SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5525 

62 more reviews
Viewed 2072 times 
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:1/5/08 12:31 PM
Last Updated:1/5/08 12:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Merry said...
Wow! Great looking coat - I love the collar and sleeves. Your hard work was worth it!!
1/5/08 12:34 PM
SewKnitYKnot said...
Very stylish coat -- it looks great. Congrats on sticking with it -- it looks fantastic & is worth all the effort you put into it!
1/5/08 12:51 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty coat--it looks perfect on you!!
1/5/08 12:55 PM
michellep74 said...
Your coat looks great! Your hard work really paid off on this--it looks fantastic on you!
1/5/08 1:26 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautiful coat Cindy, all your lovely hard work shows. Thanks for sharing, enjoy it keeping you warm!!
1/5/08 1:42 PM
loohoo44 said...
wow, I'm amazed by your persistence! Good for you, and you got a fabulous coat out of it as well. Very stylish.
1/5/08 3:04 PM
annie11 said...
That's gorgeous! Congratulations on such a fantastic garment! You'll get a lot of use out of this one.
1/5/08 3:52 PM
Lori V said...
Your coat looks amazing on you. I love the style, sleeves and color, great job. All your hard work was worth it.
1/5/08 4:08 PM
KathleenS said...
Well done. It looks great and I'm sure you get a lot of use out of it.
1/5/08 4:38 PM
Puppy said...
I love it, I love it! I covet it, I covet it! I especially love the collar. Persistence certainly paid off with this little number!
1/5/08 4:42 PM
JennyAnne said...
That is such a beautiful coat! All the ripping and re-sewing really paid off. Thanks for the helpful review.
1/5/08 4:48 PM
Nancywin said...
Super! Aren't you just so proud of yourself? I know I was when I made my coat last year. It is such a big accomplishment. I have bought this same pattern to make a coat for my daughter. I hope it doesn't take me 60 hours! I'm so glad you stuck it out because now you will feel like you can tackle anything!
1/5/08 5:30 PM
Dei said...
This was worth the wait (and work). It looks great. I have this pattern on my sewing table ready to sew and I'm glad to see it in on someone looking so good. I may be asking you for help.
1/5/08 5:32 PM
Erica B. said...
Cindy, the outcome was worth all of the trouble you went through. It looks fabulous!
1/5/08 6:17 PM
ryankckids said...
It's beautiful (work) and adorable (on you)! You should be so proud for sticking it out. What a lot of work...and it turned out great.
1/5/08 6:47 PM
sewbehind said...
Husbands have such great ideas! Great looking coat! Well done. I had to giggle with your lining ingenuity.
1/5/08 7:28 PM
MissCelie said...
Look at you!! You look fabulous and soooo proud of yourself!
1/5/08 10:42 PM
Jan B. said...
This coat is fabulous on you! What great tenacity to put in that many hours on one project. You've got a wonderful, one-of-a-kind coat--congratulations.
1/5/08 11:15 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
That wonderful coat was worth every second you spent on it. *Fantastic*!!
1/5/08 11:23 PM
TwilaO said...
From my standpoint, it was worth all that extra work! Way to keep at it. I am very impressed - it's gorgeous!
1/6/08 0:36 AM
SusiM said...
A very nice outcome! Think of how much you learned - it was worth it.
1/6/08 3:01 AM
carolynw said...
Now who would have thought you had trouble turnign out this beautiful coat - you look ready to "strut your stuff" in this. Love your review and congratulatuions for sticking to this !!
1/6/08 9:50 AM
crisford said...
This is so cute and it really suits you! Congratulations, good work!
1/6/08 12:27 PM
lmg said...
It was worth the time and trouble. Thanks for the inspiration
1/6/08 8:13 PM
Larkin said...
You should be so proud of yourself - your coat is beautiful, you learned a lot and you stuck with it! Really, really nice job, congrats!
1/6/08 9:26 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! Fantastic coat that looks just PERFECT on you! I hope you're very proud of yourself. All of your hard work paid off. :o)
1/7/08 3:28 AM
LindsayT said...
All you coat-makers are just so darn inspiring to me. Great job!
1/8/08 12:28 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great cosmopolitan-looking and glamourous coat! Your wonderful work and patience was well worth it! You wear it with a lot of finesse and style!
1/12/08 4:00 PM
snowflake girl said...
Great looking coat. Mine is on the cutting table.
1/13/08 7:39 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Congratulations on this accomplishment -- what a gorgeous coat!!
1/16/08 8:22 PM
Sharon M said...
Your coat is so beautiful! I'm glad you stuck with it...not only do you have a gorgeous one of a kind coat to wear, but you proved to yourself that you could do it. Great job!
1/31/08 10:36 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your coat is a very au courant version of a timeless classic. It's not easy to set a perfect vent, and you've done it. You look very chic and modern, but you'd look smashing in a burlap bag. -Lily
2/2/08 3:57 PM
marjenann said...
Wow!! That is an awesome coat!! It reminds me of a Calvin Klein Original!! You look sooooooo chic!
2/3/08 3:50 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful coal - and quite a story! :)
2/4/08 2:50 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
How did I fall so far behind in reviews - another awesome jacket Cindy - woo hoo!!!
2/4/08 4:29 PM
JMarie1962 said...
This coat looks so cute on you! I've been debating whether to make this for a long, long time. McCall's is on sale at JoAnn's this Friday - I think I'll have to pick it up and think about a spring trench for myself. Nice job!
2/16/08 10:04 PM
Elle D said...
McCall's is on sale at JoAnn's this Friday? This coat will be mine! Or, at least the pattern will be mine. It bears repeating, you look fabulous in this coat, great job.
2/19/08 9:45 PM
Physics Girl said...
fun review... and your husband's right: with a coat this nice you don't have to wear anything underneath! (lol... I'm laughing because I'm remembering my mother's story about a college roommate going to chapel in just her outer-coat and slip.. :)
2/26/08 11:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

New Look 6127

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now