Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3115 (yoga pants and top) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 1432 times 79 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:CycleGal
photo
Friend of PR
About CycleGalstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/14/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/03 3:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Activewear    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
CycleGal, love the power dry! I've also made one pair in powerdry but I feel I should have gone up a size cause it does not stretch as much and is really figure hugging :) But the fabric itself is very comfortable. Did you add pockets in contrasting color?
4/2/03 10:04 AM
a. sHEWAN said...
What is power dry?
4/2/03 11:16 AM
CycleGal said...
Hi Deepika, I made the pockets in a lighter color power dry (it was the lightest weight of the power dry). On the picture can barely see the pocket but I tried to pull it out a bit to see. They are definitely figure hugging! I was wondering what other fabrics would be good? I don't want anything like swisuit lycra.
4/2/03 11:18 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Thanks for your review. I just bought this pattern a couple of days ago. Unfortunately I can't see your picture. BTW, Power Dry is a fabric from Malden Mills (the company that makes polartec fabric). It's a lightweight fabric for athletic wear. I have not actually ever seen it myself, maybe someone else will have a more detailed description.
4/2/03 12:56 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Cyclegal, I wanted to add--there is a tip in the "Tips" section of this site with advice for getting knits on grain. I've found it really helpful. Basically find the lengthwise knit (grain) direction and mark it with chalk all the way down the fabric. Once you have this line marked, the fabric is a breeze to fold on grain.
4/2/03 1:01 PM
Alpa said...
Oh I love these fabrics! Power Dry is a double-faced fabric used for moisture management - the brushed face next to your skin wicks away moisture and transports it to the outer face which looks like micro mesh where moisture can evaporate faster. It is often used for long underwear. You can see the type of garments made with this at rei.com or llbean.com. (I have several long sleeve shirts made with this and no more soggy cotton tees when running.) Cyclegal, I made this from a powerstretch fleece that is very stretchy/comfy but may be too warm for the summer, other fabrics: besides cotton/nylon lycra (which can be found in matte finish), how about stretch terry or stretch velour?
4/2/03 1:52 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks CycleGal. Pocket is a great idea. I've used this pattern in cotton/lycra and they are very very comfortable. Pretty much any knit which has good stretch and recovery. I've even made it in cheap Joann Cotton Lycra and worked well. A. Shewan Power Dry is a technical fabric made by Malden Mills. To find out more about it, please read the recent Chat Transcript on Fleece in which we had Malden Mills representatives who talked about this fabric in detail.
4/2/03 5:49 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Thanks for reviewing this again. I'd love to see your picture, but unfortunately, it doesn't want to show up. After several favorable reviews, I'm going to have to get this pattern!
4/3/03 0:57 AM
Lori V said...
thanks for the review, I just bought this pattern this week.
4/3/03 1:29 AM
CycleGal said...
Aha, got the picture to work!!! Yesterday I had it sideways...me and my pics! Thanks for the fabric tips, got to go shopping. I am making the little top on this pattern, too, in a light power dry, am going to use as a base layer. It is the same fabric used for the pockets in the pants.
4/3/03 11:43 AM
CycleGal said...
by the way I was looking at the Athleta catalog (women's workout wear) and its full of yoga pants. Also they had one pair that the waistband was lapped at the front, not sure if I am describing it well, but what would be the seam was attached to the waist seam, forming 2 rounded scallops at the center front. Very cute.
4/7/03 11:52 AM
Deepika said...
cyclegal are you talking about this one. This is very cute indeed and I am thinking of figuring out how to make this in my next version. Thanks for the inspiration!
4/7/03 3:40 PM
CycleGal said...
Yes, Deepika, those are the ones! Maybe a wider elastic is needed to curve it like that. Anyway it is very cute. I also made the top and will post the review
4/9/03 3:02 AM
Meredith P said...
I'm a new member and have been enjoying reviews so much. About the "cross over" waistband--this looks much like a cross over neckband, described in Ann Person's neckline book, or other books sewing on knits. Those of you who've made these pants--if you *don't* want them to be low-rise, would you make the pattern as-is?
5/11/03 10:40 AM
Karla Kizer said...
"Those of you who've made these pants--if you *don't* want them to be low-rise, would you make the pattern as-is?" In a word...yes. There is plenty of length there to allow the top of the band to come up to your waist. This pattern is very versatile...high waist, low waist, narrow-ish waistband or my DD's favorite - a very low, wide (5" finished) waistband that she folds over like a cuff. I have used this pattern to make cotton knit pajama pants, snug cotton/lycra jogging pants and looser cotton/lycra casual pants (using Christine Jonson fabric). The waistband width and crotch depth on each of these was different, but each one works. This is one of the most versatile KS patterns I've used and it's in my personal "Pattern Hall of Fame" ;-)
5/11/03 5:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 3609
photo
Review by BlossomKyl... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Oversized Fashionista Bag
photo
Review by Sewphistic... on 2/12/11
Read Review

McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us