Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2007-117 (Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 983 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/08 10:33 PM
Last Updated:1/5/08 10:33 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seamingly Simple said...
OMG this is a great blouse! I love all the buttons down the front and the sensible depth of the v-neck. This is very attractive on you but I can sympathize why you might not want to sew it again. Wear it with pride, Cidell.
1/5/08 10:44 PM
CynthiaSue said...
awesome!! wow you are all done with the sew along. it looks fabulous on you.
1/5/08 10:58 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Who would think we'd ever wear sleeves like this again! It looks great! I think I shall write down for my resolution: I want to sew as much as Cidell!
1/5/08 11:00 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love this top! I also like your sleeves better than Burda's version. I am truly sorry that you endured so much agony over the orange chalk fiasco. Great results!
1/5/08 11:10 PM
bluenines said...
great looking blouse, love the sleaves and the neckline
1/5/08 11:35 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
that's one hot looking blouse, great pouffy sleeves. So glad those orange marks came out. I've done that on a white blouse too !
1/5/08 11:37 PM
jo37 said...
Great blouse. I need to go find my December Burda magazine.
1/5/08 11:55 PM
Seaspur said...
I like your version much better than the magazine. It looks wonderful on you!
1/6/08 0:23 AM
Nancywin said...
I cannot even tell you how much better this looks on you than the magazine picture. I love yours, but I thought the mag picture was hideous LOL! You have a good eye, Cidell
1/6/08 0:47 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Awesome blouse!!!! Your efforts paid off girl! :-)
1/6/08 0:52 AM
Markie1 said...
Thank you Cidell for confirming my reasons for confusion! I am making this blouse right now (in white with black snaps!) and have just taken a break from the PLEATS! I think yours looks great, and I will persevere based on your experience.
1/6/08 1:38 AM
SusiM said...
Thanks for the review of this one. Burda is my favorite. You always write such informative reviews. Really nice blouse, too.
1/6/08 2:33 AM
morzel said...
When I saw the neckline without collar, I skipped this pattern. But now I see this neckline looks rather nice, so IŽll think about this pattern. Love the sleeves style!
1/6/08 4:31 AM
Sigrid. said...
You got a very nice result Cidell. It looks so wonderful on you. OK, there are some things that went wrong with the sleeves, no one knows except us. I liked this from the linedrawing, but was set back again with the pictures, thought it was too puffy. Now I'm convinced I'll make this one sometime.
1/6/08 4:40 AM
BillieJean said...
Your blouse is lovely. I hadn't given the picture in the mag. a second thought, but I love yours.
1/6/08 6:38 AM
Marji said...
LOL, well, it sure does look nice, and IF you can avoid the sewists compulsion to tell someone what's 'wrong' with it when you get compliments on wearing it, you'll soon forget the fiasco...maybe. Seriously, it does look great.
1/6/08 7:43 AM
utz said...
Absolutely great blouse. I've made the same marking mistake - mine was on front bodice - made my hair stand straight up when I saw it. (Ultimately used Grandma's Spot Remover for waxy transfer paper marks). Back to pattern: brave you for tackling all those pleats! Great job!
1/6/08 7:55 AM
blue mooney said...
Wow, you are fast with the WOF! Such a neat-looking blouse. That's a great color on you.
1/6/08 8:24 AM
cindy-lou said...
Not to re-state the obvious yet *again*, but this is a GREAT blouse that I would PROUDLY put in my magazine rather than BWOF's version. You've yet again made me happy to have gotten BWOF for Christmas.
1/6/08 9:15 AM
carolynw said...
Oh Cidell - there you go again making soemthign too beautiful for words. Will just say I love your blouse and it fits you perfectly
1/6/08 10:09 AM
Debbie Cook said...
It looks great! Don't point out any "mistakes" to anyone else because no one will notice!
1/6/08 10:19 AM
Linda G said...
Very cute, are you sure you put the sleeves in the wrong opening or is it just a weird thing on Burda, I recently made a white burda blouse and I feel that the cuffs wrap in the wrong place. Next time I am going to compare them with another pattern. Although I have made other burda blouses where I did not feel that was a problem anyway your blouse is darling. Your problem with the marking paper is why I hate the stuff. What I do is cut tiny little slits in the pattern along the tuck lines and push the point of my purple disappearing marker through them to mark the fabric and join the marks with a line using a ruler and my purple disappearing pen.
1/6/08 10:36 AM
Karen6790 said...
If you did anything wrong, you can't see it now. Looks great on you. And you'll never need to sew it again, there are a ton of confusing blouses in the January issue. Putting this one on my list, though.
1/6/08 11:34 AM
Grammy Gin said...
What a chic & stylish top! I would like to make one for my oldest DGD. She would just love it....she is fashionable like you. ;-)
1/6/08 2:40 PM
avancleve said...
Really like the changes you made! The shirt looks great!
1/6/08 4:44 PM
EveS said...
Doh! This blouse makes me wish I didn't have linebacker's shoulders! :( Very cool. I'm such a sucker for a fabulous white blouse! Great stuff, Cidell!
1/6/08 8:30 PM
DivaQ said...
WOW! you did a fantastic job on this blouse. I really like the fit.
1/6/08 8:50 PM
tomed said...
I like your sleeves better anyway. It looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
1/6/08 8:57 PM
Larkin said...
I love your blouse (it's white, will we see it in LA?). I love the way you've shared your lessons learned. You call it a pirate blouse - with the pleats as designed, it looks a bit like a blackjack dealer's blouse. I like the pirate!
1/7/08 0:07 AM
Annette1 said...
Another winner! And thanks so much for the lessons learned, too. That sounds exactly like something I would do, with the orange chalk. :o))
1/7/08 3:06 AM
Dei said...
Cidell, you so hit the mark on this blouse! Should you find it missing from your closet, you know where it is. Thanks for all the tips.
1/7/08 7:51 AM
nicegirl said...
So cute! Now I want to make this one even more....
1/7/08 12:08 PM
Hilary said...
Well it sounds like a lot of trouble-(especially the marking fiasco-aack!!) but your blouse turned out GORGEOUS!!! Yours is by far better than the Burda version, at least imho :D And you should be able to move your arms, unlike the poor BWOF model (LOL).
1/7/08 3:32 PM
imsewcrazy said...
I love this blouse. Especially the sleeve! It looks great on you!
1/14/08 9:42 PM
lmg said...
Ooh much better than the Burda version. The sleeve cap is not as puffy and therefore cuter! I might make this one based on your review....
1/17/08 11:59 PM
Birgitte said...
That's a fab look on you! The markings- must be something in the air, don't you think?... wish I'd read your review before my own fiasco! I love-love-love your shirt!
1/18/08 2:21 PM
Saya said...
When I saw the picture of your blouse in the sidebar I was really surprised to see that it was in the burda magazine I have. When I got downstairs to look it up I immediately knew why I didn't remember it. Your mistakes made it look so much better! Have to remember this for the future.
7/27/08 10:05 AM
Tee Jones Actie said...
what happened to your blog....
2/27/09 12:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2007-117 Blouse
photo
Review by Markie1 on 1/31/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mango Tango Mango Tango
photo
Review by jannw on 2/28/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3830 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 3830 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2908 Pattern
Jalie 2908 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us