SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7855 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1034 times 
Reviewed by:mylittleelephant
photo

 
 
About mylittleelephantstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/07 9:41 AM
Last Updated:1/1/08 1:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SarahSM said...
Nice coat! I love the detail on the cuffs and the seaming... Just gorgeous.
1/1/08 1:43 PM
Riordan said...
Your coat is beautiful!! Great pattern. You MUST reconsider your "beginner" level--your skills are more advanced!
1/1/08 1:46 PM
mrs quickly said...
Beautiful coat. Love the addition of the belt and vintage buckle. Thanks for the review. I was just looking at this pattern the other day and toying with the idea of making a long coat for myself since I can't find anything in the stores. All the RTW coats are 3/4 length or shorter. Not a good look with a longer skirt.
1/1/08 2:05 PM
Sigrid. said...
Perfect coat. I agree with Riordan that I think your sewing level is more than "beginner". Great work.
1/1/08 2:27 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a beautiful coat! I agree with Riiordan, you're more advanced than a beginner! Great job!!!!
1/1/08 2:35 PM
christine A said...
very nice, great job!!
1/1/08 4:28 PM
gaby said...
Look at all your pattern modifications! It makes it that much more special. I agree with the other ladies, you are no longer a beginner, you are doing an excellent job! Your jacket looks outstanding!
1/1/08 4:58 PM
Linda G said...
Wow you did a beautiful job. I love the color, the style the workmanship, everything about the coat.
1/1/08 5:07 PM
Sheila457 said...
Totally love the coat and to think you are a beginner.
1/1/08 6:04 PM
Betsybobbin said...
What a lovely coat and what a great sewing job you did! I enjoyed your review. thanks!
1/1/08 6:23 PM
marjenann said...
Fantastic workmanship!! I love everything about this coat!!!
1/1/08 7:29 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, what a wonderful coat. Your details made it even more special, truly a custom design. I especially love the belt you added and the undercollar contrast. Bravo!
1/1/08 8:18 PM
Lori V said...
Your jacket is beautiful.
1/1/08 10:40 PM
speedythemouse said...
this is really nice work, great coat! I've got a piece of cashmere laid up for a coat and havn't started it yet. Could you tell me how you did your button holes?
1/1/08 11:48 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Thanks everyone! And Izzy,I have done buttonholes by hand-sewing, only because my beloved old sewing machine has no buttonhole function.
1/2/08 9:48 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your stitching is beautiful and the lines of the coat really show it off. You've done a fabulous job. You certainly aren't a beginner anymore. Congratulations.
1/2/08 10:13 AM
crisford said...
Just beautiful and very inspiring!
1/2/08 11:58 AM
Hilary said...
Your coat turned out beautifully-well done! And as others have said, if you can make a coat this gorgeous, you definitely aren't a beginner!! :o)
1/2/08 2:26 PM
morzel said...
Great coat!
1/2/08 3:17 PM
CatMukai said...
I am jealous! The coat is great and I can't believe you did the buttonholes by hand! I admire you
1/4/08 7:53 PM
Jan B. said...
Simply gorgeous. You have natural talent. Your skills are far above a beginner!!
1/5/08 11:32 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you everyone, lovely to come back to check this review, to find more compliments! I have changed myself to "Advanced Beginner" now, I must be feeling more confident after receiving comments in PR. You guys are giving me such a encouragement, thank you so much again!
1/28/08 7:55 AM
FreckleHead said...
Beautiful job! Very Inspiring. I have always wanted a fancy long coat, and this review is a great help. I love the lining, too!
8/24/08 2:53 AM
javanh said...
Excellent job, beautiful coat, you have enspired me to sew myself a new coat our of chocolate brown wool. I love the classic lines.
10/19/08 1:17 PM
MaggieBob said...
I have a Burda pattern that is essentially identical to this - the difference is that it is a plus-size pattern. My pattern has patch pockets, and I am not crazy about patch pockets. From the photo, it looks like you made your coat with inseam pockets. Was this another style change you made or did the pattern provide for this type of pocket. If a style change, how did you do it??
11/16/08 6:49 PM
RachelStonebreaker said...
I loved all of your additions! You've inspired me to go a little beyond the pattern and add some extras like you did. I especially liked the reverse fabric on the under-collar and the piping on the lining. Very nice touches.
5/22/13 9:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 4076

photo
by: Karen2931

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now