Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2007-114 (Jacket with lapel collar) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 978 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/07 3:28 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Very nice-looking jacket. I really like the collar/neckline!
12/30/07 3:47 PM
Dei said...
Let me be the first to tell you that the jacket looks wonderful. Love the fabric and the neckline compliments you.
12/30/07 3:51 PM
marjenann said...
Very chic and stylish ! I really enjoyed your blog showing the progress of your jacket, it is extremely helpful and interesting!!
12/30/07 3:51 PM
cecelia said...
Sigrid, you got a lovely fit on this. The jacket is beautiful on you. Did you just bind the facings or "tack" them down somehow? Just curious since I took the class too.
12/30/07 4:10 PM
SarahSM said...
Lovely jacket---the fit is great on you, and I love the way the collar and neckline turned out.
12/30/07 4:33 PM
Kay Y said...
Your jacket is beautiful - love the fabric! I flagged this pattern for myself too, so it's nice to see a review of it.
12/30/07 4:34 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Your jacket is so much nicer than the magazine illustration and looks much more fitted than the line drawing depicts. It's simply fabulous.
12/30/07 4:52 PM
blue mooney said...
Nice stylish jacket, and it does fit you very well!
12/30/07 5:07 PM
Linda G said...
Your jacket is beautiful. Thanks for the review, I like this both as a coat and a jacket but made neither because I could not decide if the jacket would be too big or the coat too tight, you answered my questions. Good review.
12/30/07 5:08 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
This is an exquisite jacket: wonderful fabric, excellent fit, and fine workmanship.
12/30/07 5:16 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful, stylish jacket. I love the SNF method.
12/30/07 5:25 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Lovely jacket, and lovely work.
12/30/07 6:03 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very elegant jacket, and very helpful review. And you're absolutely right about BWOF's consistently good fit.
12/30/07 6:18 PM
sewbehind said...
Sigrid, love the nice open neckline and the back silhouette. Great job.
12/30/07 6:32 PM
Seaspur said...
Lovely jacket. Will have to check out your blog.
12/30/07 6:42 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Wow it is fabulous!!!! Nice work!
12/30/07 7:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Glamourous style and impeccable fit!
12/30/07 7:18 PM
Shura said...
This jacket is so beautiful, and it looks great on you. Congrats!
12/30/07 8:00 PM
2BSewing said...
This is beautiful! Well done.
12/30/07 8:25 PM
MissCelie said...
Marvelous dahling! Marvelous! That fit is great and nips you in all the right places. The inside looks as good as the out!
12/30/07 8:35 PM
Aixoise said...
Splendid jacket with excellent fit and a lot of style. I, too, enjoyed reading your blog and discovering your Christmas traditions.
12/30/07 9:00 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Amazing!
12/31/07 0:03 AM
Annette1 said...
SO pretty, Sigrid. I guess it sounds kind of strange, but I really like the BACK of this jacket. :o) It has such a nice cut, and you achieved a great fit, too. Beautiful!
12/31/07 2:04 AM
trinicity said...
I love it, it looks great on you
12/31/07 4:18 AM
Lori V said...
I really like the collar and neckline of this jacket. Great job.
12/31/07 5:09 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket, turned out nicely using Stitch and Flip.
12/31/07 5:34 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket!
12/31/07 6:02 AM
Elemenopeo said...
CLassy.
12/31/07 8:44 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely looking jacket - everything about it is so attractive and well done
12/31/07 9:13 AM
Marji said...
Great looking jacket and the fit is excellent.
12/31/07 9:45 AM
cindyann said...
Very, very nice! Thanks for the great review.
12/31/07 12:13 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Wow! What a beautiful jacket - to be proud of. Inside looks as professional as the outside. ;-)
12/31/07 12:26 PM
Debra H said...
Excellent job! I wanted so much to use this pattern for a fabric I just ordered, but alas...not enough fabric. But thanks for the helpful information for future projects.
12/31/07 2:31 PM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a beautiful jacket. Your workmanship is suberb.
12/31/07 7:54 PM
Nancywin said...
Sigrid - I'm so proud of you for finishing your jacket. I almost never have a UFO, so when I get back from vacation, my snf jacket will be the first thing I tackle. Yours turned out great!
1/1/08 3:54 AM
So So said...
Beautiful work!
1/1/08 10:44 AM
merry-one said...
Beautiful!!
1/1/08 10:55 AM
Nancy K said...
Fabulous! Beautiful fabric and great fit and finish.
1/7/08 4:17 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Love the fabric and pattern.
1/7/08 5:10 PM
Elle D said...
Hi Sigrid, what a beautiful jacket. I was so happy to find your review because this is the pattern that I am using for Shannon's Speed Tailoring class which is taking place now. Can you give details on how you did an FBA? It looks as though the princess seams don't go over the bust point so I was wondering if increasing the bust curve on the side front piece would be sufficient. Thanks, Elle
2/18/09 9:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 4668 Bag
photo
Review by Allisonsew... on 5/15/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6357
photo
Review by lovenicky on 8/21/10
Read Review

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us