Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5941 (Pants, top, jacket and skirts) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 698 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:jewelea
photo
Friend of PR
About jeweleastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/17/07 11:08 PM
Last Updated:12/17/07 11:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
xtreme1 said...
It's a lovely jacket and I am very keen on the fringing effect - looks terrific.
12/18/07 0:11 AM
Karen8320 said...
Jewelea, wow, this is so lovely! All of the time you've put into it has paid off. You should be more than just pleased with how this has turned out - I am really impressed by what you've done! What lovely colouring in the fabric and using two matching buttons for effect is just perfect. The fringing really gives it a very unique look. Great work!
12/18/07 1:15 AM
Heatherrique said...
Superb detailing! I am very impressing with the colors, fringing, buttons, fit, and style!
12/18/07 2:07 AM
LauraTS said...
What a wonderful fabric and great color, and I love the fringe details.
12/18/07 2:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the extra design touches, also love the colors of this fabric.
12/18/07 5:25 AM
ZeldaDC said...
Looks great - and I can see why the fabric called to you.
12/18/07 7:26 AM
marjenann said...
Absolute perfection!!!!
12/18/07 8:33 AM
LindsayT said...
I am so impressed with all your hard work. Nice job!
12/18/07 8:49 AM
cecelia said...
It's a beautiful jacket. You made some very nice changes which came out well. I love the colors, and the fringe adds a lot to the jacket.
12/18/07 9:23 AM
carolynw said...
jewelea I absolutely love your jacket and went into shock when I saw the pattern you used - I have it - never used it as I didn't think it would amount to much - how very wrong!! I know you made quite a few changes but still the end result is s show stopper from a ho hum pattern!
12/18/07 9:25 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
This is a killer jacket! When I saw the fringed welts, I sat bolt upright in my chair. I'll read your description carefully to see if I can decipher how you did it. Please wear this jacket often; mouths will pop open. -Lily
12/18/07 12:21 PM
EleanorSews said...
Kudos! What an adventure you had, and what a great result! You had a great vision and what perserverance to make it all come true. It is a jacket you should wear often and I hope you do. It is stunning.
12/18/07 12:56 PM
Linda G said...
You did a beautiful job on the jacket. Isn't it rewarding to totally draft something different from a basic pattern?
12/18/07 1:21 PM
BJ1400 said...
Love, love your jacket. Love the button technique, & the fringe & the shawl collar, and the fabric. Looks terrific.
12/18/07 2:48 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This is a beautiful jacket!! And the button technique is wonderful -- thanks for the inspiration.
12/18/07 4:33 PM
Annette1 said...
Very pretty, indeed! I hope you get lots of wear out of your jacket. It deserves it -- ha! I'll be stealing your button idea in the future, too. :o)
12/18/07 7:30 PM
Mahler said...
Bonjour Jewelea, I lllooovvveee your jacket ! I find it original and so tasteful ! I have no doubts that lots of hours were invested in creating ti. All those efforts were worth while, that is certain. Congratulations !
12/18/07 10:44 PM
Nancywin said...
This was a big job! I love what you did with the buttons and all the details. Very nice.
12/19/07 1:45 AM
Grammy Gin said...
What a beautiful jacket! After all the work you put into it, I hope you get to wear it often ;-)
12/19/07 9:37 AM
Membear said...
I love it . You did a great job and should feel very stylish wearing it!!
12/19/07 6:51 PM
ryan's mom said...
Mmmm...that looks like a luscious jacket! Send it my way please :) . The fabric, color, and fringing really make it a standout.
12/20/07 5:16 PM
blue mooney said...
Very cute! The buttons add so much to the effect.
12/20/07 5:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3199
photo
Review by Jali on 6/24/11
Read Review

McCalls 6599 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6599 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3246 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3246 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8805 Misses Dress
photo
Review by DKG on 1/7/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us