SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2958 (Jacket, Pants, Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1083 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/08 6:38 PM
Last Updated:1/3/08 6:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
LOOOOOOVE that red patent pleather! That must have been insane to work with. It is such an awesome piece. The construction sounds pretty intense, good on you for sticking it out.
1/3/08 7:12 PM
EveS said...
Oh, girl, you have seriously outdone yourself this time! I'm w/ nicegirl...the red coat is INCREDIBLE!!! Can't imagine sewing it! :o
1/3/08 7:46 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW, you have more patience than I do! That pleather is a real knockout, and your corduroy version is so cheerful and bright. I love the matching shoulder pads! This stinks, though, that it doesn't fit, but I'm glad it will have a good home. :o) Great review!
1/3/08 10:51 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Now I'm confused. Your corduroy version is OK but not thrilling. But did you do the red pleather afterwards? It's -fabulous-!! And you have so many good prints in your wardrobe that you do need a jacket that can stand up to them, so to speak :-). Wow!
1/4/08 6:34 AM
Lori V said...
Wow, the red pleather jacket is incredible. It will be a showstopping addition to your wardrobe.
1/4/08 7:14 AM
marjenann said...
Heatherrique! I am worried about you!! One smashing garment after another!! Are you sleeping!!!
1/4/08 8:59 AM
carolynw said...
I am really confused - I see the corduroy jacket and it looks fine and the red pleather - the color is show stopping but then you say it did not work for you - so is it the pleather that caused the problem?
1/4/08 10:09 AM
mad4sewing said...
LOVE the red pleather!!! Smokin Hot. You need to wear that to a nightclub.
1/4/08 3:49 PM
ALY said...
The jacket looks great in red pleather . Though this pattern, with L seams and all that shaping, would not have been my first choice for pleather. Great accomplishment!
1/4/08 3:56 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the inspiring comments despite my troubles with this pattern! Fuzzy and Clin I should have clarified the versions in my review! I originally started with the pleather after admiring a red Esprit jacket at a dept store made with princess seaming....and said to myself,"...hmmm Vogue 2958 would be great for this!" But I soon realized that sewing curved seams was tricky with the pleather. I put aside the pleather jacket (about 1/3 done) and wanted to try other fabric to get a more realistic fit. So I started and finished the corduroy version and still encountered problems with the "L" shaping! Then I decided to finish the pleather version (I must be INSANE after spending time with the other version!) so that it would not be a UFO. Getting past the "L" seams, I was able to finish it in less time than I expected. For the pleather, I should have chosen a peacoat style similar to the Juicy Couture. But it's ok. It was a lesson learned... The pattern did not work for me (but certainly would work for somebody else!) because IMHO just did not suit me at all and fit me properly, except at the shoulders! On the model, the jacket had a looser fitting style and nice silhouette. I have to be rail thin as the model to acquire that fit! Now I discovered for this pattern unlike the other Vogues I used, I should have gone up a size! Margenann , I am nearing my 3 wk winter vacation from work. I thought I would sew what I can before I don't have the time!
1/4/08 4:26 PM
CynthiaSue said...
thanks for the fashion forward advice! this is totally unique.
1/5/08 1:43 AM
So So said...
WOW!
1/5/08 7:27 AM
Em's Summer said...
WOW WOW WOWWWWWW!!!!!!! The red jacket is, well....WOW! JUST SOO FUN! I'm sorry it didn't work for you, but it is an amazing jacket!
1/5/08 2:41 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Well, today is Elvis' birthday and I hope your friend is wearing the red pleather with great enjoyment. It is a great accent piece: too bad it didn't fit you.
1/8/08 12:38 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Very fashion forward. You are to be commended for all your work in bringing this to fruition.
1/9/08 7:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now