Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5103 (Kimono Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2270 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/03 1:04 AM
Last Updated:4/18/03 1:11 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
I am usually a "practical dresser" too, but I think this style looks great on you! Congratulations on stepping out of your comfort zone Diane :)
4/18/03 4:44 AM
Elona said...
Really cute, Diane! And not at all Stevie Nicks. I saw her the other night on the tube, and for one thing, she has become waaay more upholstered than you are! For another, this is a more formal coat than her style. I always have the impression that there are fringes or bits of lace or rags or something hanging off her here and there. Kind of a tatty, accidental-antique look, like "Whoops, I was just dancing around amongst the laces in Gran's attic, and I must have got tangled in them." Meow.
4/18/03 4:48 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Looks great on you, Diane, so your gamble in trying something new paid off in spades. Elona, very funny! LOL
4/18/03 6:20 AM
Deepika said...
Diane, nice jacket. I have this pattern too and have wondered that myself. Your review encourages me to try it. I'll probably try the shorter version first though. Did you use shoulder pads?
4/18/03 10:05 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Hm. I'm going to have to go back to the web sources and look at this pattern again. I have a similar Butterick pattern, but I'm sure it utilizes facings. I've gotten kind of enamoured of the long flowy look -- it hides a multitude of sins! ;)
4/18/03 10:29 AM
Diane E said...
Thanks everyone. Elona, you have me chuckling to myself about poor Stevie and her attic. Deepika, I did use shoulder pads, and I think I'm going to fiddle with the placement this morning - also desperate to put off a project I'm supposed to send a client - so those shoulder pads need work ;) I think I shoved them too far out into the sleeve head (uh huh.....)
4/18/03 12:06 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I just saw Stevie Nicks on the Today show this morning--so you're right up-to-the-minute! I must say I like your look better too :) Much more elegant, and not one bit of tangled lace! LOL
4/18/03 12:30 PM
Skymom said...
I happened to see Ms. Nicks the other night, too, and my husband I were somewhat shocked to realize how incredibly poppy the older music sounds today. That said, Diane, your jacket is quite elegant. I made the SW Thai Coat a couple of seasons ago, also sort of doubting the long-jacket look on me (similar body type to yours), but I really enjoy it. Sometimes it's fun to have a little extra fabric swirling around, even if the overall look is pretty tailored. BTW, I used a multi-color houndstooth check raw silk suiting for the Thai Coat, and thought it had just the right amount of body for this length.
4/18/03 3:09 PM
Cheryl Colehour said...
I didn't realize this pattern came in a longer length, so this is a useful review for me. A couple of years ago a friend adn I watched the Fleetwood Mac reunion special on VH1, and after watching for awhile my friend said, "I think she might be wearing a couple of tablecloths around her shoulders!" I thought she must be so hot performing in all those layers.
4/22/03 1:12 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Although the review is old, I saw it today and really liked it! I was thinking of buying this pattern, but decided against it because of the sloppy editing. If you're going to pay a premium price for a pattern, it better shine like gold! But the jacket is beautiful; just beautiful. And the Stevie Nicks reference is funny; I remember the first album she did with Fleetwood Mac (talk about dating oneself..). And all the comments are right--she did look like she had been dancing around Grandma's attic. But that was the look back then, and some of us wished we could look that way! The jacket looks great on you and it's a great way to dress up a pair of jeans.
6/23/09 8:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2766
photo
Review by homejewel on 11/1/09
Read Review

Burda 2471 Pattern
Burda 2471 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5644 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5644 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7044
photo
Review by Sandi S on 12/22/10
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us