Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: L2 Bag (Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 889 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 60 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/07 9:54 AM
Last Updated:11/29/07 10:14 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Wow what a thorough review and a great bag too. Is this reversible? The inside looks as pretty as the outside.
11/29/07 10:48 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love that tote! I like the inside as well as I like the outside, too!
11/29/07 11:03 AM
Annie- oh said...
Thanks so much for your detailed review and encouragement/exhortation (LOL) at the end. I considered getting this pattern last week when sewingpatterns had 20% off but thought it might be too big. I also add zippered pockets to my bags, but use Lois Hense"s Weekender Bag pattern (doubled square stitched to lining, zipper 1/3 down from top). I like yours better: I guess you put a bag/patch behind the zipper, but I don't see the stitching for it. Or is the zipper accessing the whole in-between lining and outer fabric? Great fabrics, too.
11/29/07 12:23 PM
snaffles said...
Love your bag. I also considered buying the pattern last week, but I knew how big it was. I'd like a smaller version though.
11/29/07 1:55 PM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks! No, it's not reversible, but I love the inside, too. The lady at the quilt shop spent of a lot of time helping me choose those fabrics. My zipper pocket is a bag about 7" x 6" or so. I used a piece of the green fabric that I had left after cutting the other green pocket from a fat quarter. I attached the top of the pocket to the top of the bag for support.
11/29/07 2:14 PM
pterion said...
Beautiful tote! I looked at the photo of the model wearing it - boy, that IS big.
11/29/07 2:16 PM
marjenann said...
Divine bag!!! Great fabric choice too!
11/29/07 2:35 PM
kiddo said...
Beautiful bag!!!
11/30/07 1:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad to read this review. Have wondered about this bag and your review is most helpful.
11/30/07 5:16 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great handbag, great review! I love the fabric you used too.
11/30/07 7:39 AM
Larkin said...
Beth, you've got a great tote to get you to and from work. Thanks for the details! Enjoy!
11/30/07 9:07 AM
Lori V said...
Great review and beautiful bag.
12/1/07 1:00 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
The bag is big but not as big as Loes Hinse Weekender (in which you really could carry everything for a weekend away) but I like this bag. Would make a great bag to take to work with your purse, maybe laptap, lunch inside. I am in process of making this bag myself. The fabric is different but it also has asian symbols so, like you, hope I won't offend anyone.
12/10/07 8:29 PM
Rustybobn said...
Leslie, I asked a Chinese man at work to tell me what those symbols were. He translated every one of them and they were all ok things. One of them was "as is" or something like that. He said he didn't know why they would use that one. I suppose it just looked pretty to the designer.
12/11/07 9:10 AM
Athene said...
I love your bag. I have looked at this pattern in the past thinking it was too big for me. But each time I look at this review I want it. I think I will have to order one for myself. Thank you for the great review.
12/20/07 1:26 AM
marthamyers said...
Nice work! Very cute. I hope you bring it to an ASG CAB meeting soon. I'd love to see it in person!
2/1/08 7:17 PM
ecomama said...
Those fabrics are just sooo fantastic for this bag - I love it! Great review, and I also liked the alterations/additions you made. Well done!
3/17/08 3:57 AM
Rustybobn said...
Martha, I'd love to show it to you, but it now lives with my DIL. She loves it.
3/18/08 8:21 AM
JodieK said...
Thanks for all the detail. I too am lookiing for a bag to carry to work...but at 5ft. tall, I don't need something too big. Thanks so much
10/26/08 9:22 AM
JDpenelope said...
Rustybobn -- Thanks for this helpful review--I'm getting ready to sew this pattern. Hoping to achieve something like your great end result. By the way, when I was in Japan, I saw all kinds of nonsensical English phrases on T shirts and what have you. Apparently, it's universally fun to have another language on your stuff, even if you have no idea what it means!
6/17/09 7:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

New Look 6953 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by katlew03 on 12/12/11
Read Review

McCalls 6225 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6225 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6530 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6530 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Reisebegleiter
photo
Review by GlobalMom on 2/19/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us