SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5513 (Lined coat)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1007 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 134 people
patterns reviewed: 143
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/07 3:42 PM
Last Updated:11/30/07 3:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dmd4106 said...
Cute coat.
11/30/07 4:15 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Great coat Sigrid, I bet your daughter is thrilled. I was following it on your blog
11/30/07 5:38 PM
Morisot said...
How cute is that!
11/30/07 5:44 PM
Athene said...
Very pretty coat. Thank you for the review.
11/30/07 6:02 PM
Leora said...
You are fast! It is a beautiful coat, very nice.
11/30/07 6:40 PM
Lori V said...
Great coat, lucky daughter.
11/30/07 6:44 PM
Lori V said...
Sorry, duplicate
11/30/07 6:54 PM
Deborah K said...
Gorgeous coat! I like yours better than the McCall's sample.
11/30/07 7:13 PM
Dee2 said...
Beautiful coat. Great idea to use elastic to gather a heavier fabric. Thanks for the tip & review.
11/30/07 7:56 PM
Catbird said...
I love the way this came out! I got this pattern recently but haven't tried it yet and was happy to get some helpful tips on construction and see such nice results. Great job!
11/30/07 8:23 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I have this pattern. This is so adorable on. I really want to know what your coat fabric is-poly, wool? WHere did you get it.? It's beautiful.
11/30/07 8:39 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Super cute!
12/1/07 0:03 AM
kiddo said...
Love the coat!!! It is so well made. Thank you for all the tips and your blog.
12/1/07 0:26 AM
Peggy L said...
Great coat! Thanks for the review.
12/1/07 6:02 AM
SuzanM said...
What a darling coat! Thanks for the review and the very helpful tip on gathering.
12/1/07 6:53 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Jacket is lovely!
12/1/07 7:18 AM
blue mooney said...
Very nice work, Sigrid! I bet your daughter is happy!
12/1/07 8:14 AM
Nancy K said...
Perfect for your daughter and a lovely, young design. Gathering a coating fabric with 2 lines of stitching would have been a nightmare. Your solution is perfect. Very nice work.
12/1/07 8:38 AM
carolynw said...
Love it!
12/1/07 9:19 AM
Betsybobbin said...
This is so cute! Looks much nicer than the pattern photo.
12/1/07 9:35 AM
cmarie12 said...
Sigrid ~ I have watched you construct this coat on your blog and just want to tell you that you did a wonderful job on it! I hope your DD loves it!
12/1/07 11:04 AM
Sigrid. said...
Thanks all for the compliments. As to the fabric: I think it's a poly/wool blend. Bought on a local fabric market where it was not clearly indicated what it was. Sorry I can't be more specific.
12/1/07 12:01 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your coat is so cute and hip! I love the style, color, everything about it. I"m putting this on my must-have McCall's list!
12/1/07 12:32 PM
madhatter said...
totally awesome - as said before! ^-^
12/1/07 2:06 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Almost forgot what I was rating, just read your whole blog....love all the tutorials. Your DD looks so cute in this coat. ;-)
12/1/07 4:18 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous coat. So very "in". Lucky daughter!
12/1/07 4:51 PM
Mahler said...
This jacket is simply magnificient ! It falls perfectly. Black pants or black long skirt, with long black gloves would give this out fit the perfect Audrey Hepburn look! I am impressed. I never even stopped at this pattern. I am happy you made me discover it. Danku !
12/1/07 5:21 PM
Annette1 said...
Dang! Believe it or not, I've wanted this coat for MYSELF ever since the pattern came out. Luckily, it doesn't come in my size, so I won't be walking around like the 49-year-old child I am. I DO love it though, and yours is just perfect. I can tell by the smile on your daughter's face that she loves it too.
12/2/07 0:18 AM
Tez said...
Just beautiful!
12/2/07 0:31 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
Wonderful job - this appears to be a very versitle piece!
12/2/07 8:07 AM
Janice C. said...
My daughter has been dropping hints to me about this coat ! She is 13 and both of us love it. I hope to get to it after Christmas . I'm going to show her your blog - you did a great job ! Annette 1 - Your comment made me smile - like you I feel that I am just a teeny weeny bit old for it - but IDO love it all the same !
12/2/07 9:21 AM
MissCelie said...
I looove this coat. I would wear it and I am twice your daughters age!
12/2/07 10:03 AM
Dei said...
You did yourself proud and your daughter is fortunate to have you. Great job!
12/2/07 8:29 PM
candyo said...
That is a very nice coat!
12/3/07 11:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Butterick 5017 - OOP

photo
by: petitesewi...

Review
brerrabbit.com Mimi G

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now