Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 3284 (P&P blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 853 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo
About blue mooneystarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/08 2:49 PM
Last Updated:2/17/08 3:52 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Robyn - this looks great!
1/5/08 4:05 PM
bluenines said...
great blouse, thank youfor a great review, looking forward to seeing all of your versions of it
1/5/08 4:16 PM
mudcat said...
I love your top. Very nice.
1/5/08 4:59 PM
Nancywin said...
This turned out very nicely. How exciting for you to have the "perfect pattern" now!
1/5/08 5:21 PM
JeanM said...
Your top looks great! I think I'd like to try this one! I tried the link to the pattern info, but it comes up with a not found error message, and I've not been able to locate that pattern number anywhere else using Google - is there somewhere else I could look? Thanks!
1/5/08 5:30 PM
marjenann said...
Lovely, very expensive looking blouse. Your fabric choice is perfect!
1/5/08 6:50 PM
Linda G said...
Thanks for the great review. I too have this pattern, I bought it at a garage sale for a dime and it had never been used. I too thought the vents on the sleeve were curved by looking at the picture, I have never had the pattern out of the envelope. I did look at the directions and noticed the real lapel collar. This pattern was one of the patterns I am thinking about for the fitted blouse contest. Do you think the only thing between what defines a blouse and a jacket is the ease? Because the other pattern I am considering for the blouse is called a jacket and I would wear if for a blouse it too has a lapel collar, obviously the lapel collar does not define it as a blouse or a jacket. I will refer to your review when I maek this pattern, since you say you will make it 5 or 6 times its gotta be good, sure wish you would post a picture of you wearing the blouse.
1/5/08 7:31 PM
carolynw said...
Love this top
1/6/08 10:08 AM
blue mooney said...
JeanM, I guess McCalls isn't showing this pattern on their website anymore. Maybe it's even OOP? I didn't see it on the Palmer&Pletsch website, either. Linda G, I guess if you set aside obviously tailored garments, like blazers, that fabrication and ease mostly define which is a jacket and which is a blouse/shirt. When you look at line drawings, they look interchangeable. And then there's that hybrid, the shirt-jacket....
1/6/08 4:25 PM
Larkin said...
Really pretty. I love your choice of fabric. I predict you'll get a lot of wear from this. Enjoy!
1/6/08 10:59 PM
Annette1 said...
I love it when I find a great basic pattern, and it looks like you've found one here! Your fabric, too, makes it extra special.
1/7/08 3:09 AM
Marji said...
Robyn, it looks fantastic! HOwever, I'm soo confused. You have this in your SWAP folder, but I don't see it in your SWAP plan. And Carolyn will be so pleased with you - a TNT in the making with versions to come. ;)
1/7/08 8:54 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I made this blouse many years ago and messed up the colar. I thought I had thrown it away, but while going through my patterns for the wardrobe contest, I found it. I'll have to do some alterations to make it bigger, but all the pieces are there. Thanks for reminding me what a great pattern it is.
1/11/08 11:29 PM
blue mooney said...
Marji, this blouse is replacing the HP Dolman blouse in the SWAP. I didn't have enough fabric to do the dolman...which I still want to try! Sherril, I after I made this blouse I went back and read the reviews (I know, you're SUPPOSED to do that first!) and found that most reviewers didn't like it. It is a lot of work, but I was really happy with the result and thought it was totally worth it. If you make it up, I hope you think the same!
2/17/08 3:49 PM
Enid E said...
Very nice! After reading your previous review, I pulled this pattern out and took another look at it...it is in my pile of upcoming sewing sessions. Love this new rendition of your blouse..
2/17/08 4:22 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Looks like this wonderful pattern could be a TNT for unlimited styles of tops/jackets. Your particular garment today is nothing short of WOW. Beautiful fit, soft and inviting fabric with those exquisite weltings and buttons. The previous white blouse you made is pristine and perfect, too. Thanks for sharing these beauties. -Lily
2/17/08 5:06 PM
carolynw said...
Love the blouse - tried to check out the pattern but it must be OOP - hopefully it's in my stash!!
2/18/08 8:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2011-102
photo
Review by Mikgirl on 1/14/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6007 Minna
photo
Review by Alisek on 1/12/08
Read Review

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2387 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 2387 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1300 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1300 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us