so much time, this is what the site is all about. thank you. Debbie
11/26/07 9:56 PM
Heatherrique said...
Beautiful jacket, Kay! Well done!
11/26/07 10:04 PM
Tailypo said...
Fantastic results, as usual. I really like those lapels!
11/26/07 11:32 PM
Em's Summer said...
I'm intrigued by these magazines, but haven't tried it yet. Your jacket looks great and makes me want to get a Mrs. Stylebook magazine.
11/27/07 8:29 AM
Shrazzy said...
After seeing the picture of your beautiful jacket yesterday, I just had to go back and read the whole thing and look at the exhibits. Thank you for sharing your wonderful lesson with us--it's truly inspiring!
11/27/07 11:27 AM
Diane E said...
Wow, Kay, this is a stunning jacket. It fits you beautifully. Your work is unbelievable. Thanks for the inspiration to try something really challenging!
11/28/07 0:03 AM
Avril said...
Lovey... beautiful tailoring.
11/28/07 7:51 PM
Boo97 said...
Another beautiful creation. You continue to inspire!
11/29/07 8:13 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your jacket is superb. The fit is excellent and the style is very chic - beautiful work!
12/2/07 0:28 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
You jacket is impeccable. I'm inspired by your workmanship (and patience with MSB!).
12/10/07 8:45 AM
MissCelie said...
I was just looking at my MSB this morning thinking it was time to try and tackle it.
12/10/07 9:47 AM
Birgitte said...
I just love your patience and attention to detail. The jacket is impeccable, and so are your skills!
12/10/07 1:57 PM
Annette1 said...
Very interesting. I usually cut my lining a little larger, too, all depending on what my fashion fabric is. Still, I wouldn't have anticipated that the lining could be the root of that particular problem. Boy, I like this jacket better every time I see it. :o)
12/10/07 5:34 PM
bananaoil said...
Love the fabric, I noticed you matched that check too_brava! And those "instructions"? I'm speechless.
12/10/07 6:04 PM
Karen8320 said...
Kay, I am honestly so impressed by everything you do. This is just a fantastic piece of work! Your review is also exceptionally thorough and detailed. Well done!
12/10/07 6:51 PM
Marji said...
So Inspiring! Thank you for all this information, well laid out, informative. And the jacket is superb.
12/11/07 8:25 AM
Christine B said...
This is the best, most detailed and most helpful MSB review I have read yet. I just received my Summer 2008 issue, and I am eager to draft a sloper and get started. Thank you!
5/24/08 10:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now