SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8408 (Princess seam dress w/Collar)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1533 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/08 10:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Katharine in BXL said...
Really dig the matching belt and how to re-use the belt ring. (I came back to say that!)
8/21/08 1:13 PM
Aunt Gail said...
WOW what a great review ...and the pictures you were so wonderful to include really helped me visualize the making of the dress - rather than just looking at the Vogue pix and the line drawing. I was especially curious about the whole under the arm zipper. Your picture TRULY helped. I'm not sure I'll end up making the pattern, but I definitely am going to purchase it. Hugs and once more - Very Helpful Review
8/2/08 2:06 AM
HLT said...
I love this pattern. Great Job!! The belt that you made totally works. I'm just starting out in this pattern. The contrast bias tape is a great idea!
7/24/08 8:21 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Stunning
4/4/08 8:06 AM
cindy-lou said...
Trena, I missed this review the first time! But now I'm totally entranced by this dress. I think it's becoming a new mission for me: 'Must-Make-Dress. Must-Use-Wool-Plaid-From-Paron's. Need-Dress. Can't-Stop. Must-Make-Dress.' You look like a serious stick of dynamite in this one! :)
1/23/08 9:09 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Another beautiful dress from you! And it never ceases to amaze me the fabric bargains you can get in the US. Can I tell you, in the UK/Ireland we pay a FORTUNE for fabric! But it's still better to have something original than chainstore....... Love your reviews as always.
1/11/08 6:52 AM
Heatherrique said...
There you are Ms Kidman! I see that you have been away, probably filming on vacation, etc. You brought pizazz to this dress. I plan to write to Vogue in order that your picture be on the envelope. It's worth a try! The brooch. belt, and the boots (and another "B", NiceGirl's Beauty and I do not lie!!!!) make the look more interesting!
1/3/08 8:20 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you so much everyone for the nice comments! They make me feel all warm and fuzzy. Jill-HA! I totally didn't realize I'd put the collar on the wrong way. Both the collar and neckline are symmetrical so It doesn't actually make any difference, just personal preference I guess. Not that I can say I made a conscious decision to do it opposite theirs...but as with all my mistakes, I'll call it a design feature.
1/3/08 6:56 PM
edupraz said...
I've been meaning to sew this dress, but I haven't gotten around to it just yet. I was envisioning a sweater-like wool, but I love the plaid you chose!
1/3/08 3:54 PM
cmarie12 said...
The belt really makes the dress sing. I love how you cut the belt fabric on the bias and your ring idea. It was a cute dress but the belt really kicks it up several notches - to me!
1/3/08 12:53 PM
Kellie R. said...
Wowee wow wow! You did a great job! Thanks for the detailed review!
1/3/08 9:21 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice dress - have been wondering where you were!
1/3/08 9:18 AM
Grammy Gin said...
You look so cute in this dress! I love the collar & what you did with the belt. ;-)
1/3/08 9:04 AM
jillnjosh said...
It looks great. The bias belt really adds to the look. The collar is reversed from the Vogue website image - did you reverse it, is it optional, or did they just put up a backward image? TIA, Jill
1/3/08 3:58 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Welcome back! Luv the contrast nice touch! Great review
1/3/08 3:37 AM
ggexpansive said...
i love it you did a great job, and 4hrs wow:)
1/3/08 2:48 AM
Erica B. said...
Cute dress! I love the belt.
1/3/08 2:24 AM
EveS said...
Glad to see you back! LOVE this dress!!! Seriously. Everything about it. It was worth the wait! ;)
1/3/08 1:10 AM
LorelleD said...
Great dress on you. I like what you did with the belt and the addition of the antique pin.
1/3/08 0:57 AM
N_Vogue said...
Beautiful dress! I, too, have this pattern and now can't wait to get started on it. Love the fabric, too!!
1/2/08 11:55 PM
SarahSM said...
Very cool dress---it really suits you!
1/2/08 9:38 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Love it.
1/2/08 9:14 PM
Lisa Merry said...
Very cute dress!! I like the belt too and that's a good idea to make the ring re-usable.
1/2/08 8:48 PM
Linda G said...
Darling dress, yes the pin as on the collar improves the design, great job. I love the colors and the plaid.
1/2/08 7:06 PM
Tiner W said...
I LOVE this dress! Every time I look at the Vogue catalog, I stop at this pattern. That collar is so dramatic. So far I've talked myself out of it each time. Next time it'll come home with me!
1/2/08 4:09 PM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, great dress. Cute boots too.
1/2/08 3:19 PM
MissCelie said...
I love plaid and the belt is adorable. Yippee for a dramatic collar!
1/2/08 1:25 PM
sewbehind said...
I like that on you! Looking forward to seeing your backlog posted. Very nice.
1/2/08 1:14 PM
marjenann said...
Love this dress on you!! That collar is a standout! And the fabric is very fashion forward too!
1/2/08 12:46 PM
Annette1 said...
Wow, I LOVE this outfit, and it looks so nice on you. Beautiful workmanship. I love your belt, too!
1/2/08 12:33 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Cute dress! Great idea with the belt and it really looks good with the dress.
1/2/08 11:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
Other Hospital Doll

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review