SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5519 (One Hour Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1131 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/07 6:11 PM
Last Updated:12/8/07 9:59 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Its a nice looking dress. You did "make it work" congratulations. I have this pattern to make for me and my DD but just have not found the time yet.
12/8/07 6:31 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"Funny" story!! You really came up with a bright solution!! There's experience showing. (Now, you only have to "make up" some "stolen" cookies for your other DD!!)
12/8/07 6:48 PM
fabricrazed said...
Good looking dress. Haven't we all had one of those moments. Now you have created your own design detail. Some mistakes turn out to become something better. I liked your solution.
12/8/07 8:29 PM
PegL said...
Tim Gunn would be so proud of you! The dress is Runway worthy!
12/8/07 9:26 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oh my -- I am always worried about accidentally using my pattern pieces as scraps because I sometimes leave them lying about in balls so they look like scraps..I should be more careful. Good save though! Looks like a cute and "easy" (how come those "easy" projects never turn out easy?) pattern!
12/8/07 10:28 PM
OP Gal said...
Great save! Your "design element" worked beautifully. Loved the funny review.
12/8/07 10:52 PM
Nancywin said...
I don't know how anybody makes anything in one hour. It takes me longer than that just to take out the pattern, iron it and make alterations. I think I'm pretty slow at the "prep" part of sewing. This dress looks like it will be very nice. If your daughter is anything like mine, you may end up taking it in! They tend to like negative ease. (of course, they have the bodies for it!)
12/8/07 11:50 PM
bluenines said...
great save !, and yes i to have had sewing miss haps while trying to do more than one thing at a time, i think your dd will love the dress
12/9/07 1:09 AM
Annette1 said...
Ha! Well, those "designer sleeves" look like they were meant to be that way. :o) If you don't confess, your daughter will never know. I think the dress looks great!
12/9/07 3:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice gift.
12/9/07 7:46 AM
marjenann said...
Lemons to lemonaide!! Great looking dress!
12/9/07 8:04 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful job and great story. We've all been there, and misery loves company.
12/9/07 8:11 AM
blue mooney said...
Been there, done that! You came up with a good save, and great results. What a nice pattern - no zipper! I hope it suits your DD.
12/9/07 8:46 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking dress and a great save!! Why these things happen I will never know - many of us feel your pain with the misadventure 'cos we been there and done that!!
12/9/07 10:05 AM
Leora said...
Nice design change and a lovely gift!
12/9/07 8:31 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great save! In fact, I think the two piece sleeve is a great design element on such a simple (aka not fussy) dress. Bravo!
12/10/07 9:22 AM
millonthefloss said...
Really like this dress. Simple and plain enough to add any scarf, pin, or accent. Even though you had some difficulty you worked through it and came up with a dress nonetheless. My best to you.
12/17/07 8:25 PM
AnneM said...
Well, you know, design changes are the name of the game. And they never take an hour, even without mistakes! (Or at least they don't for me.) (The large pictures aren't coming up for me, but it looks nice in the small pic.)
1/2/08 4:58 PM
angelt841 said...
one of the funniest reviews I have read! great job
12/27/09 1:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now