Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6408 (OOP '48 Retro Evening Gown) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1348 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/07 10:09 AM
Last Updated:12/5/07 9:48 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
73 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marjenann said...
Fantabulous!!!! You wear it well!
12/5/07 10:15 AM
Nancy K said...
Wow! I have been following along on your blog and the dress is fabulous; you look fabulous. I hope that you had a wonderful time and that you are justly proud of this dress. For $120 you got a high end creation.
12/5/07 10:19 AM
Mary Cargill said...
It is great to see it, and the fabric is simply gorgeous. Much better than orange! What an inspiration.
12/5/07 10:26 AM
Barbara said...
GEORGEOUS!
12/5/07 10:33 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow! And WOW!! You look Lovely and Proud!! Very helpful review.
12/5/07 10:34 AM
cmarie12 said...
Simply beautiful!!!!
12/5/07 10:35 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I have a number of patterns in the 'why did I get rid of that!!' category, too! Great dress! Great work!
12/5/07 10:48 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Awesome!
12/5/07 10:49 AM
Peggy L said...
You outdid yourself on this one. Stunning!!!
12/5/07 10:55 AM
Erica B. said...
The dress turned out beautiful! Very Red Carpet Chic!
12/5/07 11:06 AM
bananaoil said...
Dear Ms. Cidell, I do so admire your work and this one is no exception. It looks beautiful on you. It has a HOOD? Maybe I'll see that when I check back at your blog (I'm a reader). How much time did you give yourself for this project? I have been in the "hot needle and burnt thread" club myself for sewing things up while heading out the door.
12/5/07 11:15 AM
Lady_Mame said...
WOW- what a knockout. You look fantastic!
12/5/07 11:16 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Dahhling! What a fab dress! Bet you knocked em dead at the event.
12/5/07 11:19 AM
Mary W said...
beautiful
12/5/07 11:31 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
You must have been the beauty of the party wearing this, congrats!:-) Marita
12/5/07 11:32 AM
loohoo44 said...
Congratulations! This was a total accomplishment, and you look fabulous.
12/5/07 12:00 PM
Deepika said...
Wow, what a gorgeous gown and this color is smashing on you!
12/5/07 12:04 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I have been so inspired by your whole process of making this gown. What an accomplishment. And you look *amazing*!!
12/5/07 12:31 PM
Jodi B. said...
Cidell, this looks fabulous! I've been waiting to see it and I'm not disappointed. You looked great for your ball. Congratulations on all the new sewing skills.
12/5/07 12:39 PM
PegL said...
Bravo! Your dress is gorgeous and you look fantastic wearing it!
12/5/07 1:28 PM
Linda G said...
Beautiful...it seems they just don't make patterns as fashionable as they used to....
12/5/07 1:45 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
beautiful!
12/5/07 1:49 PM
craftyshark said...
Fabulous dress. It really suits you!
12/5/07 2:21 PM
LindsayT said...
OMG, your dress is stunning! Your blog on the creation process is great. Nice work!
12/5/07 2:26 PM
Dei said...
Cidell, OMG! As my daughter would say, "prettiful". I followed your progress on your blog and was impressed then, boning, silk organza and all. But you knocked this one out of the box. Sewn beautifully and worn beautifully.
12/5/07 2:33 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous! Befitting a equally talented & goreous person. I so enjoy reading your reviews and blog about your trumphants and trials via yr sewing adventures. Thanks for posting
12/5/07 2:51 PM
Lori V said...
You look stunning, Cidell. Great job.
12/5/07 3:30 PM
eibhlin said...
Wow! Absolutely gorgeous!!
12/5/07 3:54 PM
Sigrid. said...
Already commented on your blog, but once again: this is an awesome dress. Great work!
12/5/07 3:56 PM
LuceLu said...
Ooooooooo la la! Impressive. I will read up on it in more painstaking detail (because I need all the details) on your blog. Does it make you feel like a grown up?-- a glamourous one? (I had to ask, as a little girl I always thought I would spend evenings in beautiful gowns when I grew up.-- Unfortunately, I spend most all of them in flannel pajama pants and tshirts) You are very talented. I want to say I have read your blog and seen your work and you have been an amazing seamstress for a very long time before this gorgeous dress.
12/5/07 4:20 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
the dress is amazing, you're amazing!
12/5/07 4:21 PM
Riordan said...
Truly beautiful dress, and you have the perfect figure for it!! Absolutely stunning!!!
12/5/07 4:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful ! Beautiful ! Beautiful !
12/5/07 5:06 PM
nicegirl said...
Yay! For the dress! It came out gorgeous in color, fit, and style. I love the flowers.
12/5/07 5:12 PM
Kay Y said...
You can sew anything!! Your dress is gorgeous and you look fantastic in it.
12/5/07 7:42 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, Cidell, this is just BEAUTIFUL. Hmmmm, silk, boning, underlining, organza: Doesn't this qualify you at the courture rating now? I've often regretted getting rid of an unused pattern myself, only later to buy ANOTHER one, so what was the point? I've since decided I'll get rid of something ELSE, but not the patterns. I hope I stick to it. Not many people can wear "negative ease" very well, but you certainly do. In my case, it'd be like that joke Dolly Parton told after the Super Bowl "wardrobe malfunction: "If I have a wardrobe malfunction, I'm taking out the first five rows." Great review, and I enjoyed your blog, as well.
12/5/07 8:14 PM
kim*brown said...
I love the color and added details. You look like you definitely stood out in the crowd. Very pretty!!
12/5/07 8:26 PM
nadinec said...
Ooooo - you are "Cidell-rella" in this gown! But then, you would look great in a gunnysack :-)
12/5/07 8:29 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
I've been secretly following your progress on your blog. The results are beautiful. Do you have a picture with the hood? Would love to see it!
12/5/07 8:38 PM
cindy-lou said...
WOW. :o Over-the-top great. You rock. You TOTALLY rock! I love the look, the fit, the color, the whole package. Wonderful work!!!
12/5/07 8:41 PM
Sheila457 said...
Outstandingly Gorgeous.
12/5/07 8:49 PM
tomed said...
Fabulous, Cidell. You should be very proud!
12/5/07 9:28 PM
hongkongshopper said...
WooHoo - gorgeous!!
12/5/07 9:48 PM
Nancywin said...
You look stunning in this dress!Now - don't you think you should call yourself an "advanced" sewist? You did beautiful work on this.
12/5/07 10:03 PM
mastdenman said...
Fabulous. You look absolutely beautiful in it.
12/5/07 10:14 PM
cathy45 said...
Bravo! It's a gorgeous gown and you look so beautiful in it! You inspire us all--and we have a bouse to look forward to also?
12/6/07 0:01 AM
rahayu said...
I am S-P-E-E-C-H-L-E-S-S!!!!!!! You and your dress are awesomely GORGEOUS....
12/6/07 2:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I have been reading your adventures with this dress on ;your blog. It truly turned out great.
12/6/07 5:24 AM
Shrazzy said...
It looks great on you!
12/6/07 7:23 AM
cindyann said...
Just a lovely as I imagined you would be. The dress is perfection!
12/6/07 7:44 AM
OP Gal said...
You. Look. Gorgeous! Your hard work certainly paid off. I hope your fellow party goers didn't let that beautiful dress un-noticed.
12/6/07 8:15 AM
said...
Wow, you look marvelous!!! Love the color and you WEAR that dress.
12/6/07 8:21 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, don't worry Cydell - life's too short to regret every pattern gone. You wouldn't have had time to make more than one this year anyway, and you certainely couldn't have gotten anything more fabulous :-). The fit is superb, the dress is gorgeous, the roses are amazing and the hood...!! I'd have preferred it in orange myself, just to put in a dissenting note :-). But I'm me and you're you, and you're certainly the most glamorous thing to hit that party in decades I'm sure :-).
12/6/07 9:14 AM
carolynw said...
Been away for a day or two and then clicked on to this and went "OMG- Cidell you look totally beautiful - great color onyou and of course yoru usual great work - I know you must be tired of hearing this - "Girl You Rock" but you so do!!
12/6/07 9:24 AM
carolynw said...
OOPS DOUBLE POST
12/6/07 9:26 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful dress - thanks for all the details you gave about the construction. The color is gorgeous!!
12/6/07 9:51 AM
ZeldaDC said...
What a breathtaking inspiration! Thanks for sharing the experience. Congratulations!
12/6/07 10:27 AM
ryan's mom said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!! And judging by size you used and alterations made, you can now send it my way so I can wear it :) .
12/6/07 11:46 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Ooooh Cidell, you are absolutely gorgeous in your beautiful creation! Since I've joined PR & lurking, I've admired your sewing skills. You've always been able to sew, IMHO. I think you should upgrade your sewing to at least advanced! You should be on the runway! ;-)
12/6/07 12:44 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Sorry Duplicate
12/6/07 1:25 PM
Karen6790 said...
This was worth every second you put into it. You look absolutely gorgeous. I love the color on you, and the muslins were worthwhile because the fit is excellent! It isn't often that a learning experience looks this fabulous. But what are you going to give us to read about now that you're done? You need another killer project!
12/6/07 1:51 PM
northern nasturtium said...
oh, I'm sooooo happy you made the hood! Formalwear hood-- what a wild idea! I, too, have been following along on your blog and am happy for you that this project came out so well. Great work!
12/6/07 5:39 PM
Betsybobbin said...
Absolutely wonderful! The roses make it. I hope everyone at your party asked you where you got your dress, so you could say I made it!! Well done! Elizabeth
12/6/07 8:03 PM
Lisa Merry said...
I agree with everyone's comments. That dress is FABULOUS, you did such a great job on it!!
12/6/07 8:36 PM
Dolphin said...
..... and the oscar goes to Miss Cidell for her beautiful dress and looking so stunning.
12/7/07 4:17 AM
mochalover said...
Cidell, well done as always. Gorgeous dress and well worth your time and effort.
12/7/07 8:56 AM
QueenZ said...
Stunning gown!!!
12/7/07 2:49 PM
PhyllisC said...
Cidell this color is glorious on you! A wonderful, wonderful gown.
12/7/07 7:33 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Insanity! Insane work, insane color, insane beauty, insane talent. InSANE! :)
12/7/07 10:46 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is one *gorgeous* dress Cidell - I'm sure you knocked everyone's socks off at the party! :-)
12/10/07 1:08 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous dress and you look wonderful in it! I'm going to a formal wedding in January and just wish I had time to go to the trouble you did with this dress...... maybe next time! Your sewing is an inspiration to us all Cidell!
1/2/08 8:23 AM
Batik said...
You look freakin' fantastic in that dress and hood. Well played!
4/29/09 2:57 AM
lavinarose said...
Beautiful dress, I learned the hard way about zippers and interfacing in formal wear as well. Very annoying.... at least if you learn from your mistakes you won't make them again!!
5/26/09 4:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Burda 7633 SUIT
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 9/1/11
Read Review

New Look 6599 Pattern
New Look 6599 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2572 Pattern
Jalie 2572 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6196
photo
Review by goddessof on 10/23/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sea Breeze Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -6 years )
Peek-A Boo Sea Breeze Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -6 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us