Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2007-128 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 654 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo
About blue mooneystarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/07 7:49 PM
Last Updated:12/29/07 7:49 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in Austin said...
Oh my, but this is lovely lovely lovely! What a perfect garment for you.
12/29/07 7:58 PM
Debbie Cook said...
This is GORGEOUS! I had my eye on that pattern too, but haven't gone further than that. Now I'm motivated again.
12/29/07 7:59 PM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely! I've worked with ultrasuede on many occasions and it's lovely. The color and detailing of your jacket is beautiful!
12/29/07 8:01 PM
tomed said...
Beautiful jacket!!
12/29/07 8:33 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This jacket is really something to be proud of. Great job.
12/29/07 9:11 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Wow - worth all that effort.
12/29/07 9:13 PM
lmg said...
Oooh but the time spent was worth it. It is gorgeous, the color, the snaps, the execution. Wow.
12/29/07 11:37 PM
007gurl said...
Great jacket. Love the color and detail stitching.
12/29/07 11:43 PM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous jacket! I bet this looks wonderful on you. Great job with the ultrasuede.
12/30/07 7:44 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wow and wow. Your ultrasuede jacket is perfect. I'm sure you'll get many compliments.
12/30/07 10:04 AM
Rebecca D said...
This turned out wonderfully. Any chance of a picture on you? Thanks for reviewing this pattern, which caught my eye when the mag came out.
12/30/07 10:28 AM
cecelia said...
This is beautiful--I love the color ultrasuede that you chose, and the lines of the jacket are so stylish.
12/30/07 11:04 AM
marjenann said...
Absolute perfection!! It was definitely worth the hassle!!!
12/30/07 11:08 AM
Irene Q said...
BEAUTIFUL jacket!! I agree - the pattern has great lines and doesn't need the draped details. And I didn't notice the curve on the breast pockets - very nice detail. Thanks so much for reviewing this!
12/30/07 11:16 AM
MichelleE said...
Stunning! I would love to see a picture of the back, too. Your stitching looks incredible, by the way!
12/30/07 11:59 AM
LauraLo said...
Beautiful jacket! The fabric and color are gorgeous too.
12/30/07 1:25 PM
Sherril Miller said...
What a wonderfully done project. It looks very RTW and the quality is even better. I'd love to see you wearing it.
12/30/07 2:41 PM
cmarie12 said...
Robyn - this is absolutely freakin' amazing! And so worth all of the hardwork! I thought the snaps were part of the original plan not an add-on...cause they just fit the jacket so perfectly! Beautiful, stunning, wonderful!!!!
12/30/07 2:42 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Perfection to a "T". Everything about the jacket is beautiful ;-)
12/30/07 3:10 PM
Sheila457 said...
A fabulous jacket and the color is gorgeous.
12/30/07 4:48 PM
blue mooney said...
Thanks for the compliments, y'all! I made some pants to go with this jacket. I'll get the spouse to make a photo of me of the whole ensemble when I review the britches and update this review with a photo of the back, too.
12/30/07 5:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive!
12/30/07 7:17 PM
Jane S said...
I liked this design when I saw it in BWOF and am impressed with how well your ultra-suede version turned out. Thanks for such a thorough review. I've never worked with ultrasuede so it's interesting to hear about it.
12/30/07 8:08 PM
OP Gal said...
Yes, it is worth all the cursing. It's beautiful. Kudos for tackling ultrasuade, I haven't been that brave yet. Good review.
12/30/07 10:51 PM
BettyMike said...
Wonderful jacket, and I bet it looks fabulous on you! Excellent job.
12/31/07 6:35 PM
merry-one said...
Your jacket is perfect, love the way it all came together.
1/1/08 11:05 AM
Frogstitcher said...
I missed this review - don't know how that happened. Wow, this is fantastic! I was just looking at this pattern but unfortunately this isn't drafted for my size. I was so excited to see that someone (you) had so successfully made a stunning version, I love it.
1/5/08 8:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 5624
photo
Review by Creative L... on 10/13/10
Read Review

McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3529 Jackets
photo
Review by CynthiaSue on 4/30/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us