SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1003 (Metropolitan Jacket)

Viewed 3939 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/07 8:20 PM
Last Updated:2/3/08 7:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 35 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
74 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nehmah66 said...
This is about 3 years late, but I will keep in mind your caveats, and will definitely make a muslin(s) Thank you for you help, Nehmah66
4/21/12 7:43 AM
CatSari said...
Thank you for a super-detailed review of this pattern. I love your end product.
12/15/09 12:06 PM
EileenJohn said...
I just signed up for Pattern Review as I was on my third muslin for this jacket and could not believe what I was seeing. Sorry I did not sign up to Pattern Review sooner. I did an online search and this is where I ended up. This was an experiment with a new pattern company. I am more well endowed and am still finding oodles of fabric in the bodice front and an enormous armsyce which all translates to not attractive and a lot of fabric to work around. I will review your changes more closely and think about the redrafting of the pattern or contemplating moving on to another style. This has taught me the value of making muslins!
10/18/09 0:20 AM
Selina said...
Wow, fantastic review!! I just bought this pattern from another PR'r, got it in the mail yesterday and was very surprised at the lack of information and how huge the pattern pieces are! Especially those sleeves. You could hide a small child in there! Anyway, you have saved me some serious heartache, for now.... I will save this pattern for when I have some patience and a lot of time to alter it to my liking.
10/16/09 10:36 AM
madronadesign said...
duplicate post deleted
3/23/09 0:02 AM
madronadesign said...
Thank you so much for your educational and inspirational review. And timely too. I was just about to cut out this same pattern. Instead, I compared it to a closefitting jacket that I know fits well - Vogue 2865 - and holy cow, what a difference! And I'm the ideal size 16 in both. In the end, I made a composite pattern, using HPs waistband and collar, and adding some gathers to the vogue pattern pieces. Your advice couldn't have come at a better time! Thanks
3/22/09 8:42 PM
jenquilts said...
I think that buying anything from HP at this point is problematical. I've read several reviews and hardly any are favorable. Plus I've ordered patterns from them that never arrived and they aren't particularly concerned about it. I'd give this company a big miss in future - why bother when there are so many decent patterns like Christine Jonson's to choose from?
1/2/09 8:22 AM
ajhoney24u said...
I agree with Lou05 -- Hot Patterns needs you on their team! Your jacket is FAB, and I hope you rock it with jeans even after you finish the skirt.
10/20/08 2:30 PM
slanden99 said...
Thank you for saving me !7.50 plus shipping. I think I'll take another jacket pattern and alter it to resemble this pattern. I love this style--something I do admire Hotpatterns for is their stylish patterns.
10/10/08 9:37 PM
Lou05 said...
Best review I can think of here at PR. Your details and solutions are so very helpful. You nailed the look and got what I think the designer was after but missed - you look sharp! I like HotPatterns but they need to snap you up as a designer/tester so they put the extra effort into the pattern before it gets to the customer. Fantastic job and it looks absolutely terrific on you - thanks!
7/31/08 12:09 PM
SarahWeb said...
Kay, I've been following your progress on this project and now I feel like opening a bottle of champagne. Your finished jacket is absolutely a stunner. Gorgeous. Too bad you had to go through so much to get there, but perserverence paid off! Thanks for sharing this journey with us.
4/15/08 10:33 AM
Mahler said...
Wonderful, gorgeous and so chic ! I am very much impressed by your skills. really superb !
4/13/08 10:02 PM
kathi s said...
What a beautiful jacket! I really admire your persistance! Your experiance has made me a little leery of Hot Patterns though the styling is very tempting! I am very short and dumpy and I have to be very careful of gathered features.
4/13/08 10:14 AM
Liana said...
Just saw the finished jacket. You've been on quite the odyssey! Beautiful, beautiful outcome, and I love the lining. Your garments always look perfectly fitted, and you certainly know your style. Great job!
4/11/08 11:20 PM
Lori V said...
Incredible jacket and quite a process to get to that point. It looks fantastic.
4/10/08 11:57 PM
ncegbu said...
This is a great jacket! And I admire your persistence with the pattern fitting/drafting issues. I have a few HPs, but I'm still on the fence about trying them out.
4/7/08 1:05 AM
AnneM said...
I adore your jacket. What a fantastic job you did with it. And having just got PMB4, this is something I will have to aspire to.
4/5/08 3:28 PM
Marilly said...
Wow, this is so cool! I am just starting the journey with PMB4 and seeing your process and how self draft recreated the HP is inspiring.
2/24/08 5:58 AM
Soliel said...
Your jacket and pic is one of the best. It's so so stylish, fits you perfectly...WOW! Inspiration.
2/6/08 11:47 AM
Miriam said...
You have a beautiful jacket! I'm glad to see the style works well for you - particularly because of your patience in achieving the fit. I'm virtually lifting a glass of bubbly as a toast to you! Thanks for sharing so many details; the buttons are excellent!
2/5/08 2:56 PM
jlg said...
Wow, this is a wonderful jacket. Congratulations.
2/4/08 5:16 AM
Lady_Mame said...
I love the final result-- great job, very chic.
2/3/08 10:24 PM
Olivia Sews said...
The finished product is excellent!! I have been waiting to see it! Perfect fit and nice lining. The lapels are perfect!
2/3/08 8:57 PM
Sew4Fun said...
WOW, what a marathon! Your PMB version of this jacket is lovely. PMB to the rescue again. :) Thanks for such an extensively detailed review and showing your PMB pattern pieces.
2/3/08 8:55 PM
Linda F said...
Gorgeous jacket. I love it! You tamed the beast. I had made a quick muslin and noticed that there was too much fabric and too low of an armhole on the side. I haven't gone further due to continuing weight loss that is making it difficult to take on a project that would take so much time to make. I am saving it for later and will be referring to this review when I get there. You did a fantastic job!!!!
2/3/08 8:31 PM
CShelley said...
I absolutely love the jacket. Your efforts paid off as it looks awesome on you and it fits like a glove. Good for you for hanging in there with it. Thanks for the review.
2/3/08 8:25 PM
Riordan said...
Your jacket is gorgeous!! The lapels are perfection, as with all of your jackets. The buttons are exquisite. Wonderful review!
2/3/08 8:17 PM
Marji said...
Your ultimate result is fabulous! I'm amazed at what you had to go through to get there though. Thank you so much for documenting the process.
2/3/08 7:34 PM
Julie G said...
I love the look of your first muslin, and would never have looked twice at the pattern based on the illustration. I agree the armhole needs to be raised and it looks like the side seam under the arm (and the sleeve) should be taken in a bit. I would also push the gathers more toward the side seams in the back and then I think it would hang ok there. I'm tempted to try this one based on your first muslin. Although I agree that the drawing looks much more tailored, I like the muslin better. Looks like you're making great progress on drafting it to the look you're after. Good Luck! I appreciate the detailed info.
1/8/08 12:55 PM
CarolynGM said...
removed duplicate comment
1/8/08 8:27 AM
CarolynGM said...
I find your redrafting saga absolutely fascinating -- love the side-by-side comparison pictures of both jackets and the pattern pieces. I'm champing at the bit for the next installment. Can't wait to see what you come up with.
1/8/08 8:25 AM
Marji said...
Kay, I really appreciate all the trouble you're going through to document this process. (and to produce a garment that resembles the illustration) I agree that I'd like to Hot Patterns make it, however, and it is a Big However, as long as their grading presents the problems that you, as an experienced sewist, are encountering, IMHO Hot Patterns is doing nothing to further the craft of sewing. Imagine the frustration that less experienced sewists will encounter. I love your concept of what constitutes a complete package of set of directions for a pattern. Looking forward to further installments.
1/7/08 9:28 PM
SarahWeb said...
Kay, this project and the accompanying descriptions are fascinating to me. I would have dumped the whole thing from the beginning out of frustration. You give me hope that I great style can be had even when the pattern is not sufficient to get there.
1/2/08 3:22 PM
Sandil said...
Kay, I have to say, you've done a great job at fixing the pattern... so far it looks great! I can't wait to see the finished product. Don't stop, you are so close. See you in January. Sandi
1/1/08 4:15 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Hey Kay, I've been lurking in every once in a while and read the comments. Prolly would've tossed this in a trash can early on if it had been mine, the linedrawing and the #1 muslin were so far apart, like talking of pants and skirt as the very same piece of cloth, you have really done great job with the jacket, maybe some softer fabric and some serious pattern srinkage will do the trick, wouldn't dream of making this out of anything as stiff as brocade. I love their drawings and this was also one of my fave's from HP this fall, it's too bad they are not as beautiful actually as the linedrawings suggest, never seen too many good outcomes from their patterns, which is pitty, they're like a fresh breath of spring among the other pattern companies.
1/1/08 3:37 PM
carolynw said...
Kay I think everything that's good has been said already about your work on jacket - I am followign along very carefully and am finding it facinating and very informative
12/31/07 9:11 AM
Annette1 said...
You're making great progress on your jacket! That's very interesting, too, how raising the armholes affected the sleeves. I guess it makes sense, but I wouldn't have thought of that.
12/31/07 2:17 AM
jeanyus said...
I like what you got so far, looks good. The details were too many for me, but I guess helpful to someone trying to alter. Hope all that work pays off for you.
12/31/07 0:34 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Thank you , Thank you, Thank you, for this review...This site is so valuable for this simple purpose, and that is to review patterns (what patterns work for you, and what doesn't). I bought this pattern, along with the entire Metropolitan line. I soon after got the email from Trudy about the fixed waistband. I'll still make up this pattern, but I'll use a muslin first. Thank you Deepika, for this great site.
12/30/07 7:41 PM
blue mooney said...
Wow, I admire you for your perseverance with this project! Looking forward to the next installment.
12/30/07 5:53 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
This is going to be a fabulous jacket. Your perseverance and attention to fit is going to really pay off.
12/30/07 5:18 PM
Linda F said...
I am a bit baffled that about the pattern not looking like the illustration. I think it looks exactly like the illustration, with the exception of the sleeves. The sleeves are wider than drawn. Yes, your waistband is higher than the drawing (it is only a drawing after all), but that is one of those things that is subjective anyway. I always, always have to lower my waistline on everything I make. I bet if you saw me in person, you wouldn't think so. I am only 5'5" tall. We all have our ways of making a pattern work for us. I am happy that you can use the Ginger software to make what your perception is come to fruition. I bought the Ginger software and used it straight for 90 days. I could not get a good fit around my "generously endowed" chest. What works for one does not always for another. It is a good thing that as sewists we all find the solution that works best for our own personal body measurements. I think that everybody needs to keep an open mind.
12/30/07 4:36 PM
bluenines said...
Kay y,, thanks for the update, Wow you have done a lot of work on this jacket in a very short time,, and yes i agree that the pattern should be better drafted for what you paid for it, good for you though on making it work for you.... I think that you are doing a great job! and i cant waite to see the finished jacket,' happy sewing
12/30/07 3:52 PM
michellep74 said...
Interesting comment about how this pattern would maybe work better for someone closer to an HP 16. I'm an HP 14, and this pattern didn't really grab me initially, but even with all of the tinkering you did, just from looking at your muslin, I think this could be a flattering style for my busty figure.
12/30/07 3:44 PM
Sigrid. said...
This is a journey! I like to read your experience with HP. This pattern company became only known to me by the PR-reviews, and sometimes I was tempted to try it. Not any more I must say. But looking forward to your final jacket, after all the trouble you took and based on your other reviews, it will certainly be a success.
12/30/07 3:41 PM
SarahSM said...
I think you are 100% correct:"I suspect it would work better for people who are closer to the base size (16) and are more generously endowed than I am." I fit that description exactly, and HPs work extremely well for me---I've been confused about all of the issues that people have had with these patterns, but it makes sense if I'm making the size that the patterns started from! What a great observation! Thanks for your thoughtful review.
12/30/07 3:20 PM
zora said...
This is a great and very helpful review, thanks for posting it. It's too bad that the pattern differs so much from the drawing it comes with as I really liked the drawing.
12/29/07 3:10 PM
jaeng said...
To me, it came out like a blouse, not a jacket as the illustration. The middle of the bodice on the illustration is much wider, when it came less wide, it does look like a waistband. But I like your muslin better than the illustration, it looks more modern.
12/29/07 11:08 AM
Fran G said...
What a great feature of PR..I didn't know it was available. You pack so much detail into your reviews breaking this one into segments is a great idea.I am looking forward to your next installment.
12/29/07 8:43 AM
Kitty Couture said...
I didn't know one could post WIPs into the pattern reviews! This is so helpful, and thank you for sharing the whole process with us. I am sure your jacket will look fantastic once you're done with it. I really love, love, love this pattern.
12/29/07 6:58 AM
hongkongshopper said...
The drawing of this jacket is so cute yet your muslin does not look like the drawing, does it? Good luck with working it all out.
12/28/07 8:45 PM
trudyamandagemma said...
nancy2001, thanks for editing your original comment where you refer to HotPatterns customers as 'fools'. What's ironic is that we have a huge and enthusiastic customer base. But I know that the vast majority of HotPatterns customers do not and will not post reviews here on PR...wonder why? Trudy from HotPatterns
12/28/07 5:18 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you, Kay, for your very helpful and honest review. It's ironic that Hot Patterns once had a big following here. But as they say, you can't fool all of the people all of the time. (Original comment restored by member on 1/2/2008).
12/28/07 2:26 PM
Soliel said...
Chic and very fun to read about.
12/28/07 12:23 PM
Krista said...
Thanks so much for documenting your efforts! I hope you can salvage this project. I'm also bummed out because I have this pattern on order, and I really wanted to make it, but now..I'm not so sure.
12/28/07 11:16 AM
Nancy K said...
I have seen some of your reviews and you certainly can turn out a beautiful jacket, so your opinion of this pattern carries a good deal of weight imop. I bought this pattern too and I would really hesitate to make it now. Your jacket only bears passing resemblance to the illustration. Which really looks like it has a nice high neat armhole and not so blousy. As illustrated, this looks very different from your muslin. I can't even imagine this in denim! Good luck on your redrafted version. I am thinking that I will right off the cost of this pattern and be glad that someone else tackled it first.
12/28/07 8:59 AM
kismet007 said...
I am changing this comment because I just cut out this pattern to play with it and see if there was a way to alter it to reflect the picture on the envelope. I would have to say that I would not begin to attempt it. I think I would be better off altering another pattern with a good fit and basic shape. How dissapointing.
12/28/07 6:44 AM
CarolynGM said...
Such a helpful and pertinent inaugural use of the new Work in Process feature. I'm anxious to see how you go about drafting your own pattern to look like the line drawing. In the meantime, I won't be tempted to buy this pattern as I am shaped much like you on top and would doubtless have the same issues.
12/28/07 6:10 AM
davin said...
thanks for pointing out the lack of basic info. in Hot Patterns. Also, the older patterns (don't know about the current ones) don't give amts. of fabric needed, which you need, if you're looking for a pattern to suit fabric you already have! I'm eagerly awaiting the rest of your adventure. Thanks
12/28/07 1:46 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the heads up on this pattern! Your jacket looks great from what I see!
12/28/07 1:41 AM
Athene said...
A pleasure reading your WIP. I really appreciate your reviews - you tell it like it is.
12/27/07 11:46 PM
Annette1 said...
Cool! Yours is the first "work in progress" review I've seen. As for this jacket, well, first of all, I wouldn't even have recognized it from the pattern illustration. I never trust illustrations. I think they too often idealize the pattern, as well as the model. I certainly like the concept of this jacket though. I love the center back gathers, but not the way it pulls to the back, as you pointed out. And the low armholes would absolutely put me OVER THE EDGE. I know ONE thing, though: Before it's all said and done, your jacket will be PERFECTION. That's just the way you are. :o) Soldier on!!
12/27/07 11:19 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks for such a thorough review of your WIP. It was very helpful. I'm looking forward to your PMB version. The 2nd redrafting stage is very familar to me. :(
12/27/07 11:10 PM
Olivia Sews said...
I recently purchased this pattern so I'm really interested in how you fix these problems with it. 12/30 - Just viewed your version 2 and it looks alot better!! Thank you so much for sharing your efforts!
12/27/07 10:39 PM
Re Becca said...
I have been eyeing this pattern as I have seen several similar jackets. I like the drawing, but the garment looks like a tunic. How do you plan to raise the armscye and take up the fullness without completely redrafting the top? If they originally included a waist inset that was too big, perhaps they did the same thing with the rest of the top.
12/27/07 10:22 PM
cabinbaby said...
Thanks for the thorough review! I am excited to see your finished product.
12/27/07 9:54 PM
Lori V said...
I wish you great luck with this jacket, I am sure you will make a stunning garment. I love the Anthro jacket and yours will be even better. Thanks for the pictures, they were quite helpful to see the low armhole and gathers.
12/27/07 9:42 PM
janlorraine said...
I am interested to read your commentary about this pattern because, in spite of other reviews and all the hype about HotPatterns, I have never felt that they were well designed. I agree with all of your assessments about the fulsomeness of the gathers. I doubt you will be able to make much of this garment without completely re cutting some of the pieces. And I doubt if, in the end, it will be worth the trouble. Best wishes. If anybody can make a go of this, I think it must be you.
12/27/07 9:28 PM
Diane E said...
Kay, you are a mindreader...... I was just wondering about the "work in progress feature" and here comes yours! I am so grateful to you for taking the time to write up your experiences with this jacket project. Given your fabulous contributions in the past, I am hanging on every word. Wow, that armscye is drafted for Conan. I love the Anthropologie jacket and I hope you end up with something even lovelier than that (although at US$118 it's looking mighty tempting..... I anxiously await your next installment.
12/27/07 9:08 PM
Puppy said...
And, why does that woman in the pattern drawing look so mad!? Or do all the Hot Patterns gals look that way?
12/27/07 8:57 PM
Puppy said...
It will be fun to see your finished product. The basic concept of the design is very, very appealing; I really like the bodice design, but agree with you that there seems to be a bit of an overwhelming amount of gathers at the top. And then, I would like to use your comments about drawing "issues" to say that I wish pattern companies would do more photography and avoid highly stylized drawings....we're sewing here, for heaven sakes, so we need to accurate representations of what we're going to end up with!
12/27/07 8:52 PM
cindy-lou said...
Wow, this review was so helpful to read! I'll tune in to the next installment too. LOVE the Anthro jacket that you're copying!
12/27/07 8:41 PM
marjenann said...
Hmm!!! I think you have your work cut out for you!! Interesting, you found a major mistake in the waist inset!! Yikes!
12/27/07 8:38 PM
crazygrad said...
well, I will wish you luck. I'm sure it will be fab.
12/27/07 8:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 2648

photo
by: wildberrym...

Review
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Master Pattern Book Alabama Sewing/Design

photo
by: devviePuu

Review