SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7855 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1038 times 
Reviewed by:mylittleelephant
photo

 
 
About mylittleelephantstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/07 9:41 AM
Last Updated:1/1/08 1:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RachelStonebreaker said...
I loved all of your additions! You've inspired me to go a little beyond the pattern and add some extras like you did. I especially liked the reverse fabric on the under-collar and the piping on the lining. Very nice touches.
5/22/13 9:44 AM
MaggieBob said...
I have a Burda pattern that is essentially identical to this - the difference is that it is a plus-size pattern. My pattern has patch pockets, and I am not crazy about patch pockets. From the photo, it looks like you made your coat with inseam pockets. Was this another style change you made or did the pattern provide for this type of pocket. If a style change, how did you do it??
11/16/08 6:49 PM
javanh said...
Excellent job, beautiful coat, you have enspired me to sew myself a new coat our of chocolate brown wool. I love the classic lines.
10/19/08 1:17 PM
FreckleHead said...
Beautiful job! Very Inspiring. I have always wanted a fancy long coat, and this review is a great help. I love the lining, too!
8/24/08 2:53 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you everyone, lovely to come back to check this review, to find more compliments! I have changed myself to "Advanced Beginner" now, I must be feeling more confident after receiving comments in PR. You guys are giving me such a encouragement, thank you so much again!
1/28/08 7:55 AM
Jan B. said...
Simply gorgeous. You have natural talent. Your skills are far above a beginner!!
1/5/08 11:32 PM
CatMukai said...
I am jealous! The coat is great and I can't believe you did the buttonholes by hand! I admire you
1/4/08 7:53 PM
morzel said...
Great coat!
1/2/08 3:17 PM
Hilary said...
Your coat turned out beautifully-well done! And as others have said, if you can make a coat this gorgeous, you definitely aren't a beginner!! :o)
1/2/08 2:26 PM
crisford said...
Just beautiful and very inspiring!
1/2/08 11:58 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your stitching is beautiful and the lines of the coat really show it off. You've done a fabulous job. You certainly aren't a beginner anymore. Congratulations.
1/2/08 10:13 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Thanks everyone! And Izzy,I have done buttonholes by hand-sewing, only because my beloved old sewing machine has no buttonhole function.
1/2/08 9:48 AM
speedythemouse said...
this is really nice work, great coat! I've got a piece of cashmere laid up for a coat and havn't started it yet. Could you tell me how you did your button holes?
1/1/08 11:48 PM
Lori V said...
Your jacket is beautiful.
1/1/08 10:40 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, what a wonderful coat. Your details made it even more special, truly a custom design. I especially love the belt you added and the undercollar contrast. Bravo!
1/1/08 8:18 PM
marjenann said...
Fantastic workmanship!! I love everything about this coat!!!
1/1/08 7:29 PM
Betsybobbin said...
What a lovely coat and what a great sewing job you did! I enjoyed your review. thanks!
1/1/08 6:23 PM
Sheila457 said...
Totally love the coat and to think you are a beginner.
1/1/08 6:04 PM
Linda G said...
Wow you did a beautiful job. I love the color, the style the workmanship, everything about the coat.
1/1/08 5:07 PM
gaby said...
Look at all your pattern modifications! It makes it that much more special. I agree with the other ladies, you are no longer a beginner, you are doing an excellent job! Your jacket looks outstanding!
1/1/08 4:58 PM
christine A said...
very nice, great job!!
1/1/08 4:28 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a beautiful coat! I agree with Riiordan, you're more advanced than a beginner! Great job!!!!
1/1/08 2:35 PM
Sigrid. said...
Perfect coat. I agree with Riordan that I think your sewing level is more than "beginner". Great work.
1/1/08 2:27 PM
mrs quickly said...
Beautiful coat. Love the addition of the belt and vintage buckle. Thanks for the review. I was just looking at this pattern the other day and toying with the idea of making a long coat for myself since I can't find anything in the stores. All the RTW coats are 3/4 length or shorter. Not a good look with a longer skirt.
1/1/08 2:05 PM
Riordan said...
Your coat is beautiful!! Great pattern. You MUST reconsider your "beginner" level--your skills are more advanced!
1/1/08 1:46 PM
SarahSM said...
Nice coat! I love the detail on the cuffs and the seaming... Just gorgeous.
1/1/08 1:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Simplicity 2012

photo
by: Bendy

Review
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

More Info
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

More Info