Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7975 (Chanel Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2957 times 60 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 61 people   
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 412 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/26/07 9:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
74 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
Your jacket is fabulous, Erica! I especially love what you did with the pockets.
11/26/07 9:44 PM
Diane E said...
So beautiful! Thank you for the detailed review.
11/26/07 9:44 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
You have finished and it is beautiful! I love your classic boucle, classic pockets, and classic trim. This jacket is a classic!
11/26/07 9:46 PM
mastdenman said...
Fabulous jacket. I just bought this pattern.
11/26/07 9:54 PM
LorelleD said...
Your jacket looks beautiful on you. I really enjoyed reading your review. Thankyou.
11/26/07 9:56 PM
nancy2001 said...
Stunning jacket with impeccable workmanship. Coco would definitely approve.
11/26/07 10:03 PM
michellep74 said...
Your jacket looks amazing! All of the detail work that you put into this turned out gorgeous!
11/26/07 10:25 PM
Christina Sonja said...
What can I say? This is just stunning.
11/26/07 10:33 PM
Mahler said...
Très chic, superbe Erica ! And so nicely done. This Chanel Jacket is real success. You look so fabulous. Two tumbs up ! Coco would be proud.
11/26/07 10:40 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. Not sure what other word I need besides that. Amazing workmanship and great jacket. Love all the details in the review. Thanks.
11/26/07 10:54 PM
Leora said...
I have a Threads article about the inside secrets of Chanel that caused me to realize the intricacy of construction. I am in awe not only that you accomplished such a feat, but you did it in plaid! To Perfection!
11/26/07 10:56 PM
3kids1036 said...
You did a wonderful job!!!
11/26/07 11:03 PM
CynthiaSue said...
said it on your blog but will say it again-remarkable!
11/26/07 11:08 PM
Lori V said...
Stunning jacket, Erica. Beautiful workmanship.
11/26/07 11:09 PM
Skye said...
absolutely fabulous
11/26/07 11:13 PM
northern nasturtium said...
oh, that is gorgeous craftsmanship! And such an immaculate fit! !!!!!!!!
11/26/07 11:19 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous Erica! Why didn't you use all of 8259 (sans the collar)? Did you already have 7975 as a TNT?
11/26/07 11:36 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Beautiful. Just beautiful. What a great personal challenge to take on and meet!
11/26/07 11:39 PM
Nancywin said...
This turned out just beautifully. I have been considering this project ever since I first saw it in Threads. Maybe someday...
11/27/07 1:19 AM
Linda G said...
Absolutely beautiful. I would like to try a Chanel jacket sometime and I will refer to this review. Thank you so much.
11/27/07 1:51 AM
LauraLo said...
This is absolutely fabulous work, Erica and you do look great in this style!
11/27/07 2:43 AM
Annette1 said...
This is beautiful, Erica, and you're beautiful in it. I often see comments about making things like RTW, and I have to confess I think to myself, I don't WANT mine to look like RTW. I LIKE the handstitching and the time and the care that goes into it. I'm not saying I always like STARTING those portions, because I'm in GO-GO-GO mode, but I will say that once I settle in, there is a delicious satisfaction in taking the time and the patience to do so, as you've illustrated so exquisitely here.
11/27/07 2:50 AM
Tany said...
The work of a master! I'm sure Coco herself would approve! Thank you for this extremely helpful review!
11/27/07 3:28 AM
FloraNature said...
Very expensive-looking. I like the earrings too!
11/27/07 4:34 AM
Sigrid. said...
This jacket certainly looks like Couture and worth an enormous amount of money. Wonderful work and you look fabulous (as you do in all clothes you make).
11/27/07 5:25 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Fantastic job!
11/27/07 5:32 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Utterly fabulous!! Do you have photos of before and after the chain weights? I'd be interested to see them as I've never weighted a jacket before...
11/27/07 6:11 AM
said...
Gorgeous! And it sounds like you had fun with this project. You're an inspiration. Thank you.
11/27/07 6:16 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful!!!
11/27/07 6:59 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful jacket..you look so lovely in it!
11/27/07 7:34 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful, and such patience you have to complete it.
11/27/07 7:36 AM
yummymummy38 said...
absolutely stunning workmanship, great photo
11/27/07 7:45 AM
cindyann said...
All I can say is WOW! Lovely!
11/27/07 8:01 AM
Em's Summer said...
Tres elegant!
11/27/07 8:07 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Coco would not only have approved, she would have you on her team as one of her designers if she were here today! Beautiful jacket and review as usual - you must have the most fabulous wardrobe of clothes!
11/27/07 8:28 AM
inkstain said...
Beautiful job and very nicely accessorized. Ready for that dinner with French President Sarkozy...Something every woman should have ready in her closet because when you've got the wardrobe, the opportunities to wear it have an uncanny way of showing up! In the meantime, have a glass of champagne!
11/27/07 8:30 AM
Betsybobbin said...
Outstanding!
11/27/07 8:51 AM
HeyJane said...
Perfection, right down to the earrings and everything. Completely beautiful and thank you for the lining info and a great review. I think the longer jackets are so much more elegant than the cropped styles.
11/27/07 8:54 AM
LindsayT said...
So lovely. Will you be making a matching skirt any time soon?
11/27/07 8:56 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful in every way! I am in the Chanel sew-along but way behind. This is the pattern I am using so your review is very helpful - hope mine comes out as nice as yours!!
11/27/07 9:04 AM
marjenann said...
I surrender!! I must have a jacket like this one!! What a stunner!
11/27/07 9:26 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful!!
11/27/07 10:22 AM
Grammy Gin said...
WOW! I don't think I have to add anything else to my comment..but.. such perfection! You can tell this was a labor of love for you. Also, Erica, your pic is absolutely stunning...you look prettier than I have ever noticed before. ;-)
11/27/07 10:44 AM
ryan's mom said...
Mmmm...Such a luscious jacket with exquisite detail!
11/27/07 10:45 AM
patsijean said...
Very impressive. Beautiful.
11/27/07 11:13 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I cannot stop thinking about this gorgeous jacket! Even while I was showering this morning, I was envisioning the quilting on the lining of your jacket. All day, I have been running through my mind all of your sewing steps and photos. Erica B., your jacket is absolutely magnificent!
11/27/07 11:27 AM
Shrazzy said...
What wonderful workmanship and it looks fabulous on you! Truly something to be proud of. Thank you for sharing with us.
11/27/07 11:31 AM
Grammy Gin said...
WOW! I don't think I have to add anything else to my comment..but.. such perfection! You can tell this was a labor of love for you. Also, Erica, your pic is absolutely stunning...you look prettier than I have ever noticed before. ;-)
11/27/07 12:06 PM
Melody said...
Fabulous
11/27/07 12:11 PM
jander said...
Beautiful!! Thanks so much for this review. i am about to make this same pattern and now I feel a bit more brave.
11/27/07 12:34 PM
christinawo said...
Erica, your jacket is beautiful. Thank you for all the information and details on constructing it. I definitely want to try doing this myself. You've given me the courage! Chris
11/27/07 1:04 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Erica, Your jacket is absolutely beautiful.
11/27/07 4:02 PM
Athene said...
You look beautiful in this jacket and thank you for the in depth review - I will be reading your review at least a few times in the days to come. I have the threads mag discussing the channel jacket but viewing your PR review and picture is much more exciting. You truly are a sewing goddess and I love your reviews.
11/27/07 5:11 PM
lmg said...
Just exquisite and classic! Love all the pics and details. Wear with pride.
11/27/07 5:57 PM
MissCelie said...
I hate commenting late because there is nothing good left to say other than 'fabulous'.
11/27/07 6:07 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow! It looks expensive.
11/27/07 7:00 PM
KathySews said...
THIS IS WHY I SEW. To hope to make clothes this beautiful. What inspiration to keep at it and push to the next level.
11/27/07 7:35 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Couture at it's finest - by EricaB! Gorgeous work and more patience than I have at this time. ;-)
11/27/07 7:41 PM
Donna H said...
Simply beautiful. Thanks for this great review.
11/27/07 8:59 PM
ChristineX said...
Love love love it!!! =)
11/27/07 10:56 PM
davin said...
Bravo!
11/28/07 0:03 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow. If I'd made anything like that, I'd want to be buried in it :-)..
11/28/07 4:11 AM
OP Gal said...
Absolutely fabulous. A once-in-a-lifetime accomplishment! You should be enormously proud of yourself for completing such a project.
11/28/07 1:37 PM
Georgene said...
Very very nice indeed! Love the gentle waist shaping.
11/29/07 1:33 AM
kim*brown said...
Love this on you. I don't think I am couture enough for this, but you are definitely working it!
11/29/07 1:14 PM
ACB said...
Absolutely fabulous, just exceptional work. (Lusting for Chanel).
11/29/07 2:04 PM
kiddo said...
Kudos to you for excellent work!!! The beauty of the jacket is the sophisticated ease you have wearing it. You wear it and wear it well!!!
11/30/07 0:48 AM
Dei said...
Alpha to the omega, you did a incredible job and you look diva-divine in it.
12/1/07 10:31 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonder, fabulous! A piece of construction art.
12/3/07 9:02 AM
goldenthreads said...
You did an excellent job. This jacket is gorgeous. I just came back from Paris and stayed in a hotel (accidentally) that was right off the street on which most of the coutoure houses are located. All had "guards" at the door. Just think, you could start your own coutoure shop in Alabama!
12/8/07 11:34 AM
Modiste Madness said...
You do incredible work. This jacket captured my attention, so I went and looked at your other reviews. Your sense of style is stunning and your contruction an inspiration. Thanks so much for sharing with us.
12/9/07 8:34 PM
susinok said...
The cut of that jacket is amazing! It fits your curves beautifully.
2/23/08 10:14 AM
Bassetmommy said...
Thanks so much for such a great review. I have read it more times than I care to admit to! Am hoping to start on a Chanel style jacket this coming week. I can only hope the end result will look half as great as yours does.
7/29/09 8:07 PM
Bassetmommy said...

7/29/09 8:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 8663 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by DD1104 on 3/18/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3805 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3805 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3809 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8 )
Simplicity 3809 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5522 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by divabuddha on 5/20/12
Read Review

Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us