Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5513 (Lined coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1006 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/07 3:42 PM
Last Updated:11/30/07 3:42 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dmd4106 said...
Cute coat.
11/30/07 4:15 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Great coat Sigrid, I bet your daughter is thrilled. I was following it on your blog
11/30/07 5:38 PM
Morisot said...
How cute is that!
11/30/07 5:44 PM
Athene said...
Very pretty coat. Thank you for the review.
11/30/07 6:02 PM
Leora said...
You are fast! It is a beautiful coat, very nice.
11/30/07 6:40 PM
Lori V said...
Great coat, lucky daughter.
11/30/07 6:44 PM
Lori V said...
Sorry, duplicate
11/30/07 6:54 PM
Deborah K said...
Gorgeous coat! I like yours better than the McCall's sample.
11/30/07 7:13 PM
Dee2 said...
Beautiful coat. Great idea to use elastic to gather a heavier fabric. Thanks for the tip & review.
11/30/07 7:56 PM
Catbird said...
I love the way this came out! I got this pattern recently but haven't tried it yet and was happy to get some helpful tips on construction and see such nice results. Great job!
11/30/07 8:23 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I have this pattern. This is so adorable on. I really want to know what your coat fabric is-poly, wool? WHere did you get it.? It's beautiful.
11/30/07 8:39 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Super cute!
12/1/07 0:03 AM
kiddo said...
Love the coat!!! It is so well made. Thank you for all the tips and your blog.
12/1/07 0:26 AM
Peggy L said...
Great coat! Thanks for the review.
12/1/07 6:02 AM
SuzanM said...
What a darling coat! Thanks for the review and the very helpful tip on gathering.
12/1/07 6:53 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Jacket is lovely!
12/1/07 7:18 AM
blue mooney said...
Very nice work, Sigrid! I bet your daughter is happy!
12/1/07 8:14 AM
Nancy K said...
Perfect for your daughter and a lovely, young design. Gathering a coating fabric with 2 lines of stitching would have been a nightmare. Your solution is perfect. Very nice work.
12/1/07 8:38 AM
carolynw said...
Love it!
12/1/07 9:19 AM
Betsybobbin said...
This is so cute! Looks much nicer than the pattern photo.
12/1/07 9:35 AM
cmarie12 said...
Sigrid ~ I have watched you construct this coat on your blog and just want to tell you that you did a wonderful job on it! I hope your DD loves it!
12/1/07 11:04 AM
Sigrid. said...
Thanks all for the compliments. As to the fabric: I think it's a poly/wool blend. Bought on a local fabric market where it was not clearly indicated what it was. Sorry I can't be more specific.
12/1/07 12:01 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your coat is so cute and hip! I love the style, color, everything about it. I"m putting this on my must-have McCall's list!
12/1/07 12:32 PM
madhatter said...
totally awesome - as said before! ^-^
12/1/07 2:06 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Almost forgot what I was rating, just read your whole blog....love all the tutorials. Your DD looks so cute in this coat. ;-)
12/1/07 4:18 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous coat. So very "in". Lucky daughter!
12/1/07 4:51 PM
Mahler said...
This jacket is simply magnificient ! It falls perfectly. Black pants or black long skirt, with long black gloves would give this out fit the perfect Audrey Hepburn look! I am impressed. I never even stopped at this pattern. I am happy you made me discover it. Danku !
12/1/07 5:21 PM
Annette1 said...
Dang! Believe it or not, I've wanted this coat for MYSELF ever since the pattern came out. Luckily, it doesn't come in my size, so I won't be walking around like the 49-year-old child I am. I DO love it though, and yours is just perfect. I can tell by the smile on your daughter's face that she loves it too.
12/2/07 0:18 AM
Tez said...
Just beautiful!
12/2/07 0:31 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
Wonderful job - this appears to be a very versitle piece!
12/2/07 8:07 AM
Janice C. said...
My daughter has been dropping hints to me about this coat ! She is 13 and both of us love it. I hope to get to it after Christmas . I'm going to show her your blog - you did a great job ! Annette 1 - Your comment made me smile - like you I feel that I am just a teeny weeny bit old for it - but IDO love it all the same !
12/2/07 9:21 AM
MissCelie said...
I looove this coat. I would wear it and I am twice your daughters age!
12/2/07 10:03 AM
Dei said...
You did yourself proud and your daughter is fortunate to have you. Great job!
12/2/07 8:29 PM
candyo said...
That is a very nice coat!
12/3/07 11:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6035 MISSES' SHIRTS
photo
Review by heathergwo on 5/25/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1449 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2 )
Simplicity 1449 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4787
photo
Review by Geri Lynn on 11/20/05
Read Review

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us