SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2006-113 (Knit top w/shawl collar & ties)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1077 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/08 10:10 AM
Last Updated:2/8/08 9:48 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Terrific top! I love the color, too. Your top looks great on you.
1/4/08 10:20 AM
Seaspur said...
I like your version much better than than tied one. Looks great on you!
1/4/08 10:39 AM
Linda G said...
Very cute top. The color is wonderful. Isn't BWOF great, they are so fashion forward.
1/4/08 1:46 PM
zora said...
Very nice top!
1/4/08 2:10 PM
rivergum said...
LOVE the way you did the ties, it looks so elegant. I agree with you that tying things at the back is pretty silly for a grown woman ;-)
1/4/08 2:50 PM
Karen6790 said...
Congrats, both on getting this done and obviously making friends with your camera again. I still haven't finished anything out of the issues I borrowed from you, but soon! I like the way you did the ties on this - if I ever make a second version, I think I'll do that.
1/4/08 3:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
I also like this one, NiceGirl! As my friend Roddy sings, "You Wear It Well"!
1/4/08 4:57 PM
cindyann said...
Very pretty color on you! Great idea sewing the ties to the SS.
1/4/08 6:25 PM
MasoumaRose said...
Very nice! I like the alteration you did (with the criscross ties). I saw that pattern and thought that the knot in the back might be lumpy and uncomfortable. I like how you modified it!
1/4/08 7:18 PM
Lori V said...
Cute top, great idea sewing the ties into the side seams.
1/4/08 11:35 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I like how you altered the ties; I also tend to avoid things that tie in the back.
1/5/08 1:54 AM
Karen8320 said...
Nicegirl, this looks great on you! You always have such interesting ideas about ways of modifying things to suit what you prefer. I love what you've done with the ties on this. Sewing them into the side seam makes so much sense. Great work!
1/5/08 6:24 AM
Peggy L said...
Great "refinements". I like the way you did the ties.
1/5/08 8:56 AM
Larkin said...
I love your top and I think the decision to capture the ties in the side seams made it even more flattering!
1/5/08 11:01 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I like the way you finished the ties at the side seam. Color looks good on you. Very nice job! ;-)
1/6/08 10:07 AM
marpratt said...
Nicegirl, I love all of your reviews on patternreview. You are a great inspiration for those of us who are trying to improve our sewing skills. You show us how to keep working on a project until we get it right. Thank you! Marpratt
2/8/08 11:07 AM
Vivienne said...
Soooo devatastingly cute in the sweaterknit! I like the dress version too, but then again I am quite partial to my bathrobe.
2/8/08 12:08 PM
chemmom said...
I think the heavier sweater knit fabric really makes this top shine. I thinks is a little more forgiving in the wrap areas, while the lighter knit looks like you have to fiddle with it to lay just right. Love the pale cream color too.
2/8/08 8:31 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Both your versions are lovely, but the latest cream sweater knit is stunning. Your collar and ties conversions were inspired, and you look killer chic. As always, excellent review. -Lily
2/8/08 11:08 PM
kim*brown said...
Great job on both, but I'm not sure about the fit of the burgundy top. I'm sure you will wear it well though!!
2/9/08 3:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 6078

photo
by: usbeckers

Review
Kwik Sew 3299

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now