Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2958 (Jacket, Pants, Dress) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1082 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/08 6:38 PM
Last Updated:1/3/08 6:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
LOOOOOOVE that red patent pleather! That must have been insane to work with. It is such an awesome piece. The construction sounds pretty intense, good on you for sticking it out.
1/3/08 7:12 PM
EveS said...
Oh, girl, you have seriously outdone yourself this time! I'm w/ nicegirl...the red coat is INCREDIBLE!!! Can't imagine sewing it! :o
1/3/08 7:46 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW, you have more patience than I do! That pleather is a real knockout, and your corduroy version is so cheerful and bright. I love the matching shoulder pads! This stinks, though, that it doesn't fit, but I'm glad it will have a good home. :o) Great review!
1/3/08 10:51 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Now I'm confused. Your corduroy version is OK but not thrilling. But did you do the red pleather afterwards? It's -fabulous-!! And you have so many good prints in your wardrobe that you do need a jacket that can stand up to them, so to speak :-). Wow!
1/4/08 6:34 AM
Lori V said...
Wow, the red pleather jacket is incredible. It will be a showstopping addition to your wardrobe.
1/4/08 7:14 AM
marjenann said...
Heatherrique! I am worried about you!! One smashing garment after another!! Are you sleeping!!!
1/4/08 8:59 AM
carolynw said...
I am really confused - I see the corduroy jacket and it looks fine and the red pleather - the color is show stopping but then you say it did not work for you - so is it the pleather that caused the problem?
1/4/08 10:09 AM
mad4sewing said...
LOVE the red pleather!!! Smokin Hot. You need to wear that to a nightclub.
1/4/08 3:49 PM
ALY said...
The jacket looks great in red pleather . Though this pattern, with L seams and all that shaping, would not have been my first choice for pleather. Great accomplishment!
1/4/08 3:56 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the inspiring comments despite my troubles with this pattern! Fuzzy and Clin I should have clarified the versions in my review! I originally started with the pleather after admiring a red Esprit jacket at a dept store made with princess seaming....and said to myself,"...hmmm Vogue 2958 would be great for this!" But I soon realized that sewing curved seams was tricky with the pleather. I put aside the pleather jacket (about 1/3 done) and wanted to try other fabric to get a more realistic fit. So I started and finished the corduroy version and still encountered problems with the "L" shaping! Then I decided to finish the pleather version (I must be INSANE after spending time with the other version!) so that it would not be a UFO. Getting past the "L" seams, I was able to finish it in less time than I expected. For the pleather, I should have chosen a peacoat style similar to the Juicy Couture. But it's ok. It was a lesson learned... The pattern did not work for me (but certainly would work for somebody else!) because IMHO just did not suit me at all and fit me properly, except at the shoulders! On the model, the jacket had a looser fitting style and nice silhouette. I have to be rail thin as the model to acquire that fit! Now I discovered for this pattern unlike the other Vogues I used, I should have gone up a size! Margenann , I am nearing my 3 wk winter vacation from work. I thought I would sew what I can before I don't have the time!
1/4/08 4:26 PM
CynthiaSue said...
thanks for the fashion forward advice! this is totally unique.
1/5/08 1:43 AM
So So said...
WOW!
1/5/08 7:27 AM
Em's Summer said...
WOW WOW WOWWWWWW!!!!!!! The red jacket is, well....WOW! JUST SOO FUN! I'm sorry it didn't work for you, but it is an amazing jacket!
1/5/08 2:41 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Well, today is Elvis' birthday and I hope your friend is wearing the red pleather with great enjoyment. It is a great accent piece: too bad it didn't fit you.
1/8/08 12:38 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Very fashion forward. You are to be commended for all your work in bringing this to fruition.
1/9/08 7:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

McCall's 5934
photo
Review by pmac on 1/31/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cowboy Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Cowboy Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket Ikina Jacket
photo
Review by PaulaM on 10/22/08
Read Review

Vogue 1332 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1332 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3889 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 3889 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us