SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> L2 Bag (Bag)

15 more reviews
Viewed 892 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/07 9:54 AM
Last Updated:11/29/07 10:14 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Wow what a thorough review and a great bag too. Is this reversible? The inside looks as pretty as the outside.
11/29/07 10:48 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love that tote! I like the inside as well as I like the outside, too!
11/29/07 11:03 AM
Annie- oh said...
Thanks so much for your detailed review and encouragement/exhortation (LOL) at the end. I considered getting this pattern last week when sewingpatterns had 20% off but thought it might be too big. I also add zippered pockets to my bags, but use Lois Hense"s Weekender Bag pattern (doubled square stitched to lining, zipper 1/3 down from top). I like yours better: I guess you put a bag/patch behind the zipper, but I don't see the stitching for it. Or is the zipper accessing the whole in-between lining and outer fabric? Great fabrics, too.
11/29/07 12:23 PM
snaffles said...
Love your bag. I also considered buying the pattern last week, but I knew how big it was. I'd like a smaller version though.
11/29/07 1:55 PM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks! No, it's not reversible, but I love the inside, too. The lady at the quilt shop spent of a lot of time helping me choose those fabrics. My zipper pocket is a bag about 7" x 6" or so. I used a piece of the green fabric that I had left after cutting the other green pocket from a fat quarter. I attached the top of the pocket to the top of the bag for support.
11/29/07 2:14 PM
pterion said...
Beautiful tote! I looked at the photo of the model wearing it - boy, that IS big.
11/29/07 2:16 PM
marjenann said...
Divine bag!!! Great fabric choice too!
11/29/07 2:35 PM
kiddo said...
Beautiful bag!!!
11/30/07 1:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad to read this review. Have wondered about this bag and your review is most helpful.
11/30/07 5:16 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great handbag, great review! I love the fabric you used too.
11/30/07 7:39 AM
Larkin said...
Beth, you've got a great tote to get you to and from work. Thanks for the details! Enjoy!
11/30/07 9:07 AM
Lori V said...
Great review and beautiful bag.
12/1/07 1:00 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
The bag is big but not as big as Loes Hinse Weekender (in which you really could carry everything for a weekend away) but I like this bag. Would make a great bag to take to work with your purse, maybe laptap, lunch inside. I am in process of making this bag myself. The fabric is different but it also has asian symbols so, like you, hope I won't offend anyone.
12/10/07 8:29 PM
Rustybobn said...
Leslie, I asked a Chinese man at work to tell me what those symbols were. He translated every one of them and they were all ok things. One of them was "as is" or something like that. He said he didn't know why they would use that one. I suppose it just looked pretty to the designer.
12/11/07 9:10 AM
Athene said...
I love your bag. I have looked at this pattern in the past thinking it was too big for me. But each time I look at this review I want it. I think I will have to order one for myself. Thank you for the great review.
12/20/07 1:26 AM
marthamyers said...
Nice work! Very cute. I hope you bring it to an ASG CAB meeting soon. I'd love to see it in person!
2/1/08 7:17 PM
ecomama said...
Those fabrics are just sooo fantastic for this bag - I love it! Great review, and I also liked the alterations/additions you made. Well done!
3/17/08 3:57 AM
Rustybobn said...
Martha, I'd love to show it to you, but it now lives with my DIL. She loves it.
3/18/08 8:21 AM
JodieK said...
Thanks for all the detail. I too am lookiing for a bag to carry to work...but at 5ft. tall, I don't need something too big. Thanks so much
10/26/08 9:22 AM
JDpenelope said...
Rustybobn -- Thanks for this helpful review--I'm getting ready to sew this pattern. Hoping to achieve something like your great end result. By the way, when I was in Japan, I saw all kinds of nonsensical English phrases on T shirts and what have you. Apparently, it's universally fun to have another language on your stuff, even if you have no idea what it means!
6/17/09 7:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-118

photo
by: Sigrid.

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now