SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8408 (Princess seam dress w/Collar)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1533 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/08 10:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Cute dress! Great idea with the belt and it really looks good with the dress.
1/2/08 11:13 AM
Annette1 said...
Wow, I LOVE this outfit, and it looks so nice on you. Beautiful workmanship. I love your belt, too!
1/2/08 12:33 PM
marjenann said...
Love this dress on you!! That collar is a standout! And the fabric is very fashion forward too!
1/2/08 12:46 PM
sewbehind said...
I like that on you! Looking forward to seeing your backlog posted. Very nice.
1/2/08 1:14 PM
MissCelie said...
I love plaid and the belt is adorable. Yippee for a dramatic collar!
1/2/08 1:25 PM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, great dress. Cute boots too.
1/2/08 3:19 PM
Tiner W said...
I LOVE this dress! Every time I look at the Vogue catalog, I stop at this pattern. That collar is so dramatic. So far I've talked myself out of it each time. Next time it'll come home with me!
1/2/08 4:09 PM
Linda G said...
Darling dress, yes the pin as on the collar improves the design, great job. I love the colors and the plaid.
1/2/08 7:06 PM
Lisa Merry said...
Very cute dress!! I like the belt too and that's a good idea to make the ring re-usable.
1/2/08 8:48 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Love it.
1/2/08 9:14 PM
SarahSM said...
Very cool dress---it really suits you!
1/2/08 9:38 PM
N_Vogue said...
Beautiful dress! I, too, have this pattern and now can't wait to get started on it. Love the fabric, too!!
1/2/08 11:55 PM
LorelleD said...
Great dress on you. I like what you did with the belt and the addition of the antique pin.
1/3/08 0:57 AM
EveS said...
Glad to see you back! LOVE this dress!!! Seriously. Everything about it. It was worth the wait! ;)
1/3/08 1:10 AM
Erica B. said...
Cute dress! I love the belt.
1/3/08 2:24 AM
ggexpansive said...
i love it you did a great job, and 4hrs wow:)
1/3/08 2:48 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Welcome back! Luv the contrast nice touch! Great review
1/3/08 3:37 AM
jillnjosh said...
It looks great. The bias belt really adds to the look. The collar is reversed from the Vogue website image - did you reverse it, is it optional, or did they just put up a backward image? TIA, Jill
1/3/08 3:58 AM
Grammy Gin said...
You look so cute in this dress! I love the collar & what you did with the belt. ;-)
1/3/08 9:04 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice dress - have been wondering where you were!
1/3/08 9:18 AM
Kellie R. said...
Wowee wow wow! You did a great job! Thanks for the detailed review!
1/3/08 9:21 AM
cmarie12 said...
The belt really makes the dress sing. I love how you cut the belt fabric on the bias and your ring idea. It was a cute dress but the belt really kicks it up several notches - to me!
1/3/08 12:53 PM
edupraz said...
I've been meaning to sew this dress, but I haven't gotten around to it just yet. I was envisioning a sweater-like wool, but I love the plaid you chose!
1/3/08 3:54 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you so much everyone for the nice comments! They make me feel all warm and fuzzy. Jill-HA! I totally didn't realize I'd put the collar on the wrong way. Both the collar and neckline are symmetrical so It doesn't actually make any difference, just personal preference I guess. Not that I can say I made a conscious decision to do it opposite theirs...but as with all my mistakes, I'll call it a design feature.
1/3/08 6:56 PM
Heatherrique said...
There you are Ms Kidman! I see that you have been away, probably filming on vacation, etc. You brought pizazz to this dress. I plan to write to Vogue in order that your picture be on the envelope. It's worth a try! The brooch. belt, and the boots (and another "B", NiceGirl's Beauty and I do not lie!!!!) make the look more interesting!
1/3/08 8:20 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Another beautiful dress from you! And it never ceases to amaze me the fabric bargains you can get in the US. Can I tell you, in the UK/Ireland we pay a FORTUNE for fabric! But it's still better to have something original than chainstore....... Love your reviews as always.
1/11/08 6:52 AM
cindy-lou said...
Trena, I missed this review the first time! But now I'm totally entranced by this dress. I think it's becoming a new mission for me: 'Must-Make-Dress. Must-Use-Wool-Plaid-From-Paron's. Need-Dress. Can't-Stop. Must-Make-Dress.' You look like a serious stick of dynamite in this one! :)
1/23/08 9:09 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Stunning
4/4/08 8:06 AM
HLT said...
I love this pattern. Great Job!! The belt that you made totally works. I'm just starting out in this pattern. The contrast bias tape is a great idea!
7/24/08 8:21 PM
Aunt Gail said...
WOW what a great review ...and the pictures you were so wonderful to include really helped me visualize the making of the dress - rather than just looking at the Vogue pix and the line drawing. I was especially curious about the whole under the arm zipper. Your picture TRULY helped. I'm not sure I'll end up making the pattern, but I definitely am going to purchase it. Hugs and once more - Very Helpful Review
8/2/08 2:06 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Really dig the matching belt and how to re-use the belt ring. (I came back to say that!)
8/21/08 1:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

New Look 6120

photo
by: Victoria B

Review
McCall's 6167

photo
by: knitmachin...

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now