SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-114 (Jacket with lapel collar)

1 more reviews
Viewed 981 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
Netherlands
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 137 people
patterns reviewed: 145
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/07 3:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elle D said...
Hi Sigrid, what a beautiful jacket. I was so happy to find your review because this is the pattern that I am using for Shannon's Speed Tailoring class which is taking place now. Can you give details on how you did an FBA? It looks as though the princess seams don't go over the bust point so I was wondering if increasing the bust curve on the side front piece would be sufficient. Thanks, Elle
2/18/09 9:30 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Love the fabric and pattern.
1/7/08 5:10 PM
Nancy K said...
Fabulous! Beautiful fabric and great fit and finish.
1/7/08 4:17 PM
merry-one said...
Beautiful!!
1/1/08 10:55 AM
So So said...
Beautiful work!
1/1/08 10:44 AM
Nancywin said...
Sigrid - I'm so proud of you for finishing your jacket. I almost never have a UFO, so when I get back from vacation, my snf jacket will be the first thing I tackle. Yours turned out great!
1/1/08 3:54 AM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a beautiful jacket. Your workmanship is suberb.
12/31/07 7:54 PM
Debra H said...
Excellent job! I wanted so much to use this pattern for a fabric I just ordered, but alas...not enough fabric. But thanks for the helpful information for future projects.
12/31/07 2:31 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Wow! What a beautiful jacket - to be proud of. Inside looks as professional as the outside. ;-)
12/31/07 12:26 PM
cindyann said...
Very, very nice! Thanks for the great review.
12/31/07 12:13 PM
Marji said...
Great looking jacket and the fit is excellent.
12/31/07 9:45 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely looking jacket - everything about it is so attractive and well done
12/31/07 9:13 AM
Elemenopeo said...
CLassy.
12/31/07 8:44 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket!
12/31/07 6:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket, turned out nicely using Stitch and Flip.
12/31/07 5:34 AM
Lori V said...
I really like the collar and neckline of this jacket. Great job.
12/31/07 5:09 AM
trinicity said...
I love it, it looks great on you
12/31/07 4:18 AM
Annette1 said...
SO pretty, Sigrid. I guess it sounds kind of strange, but I really like the BACK of this jacket. :o) It has such a nice cut, and you achieved a great fit, too. Beautiful!
12/31/07 2:04 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Amazing!
12/31/07 0:03 AM
Aixoise said...
Splendid jacket with excellent fit and a lot of style. I, too, enjoyed reading your blog and discovering your Christmas traditions.
12/30/07 9:00 PM
MissCelie said...
Marvelous dahling! Marvelous! That fit is great and nips you in all the right places. The inside looks as good as the out!
12/30/07 8:35 PM
2BSewing said...
This is beautiful! Well done.
12/30/07 8:25 PM
Shura said...
This jacket is so beautiful, and it looks great on you. Congrats!
12/30/07 8:00 PM
Heatherrique said...
Glamourous style and impeccable fit!
12/30/07 7:18 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Wow it is fabulous!!!! Nice work!
12/30/07 7:14 PM
Seaspur said...
Lovely jacket. Will have to check out your blog.
12/30/07 6:42 PM
sewbehind said...
Sigrid, love the nice open neckline and the back silhouette. Great job.
12/30/07 6:32 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very elegant jacket, and very helpful review. And you're absolutely right about BWOF's consistently good fit.
12/30/07 6:18 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Lovely jacket, and lovely work.
12/30/07 6:03 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful, stylish jacket. I love the SNF method.
12/30/07 5:25 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
This is an exquisite jacket: wonderful fabric, excellent fit, and fine workmanship.
12/30/07 5:16 PM
Linda G said...
Your jacket is beautiful. Thanks for the review, I like this both as a coat and a jacket but made neither because I could not decide if the jacket would be too big or the coat too tight, you answered my questions. Good review.
12/30/07 5:08 PM
blue mooney said...
Nice stylish jacket, and it does fit you very well!
12/30/07 5:07 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Your jacket is so much nicer than the magazine illustration and looks much more fitted than the line drawing depicts. It's simply fabulous.
12/30/07 4:52 PM
Kay Y said...
Your jacket is beautiful - love the fabric! I flagged this pattern for myself too, so it's nice to see a review of it.
12/30/07 4:34 PM
SarahSM said...
Lovely jacket---the fit is great on you, and I love the way the collar and neckline turned out.
12/30/07 4:33 PM
cecelia said...
Sigrid, you got a lovely fit on this. The jacket is beautiful on you. Did you just bind the facings or "tack" them down somehow? Just curious since I took the class too.
12/30/07 4:10 PM
marjenann said...
Very chic and stylish ! I really enjoyed your blog showing the progress of your jacket, it is extremely helpful and interesting!!
12/30/07 3:51 PM
Dei said...
Let me be the first to tell you that the jacket looks wonderful. Love the fabric and the neckline compliments you.
12/30/07 3:51 PM
michellep74 said...
Very nice-looking jacket. I really like the collar/neckline!
12/30/07 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6659

photo
by: facesunder...

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now