SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5519 (One Hour Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1132 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/07 6:11 PM
Last Updated:12/8/07 9:59 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
angelt841 said...
one of the funniest reviews I have read! great job
12/27/09 1:04 AM
AnneM said...
Well, you know, design changes are the name of the game. And they never take an hour, even without mistakes! (Or at least they don't for me.) (The large pictures aren't coming up for me, but it looks nice in the small pic.)
1/2/08 4:58 PM
millonthefloss said...
Really like this dress. Simple and plain enough to add any scarf, pin, or accent. Even though you had some difficulty you worked through it and came up with a dress nonetheless. My best to you.
12/17/07 8:25 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great save! In fact, I think the two piece sleeve is a great design element on such a simple (aka not fussy) dress. Bravo!
12/10/07 9:22 AM
Leora said...
Nice design change and a lovely gift!
12/9/07 8:31 PM
carolynw said...
Nice looking dress and a great save!! Why these things happen I will never know - many of us feel your pain with the misadventure 'cos we been there and done that!!
12/9/07 10:05 AM
blue mooney said...
Been there, done that! You came up with a good save, and great results. What a nice pattern - no zipper! I hope it suits your DD.
12/9/07 8:46 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful job and great story. We've all been there, and misery loves company.
12/9/07 8:11 AM
marjenann said...
Lemons to lemonaide!! Great looking dress!
12/9/07 8:04 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice gift.
12/9/07 7:46 AM
Annette1 said...
Ha! Well, those "designer sleeves" look like they were meant to be that way. :o) If you don't confess, your daughter will never know. I think the dress looks great!
12/9/07 3:51 AM
bluenines said...
great save !, and yes i to have had sewing miss haps while trying to do more than one thing at a time, i think your dd will love the dress
12/9/07 1:09 AM
Nancywin said...
I don't know how anybody makes anything in one hour. It takes me longer than that just to take out the pattern, iron it and make alterations. I think I'm pretty slow at the "prep" part of sewing. This dress looks like it will be very nice. If your daughter is anything like mine, you may end up taking it in! They tend to like negative ease. (of course, they have the bodies for it!)
12/8/07 11:50 PM
OP Gal said...
Great save! Your "design element" worked beautifully. Loved the funny review.
12/8/07 10:52 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oh my -- I am always worried about accidentally using my pattern pieces as scraps because I sometimes leave them lying about in balls so they look like scraps..I should be more careful. Good save though! Looks like a cute and "easy" (how come those "easy" projects never turn out easy?) pattern!
12/8/07 10:28 PM
PegL said...
Tim Gunn would be so proud of you! The dress is Runway worthy!
12/8/07 9:26 PM
fabricrazed said...
Good looking dress. Haven't we all had one of those moments. Now you have created your own design detail. Some mistakes turn out to become something better. I liked your solution.
12/8/07 8:29 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"Funny" story!! You really came up with a bright solution!! There's experience showing. (Now, you only have to "make up" some "stolen" cookies for your other DD!!)
12/8/07 6:48 PM
Athene said...
Its a nice looking dress. You did "make it work" congratulations. I have this pattern to make for me and my DD but just have not found the time yet.
12/8/07 6:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Butterick 6967

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now