SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2006-113 (Knit top w/shawl collar & ties)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1079 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 318 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/08 10:10 AM
Last Updated:2/8/08 9:48 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kim*brown said...
Great job on both, but I'm not sure about the fit of the burgundy top. I'm sure you will wear it well though!!
2/9/08 3:24 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Both your versions are lovely, but the latest cream sweater knit is stunning. Your collar and ties conversions were inspired, and you look killer chic. As always, excellent review. -Lily
2/8/08 11:08 PM
chemmom said...
I think the heavier sweater knit fabric really makes this top shine. I thinks is a little more forgiving in the wrap areas, while the lighter knit looks like you have to fiddle with it to lay just right. Love the pale cream color too.
2/8/08 8:31 PM
Vivienne said...
Soooo devatastingly cute in the sweaterknit! I like the dress version too, but then again I am quite partial to my bathrobe.
2/8/08 12:08 PM
marpratt said...
Nicegirl, I love all of your reviews on patternreview. You are a great inspiration for those of us who are trying to improve our sewing skills. You show us how to keep working on a project until we get it right. Thank you! Marpratt
2/8/08 11:07 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I like the way you finished the ties at the side seam. Color looks good on you. Very nice job! ;-)
1/6/08 10:07 AM
Larkin said...
I love your top and I think the decision to capture the ties in the side seams made it even more flattering!
1/5/08 11:01 AM
Peggy L said...
Great "refinements". I like the way you did the ties.
1/5/08 8:56 AM
Karen8320 said...
Nicegirl, this looks great on you! You always have such interesting ideas about ways of modifying things to suit what you prefer. I love what you've done with the ties on this. Sewing them into the side seam makes so much sense. Great work!
1/5/08 6:24 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I like how you altered the ties; I also tend to avoid things that tie in the back.
1/5/08 1:54 AM
Lori V said...
Cute top, great idea sewing the ties into the side seams.
1/4/08 11:35 PM
MasoumaRose said...
Very nice! I like the alteration you did (with the criscross ties). I saw that pattern and thought that the knot in the back might be lumpy and uncomfortable. I like how you modified it!
1/4/08 7:18 PM
cindyann said...
Very pretty color on you! Great idea sewing the ties to the SS.
1/4/08 6:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
I also like this one, NiceGirl! As my friend Roddy sings, "You Wear It Well"!
1/4/08 4:57 PM
Karen6790 said...
Congrats, both on getting this done and obviously making friends with your camera again. I still haven't finished anything out of the issues I borrowed from you, but soon! I like the way you did the ties on this - if I ever make a second version, I think I'll do that.
1/4/08 3:48 PM
rivergum said...
LOVE the way you did the ties, it looks so elegant. I agree with you that tying things at the back is pretty silly for a grown woman ;-)
1/4/08 2:50 PM
zora said...
Very nice top!
1/4/08 2:10 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute top. The color is wonderful. Isn't BWOF great, they are so fashion forward.
1/4/08 1:46 PM
Seaspur said...
I like your version much better than than tied one. Looks great on you!
1/4/08 10:39 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Terrific top! I love the color, too. Your top looks great on you.
1/4/08 10:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Contest Pantone Color Contest

photo
by: Renren

Review
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now