SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5513 (Lined coat)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1009 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
Netherlands
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 137 people
patterns reviewed: 144
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/07 3:42 PM
Last Updated:11/30/07 3:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
candyo said...
That is a very nice coat!
12/3/07 11:00 PM
Dei said...
You did yourself proud and your daughter is fortunate to have you. Great job!
12/2/07 8:29 PM
MissCelie said...
I looove this coat. I would wear it and I am twice your daughters age!
12/2/07 10:03 AM
Janice C. said...
My daughter has been dropping hints to me about this coat ! She is 13 and both of us love it. I hope to get to it after Christmas . I'm going to show her your blog - you did a great job ! Annette 1 - Your comment made me smile - like you I feel that I am just a teeny weeny bit old for it - but IDO love it all the same !
12/2/07 9:21 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
Wonderful job - this appears to be a very versitle piece!
12/2/07 8:07 AM
Tez said...
Just beautiful!
12/2/07 0:31 AM
Annette1 said...
Dang! Believe it or not, I've wanted this coat for MYSELF ever since the pattern came out. Luckily, it doesn't come in my size, so I won't be walking around like the 49-year-old child I am. I DO love it though, and yours is just perfect. I can tell by the smile on your daughter's face that she loves it too.
12/2/07 0:18 AM
Mahler said...
This jacket is simply magnificient ! It falls perfectly. Black pants or black long skirt, with long black gloves would give this out fit the perfect Audrey Hepburn look! I am impressed. I never even stopped at this pattern. I am happy you made me discover it. Danku !
12/1/07 5:21 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous coat. So very "in". Lucky daughter!
12/1/07 4:51 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Almost forgot what I was rating, just read your whole blog....love all the tutorials. Your DD looks so cute in this coat. ;-)
12/1/07 4:18 PM
madhatter said...
totally awesome - as said before! ^-^
12/1/07 2:06 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your coat is so cute and hip! I love the style, color, everything about it. I"m putting this on my must-have McCall's list!
12/1/07 12:32 PM
Sigrid. said...
Thanks all for the compliments. As to the fabric: I think it's a poly/wool blend. Bought on a local fabric market where it was not clearly indicated what it was. Sorry I can't be more specific.
12/1/07 12:01 PM
cmarie12 said...
Sigrid ~ I have watched you construct this coat on your blog and just want to tell you that you did a wonderful job on it! I hope your DD loves it!
12/1/07 11:04 AM
Betsybobbin said...
This is so cute! Looks much nicer than the pattern photo.
12/1/07 9:35 AM
carolynw said...
Love it!
12/1/07 9:19 AM
Nancy K said...
Perfect for your daughter and a lovely, young design. Gathering a coating fabric with 2 lines of stitching would have been a nightmare. Your solution is perfect. Very nice work.
12/1/07 8:38 AM
blue mooney said...
Very nice work, Sigrid! I bet your daughter is happy!
12/1/07 8:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Jacket is lovely!
12/1/07 7:18 AM
SuzanM said...
What a darling coat! Thanks for the review and the very helpful tip on gathering.
12/1/07 6:53 AM
Peggy L said...
Great coat! Thanks for the review.
12/1/07 6:02 AM
kiddo said...
Love the coat!!! It is so well made. Thank you for all the tips and your blog.
12/1/07 0:26 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Super cute!
12/1/07 0:03 AM
CynthiaSue said...
I have this pattern. This is so adorable on. I really want to know what your coat fabric is-poly, wool? WHere did you get it.? It's beautiful.
11/30/07 8:39 PM
Catbird said...
I love the way this came out! I got this pattern recently but haven't tried it yet and was happy to get some helpful tips on construction and see such nice results. Great job!
11/30/07 8:23 PM
Dee2 said...
Beautiful coat. Great idea to use elastic to gather a heavier fabric. Thanks for the tip & review.
11/30/07 7:56 PM
Deborah K said...
Gorgeous coat! I like yours better than the McCall's sample.
11/30/07 7:13 PM
Lori V said...
Sorry, duplicate
11/30/07 6:54 PM
Lori V said...
Great coat, lucky daughter.
11/30/07 6:44 PM
Leora said...
You are fast! It is a beautiful coat, very nice.
11/30/07 6:40 PM
Athene said...
Very pretty coat. Thank you for the review.
11/30/07 6:02 PM
Morisot said...
How cute is that!
11/30/07 5:44 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Great coat Sigrid, I bet your daughter is thrilled. I was following it on your blog
11/30/07 5:38 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute coat.
11/30/07 4:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Marfy 3171

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

More Info
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

More Info