SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3419 (Misses Knit Tops)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1406 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 225 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/07 7:36 PM
Last Updated:12/13/07 7:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lynda828 said...
Thank you clever woman I am a DD cup and will copy your idea. Hope you don't mind!! Just noticed you're and Aussie no wonder!!
4/15/08 9:01 AM
KathleenS said...
Uh, yeah, kind of. I'm sure my execution of it wouldn't be as great as yours though. Thanks!
12/15/07 6:13 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Kathleen, for the back neckline I turned the 6mm/1/4" seam allowance under, inserted some clear elastic, then stitched in place. Does that make more sense? :)
12/14/07 9:58 PM
KathleenS said...
I quite like the colours from here but it may well be different in real life. I'm not quite clear on how you did the back neckline - can you explain more or post a picture please?
12/14/07 9:30 PM
Linda G said...
Your top is beautiful...you have to wear it...it is a VERY wearable muslin.
12/14/07 9:06 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! That's a one beautiful top and I like the changes you made to the pattern.
12/14/07 7:50 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a wonderful top Belinda! I love the colors/fabric and I think the alterations you made to the pattern are splendid - bravo! :-)
12/14/07 5:53 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
The design changes you made really take this top from ordinary to extraordinary! The colors are nice - but if it just isn't you - it just isn't! : )
12/14/07 3:20 PM
MissCelie said...
I love tht the knit doesn't look like knit. It looks like a chiffon or georgette. Very very neat!
12/14/07 1:52 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, this is inspirational. I just made this up to get the fitting correct but thought it looked sort of boring when I had finished...but your version rocks!! Thanks for sharing and inspiring me to take this one out again.
12/14/07 11:44 AM
cindyann said...
I adore it, and really like it with the white tee. Great work. Look for another shamless copy. ;)
12/14/07 10:20 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Very nice muslin. I think you look great in it. Can't wait to see this top in your fabric choice! ;-)
12/14/07 10:17 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Cute design changes. I think breaking up that area is a great idea. I think I'll have to copy that one for this summer.
12/14/07 9:43 AM
carolynw said...
I absolutely love your top and you call this amuslin!! And one you will not wear!! I am with everyone else who has said it is lovely -please wear it as you look very nice in it.
12/14/07 9:35 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! Great looking top!
12/14/07 8:12 AM
Babs42 said...
I love it. I don't think the fabric is garish at all. I think it is very fashion forward and looks great!
12/14/07 8:07 AM
ryan's mom said...
I like that style top with the empire line! And while the fabric is not your fave, I'll take it :) ! The bold colors really make it a standout and your version is so much more attractive than the illustration on the pattern envelope or clickable pattern image.
12/14/07 7:37 AM
HeyJane said...
Your neckline design is much better, it makes the whole top more interesting. It looks gorgeous on you! You really should wear it.
12/14/07 7:30 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely colors in the fabric. I like the top!
12/14/07 5:31 AM
OP Gal said...
When I clicked on the photo and saw the top, I thought, "What beautiful fabric." So, I was amazed when I read that you thought it was garish. I think it's gorgeous. Also, I like the design changes you made. It's a lovely top. Thanks for the review.
12/14/07 5:15 AM
Mel.J said...
Not quite 'you' - well, it's not pink is it? ;) (I'd probably wear it though) I LOVE the design changes, particularly for the mesh fabric.
12/14/07 4:48 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, maybe I'm just garish at heart, but I think this looks great on you. As EveS said, it's just plain HAPPY. :o) I like your design changes and, in fact, prefer your version to the one on the envelope. I know what it's like trying to wear something that doesn't feel like "you," but if you can get past that, I'll bet you'd get a lot of compliments on this one if you wore it out and about. And you KNOW I'm never wrong. :o)
12/14/07 4:04 AM
kirianth said...
I like it! But I can see how it'd look quite bright and garish. I'm not sure I'd wear the print either. The design changes, however, I believe I'm going to shamelessly copy. :) The details would also work for an IBTC member by adding some distraction!
12/14/07 3:48 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I love it , but agree it is not really you.
12/14/07 3:31 AM
JDpenelope said...
Great muslin -- I would wear it, garish fabric and all. Thanks for all of your ideas, innovative, as usual.
12/14/07 0:43 AM
rivergum said...
That's a lovely top, Belinda. Beautifully made too, as usual.
12/14/07 0:36 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
I too love your design changes, the fabric, the fit on you, everything! It looks wonderful on you. -Lily
12/13/07 11:40 PM
Lori V said...
Belinda, I love your top, you should wear it. As you have told me, put it in the closet for a week and then bring it back out. I love the design changes. Great job again.
12/13/07 11:09 PM
khurtdvm said...
I think it looks great! That's not my usual style, either, but I would feel resoundingly cheerful wearing it.
12/13/07 10:46 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty top Belinda and well sewn as always.
12/13/07 10:11 PM
cathy45 said...
Love your changes--very fun top.
12/13/07 10:10 PM
EveS said...
This is just plain HAPPY! I must side with the others...a perfect combination of style and fabric, IMO. I would buy this top if I saw it in a store. I'll send you my address if you just can't live with it anymore. ;)
12/13/07 9:54 PM
Karen8320 said...
Belinda, this really looks quite lovely! Certainly not too bright for an Australian summer. Bravo to anyone who makes design changes to make a pattern uniquely theirs - I really like what you've done to this pattern to make it that little bit different. I will look forward to seeing what other variations you make to this.
12/13/07 9:53 PM
mastdenman said...
I think you look great in it. Maybe it needs to spend a while in the back of the closet.
12/13/07 9:50 PM
xtreme1 said...
A lovely top. Much much more attractive than that on the pattern envelope. The sleeves look great in my opinion. I think the fabric pattern, fabric and style all compliment one another.
12/13/07 9:44 PM
BjP said...
It looks great on you! I think you should rethink giving it away - really! I've made this up and really like it but I think I will try opening up the front like you did next time. Great idea!
12/13/07 9:38 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Oh my what pretty fabric! Beautiful top!
12/13/07 9:35 PM
Birgitte said...
What a beautifully made top and I love your alterations- wonderful review!
12/13/07 8:44 PM
ALY said...
It is a gorgeous muslin, The colors aren't too bright for me. I really like the design changes you made.
12/13/07 8:28 PM
Elona said...
What a lovely top! The colors and your sleeve innovation give it an ethereal quality--very unusual.
12/13/07 7:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Other Gertie\'s Book:

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

More Info
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8606

photo
by: Jazzhot

Review