SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3115 (yoga pants and top)

82 more reviews
Viewed 1432 times 
Reviewed by:CycleGal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CycleGalstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/14/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/03 3:06 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Activewear    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
"Those of you who've made these pants--if you *don't* want them to be low-rise, would you make the pattern as-is?" In a word...yes. There is plenty of length there to allow the top of the band to come up to your waist. This pattern is very versatile...high waist, low waist, narrow-ish waistband or my DD's favorite - a very low, wide (5" finished) waistband that she folds over like a cuff. I have used this pattern to make cotton knit pajama pants, snug cotton/lycra jogging pants and looser cotton/lycra casual pants (using Christine Jonson fabric). The waistband width and crotch depth on each of these was different, but each one works. This is one of the most versatile KS patterns I've used and it's in my personal "Pattern Hall of Fame" ;-)
5/11/03 5:14 PM
Meredith P said...
I'm a new member and have been enjoying reviews so much. About the "cross over" waistband--this looks much like a cross over neckband, described in Ann Person's neckline book, or other books sewing on knits. Those of you who've made these pants--if you *don't* want them to be low-rise, would you make the pattern as-is?
5/11/03 10:40 AM
CycleGal said...
Yes, Deepika, those are the ones! Maybe a wider elastic is needed to curve it like that. Anyway it is very cute. I also made the top and will post the review
4/9/03 3:02 AM
Deepika said...
cyclegal are you talking about this one. This is very cute indeed and I am thinking of figuring out how to make this in my next version. Thanks for the inspiration!
4/7/03 3:40 PM
CycleGal said...
by the way I was looking at the Athleta catalog (women's workout wear) and its full of yoga pants. Also they had one pair that the waistband was lapped at the front, not sure if I am describing it well, but what would be the seam was attached to the waist seam, forming 2 rounded scallops at the center front. Very cute.
4/7/03 11:52 AM
CycleGal said...
Aha, got the picture to work!!! Yesterday I had it sideways...me and my pics! Thanks for the fabric tips, got to go shopping. I am making the little top on this pattern, too, in a light power dry, am going to use as a base layer. It is the same fabric used for the pockets in the pants.
4/3/03 11:43 AM
Lori V said...
thanks for the review, I just bought this pattern this week.
4/3/03 1:29 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Thanks for reviewing this again. I'd love to see your picture, but unfortunately, it doesn't want to show up. After several favorable reviews, I'm going to have to get this pattern!
4/3/03 0:57 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks CycleGal. Pocket is a great idea. I've used this pattern in cotton/lycra and they are very very comfortable. Pretty much any knit which has good stretch and recovery. I've even made it in cheap Joann Cotton Lycra and worked well. A. Shewan Power Dry is a technical fabric made by Malden Mills. To find out more about it, please read the recent Chat Transcript on Fleece in which we had Malden Mills representatives who talked about this fabric in detail.
4/2/03 5:49 PM
Alpa said...
Oh I love these fabrics! Power Dry is a double-faced fabric used for moisture management - the brushed face next to your skin wicks away moisture and transports it to the outer face which looks like micro mesh where moisture can evaporate faster. It is often used for long underwear. You can see the type of garments made with this at rei.com or llbean.com. (I have several long sleeve shirts made with this and no more soggy cotton tees when running.) Cyclegal, I made this from a powerstretch fleece that is very stretchy/comfy but may be too warm for the summer, other fabrics: besides cotton/nylon lycra (which can be found in matte finish), how about stretch terry or stretch velour?
4/2/03 1:52 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Cyclegal, I wanted to add--there is a tip in the "Tips" section of this site with advice for getting knits on grain. I've found it really helpful. Basically find the lengthwise knit (grain) direction and mark it with chalk all the way down the fabric. Once you have this line marked, the fabric is a breeze to fold on grain.
4/2/03 1:01 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Thanks for your review. I just bought this pattern a couple of days ago. Unfortunately I can't see your picture. BTW, Power Dry is a fabric from Malden Mills (the company that makes polartec fabric). It's a lightweight fabric for athletic wear. I have not actually ever seen it myself, maybe someone else will have a more detailed description.
4/2/03 12:56 PM
CycleGal said...
Hi Deepika, I made the pockets in a lighter color power dry (it was the lightest weight of the power dry). On the picture can barely see the pocket but I tried to pull it out a bit to see. They are definitely figure hugging! I was wondering what other fabrics would be good? I don't want anything like swisuit lycra.
4/2/03 11:18 AM
a. sHEWAN said...
What is power dry?
4/2/03 11:16 AM
Deepika said...
CycleGal, love the power dry! I've also made one pair in powerdry but I feel I should have gone up a size cause it does not stretch as much and is really figure hugging :) But the fabric itself is very comfortable. Did you add pockets in contrasting color?
4/2/03 10:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Butterick 5497

photo
by: Lori V

Review
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

More Info
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

More Info