SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2000 (Choice of Pants)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2700 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 191
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 171 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/08 0:24 AM
Last Updated:9/7/09 4:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
Wow. I love your pants.
5/22/08 6:49 AM
Annette1 said...
Just PERFECT! Your love for your little kiddies is written all over these pants. :o)
3/14/08 5:59 PM
Dale C said...
Those look great! So do the kids pants. It makes me want that pattern.
3/14/08 3:17 PM
born2bead said...
I love your idea of the knit binding on the waistband facing. Makes it look very finished. I may have to try that on some of my pants. Thanks for the great tip!
3/14/08 11:43 AM
EleanorSews said...
I'm amazed. Pants for two cutie pie tots to svelte mom with one pattern. Love your DBA ~ who knew there was term for what I did when I was making pants for my elderly Mom who was wearing Depends.... Stick with thos boot cut pants, they are truly perfect for you.
3/14/08 10:21 AM
PJH said...
Love those trousers for your kids! Especially your embellishments. And the DBA is a great term -- is that yours? I use an old 80s Kwik Sew pattern for my boy's trousers because he wears bulky cloth nappies and so many new trousers in RTW are designed for disposables.
3/13/08 10:00 PM
dreamdesigner said...
"This is totally a TNT pattern for me. Straight out of the envelope! " WOW, WOW, WOW!!! They look fabulous! I'm pretty jealous, first of your trim lean body, and secondly, of the great fit you obtained. Straight out of the envelope no less! Hrmmmph!!! LOL! I should be so lucky!! Great job!!
2/20/08 7:01 PM
mary in FL said...
Yes, I hem pants for certain shoes. I also hem my jeans longer for long-time sitting since I'm a frequent passenger on a motorcycle ;)
2/11/08 10:10 PM
Athene said...
I love all your pant photos - they look great on you. This is one pattern I will have to add to my collection.
2/9/08 3:41 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Both of your pants are smashing. I think Jalie must have designed with a photo of you close at hand. Great fit, great fabrics. Boot cut pants are here to stay; tapered pants flatter very few. -Lily
2/7/08 3:24 PM
TanyaMT said...
Beautiful pants, and excellent fit. They look fantastic on you.
2/7/08 11:08 AM
cabinbaby said...
Deepika, They sit lower than your natural waist but not too low. You can see in some of the orignal pictures where I am lifting my shirt.
2/7/08 9:59 AM
Deepika said...
I love the binding with the printed knit. What a great idea! Do these pants sit high or low on the waist?
2/7/08 9:11 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
I love the color on the new version! Beautiful pants!
2/7/08 8:41 AM
Deepika said...
Oh I love your pants. I've been looking for an easy side zipper pants and this one's just right. I am adding it to my list of things to sew. Thanks for your review.
1/16/08 11:57 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Ohh! I love both versions. I want to make another pair of jeans in the near future..and you've definitely got me considering this version. I love the clean style!
1/15/08 6:24 PM
cindyann said...
Ok people, STOP reviewing great patterns. I don't need any more patterns in my stash. ;) Really, those are great looking pants! Well done.
1/15/08 5:59 PM
Lori V said...
Great job, TNT jean pattern is a great one to have.
1/15/08 4:50 PM
ryan's mom said...
Wow!!! They look great on you!
1/14/08 4:16 PM
Elle D said...
Thank you for this review and the link to the zipper tutorial. I plan to sew these for my SWAP and I've never done pants before. Yours look great and I'm keeping my fingers (mentally) crossed that my version comes out half as good.
1/14/08 11:44 AM
sarahb said...
these look so great--you've inspired me to buy this pattern!
1/14/08 9:35 AM
CShelley said...
Great job! I never used a Jalie pattern but after seeing your results I just might check this one out. I'm with you on the bootcut thing too. Thanks for the review.
1/14/08 8:03 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Great pair of pants. As for length, make them as long as possible. Denim has a progressive shrink and they will wind up too short if you don't add extra length now.
1/13/08 1:29 PM
PegL said...
(insert wolf whistle here) ;>) Great looking pants!
1/13/08 12:05 PM
sewbehind said...
Great looking pair of pants. I'm with you on Bootcut legged pants. They are flattering to many people.
1/13/08 11:26 AM
avancleve said...
Wonderful pants. They look really great on you.
1/13/08 10:44 AM
bluenines said...
great pants,, i like the fit, and even though they say boot cut is out, i still wear them, tappered pants do nothing for me, and i wear what looks good on me not what is so called in fashion great job and a wounderfull review!
1/13/08 8:30 AM
Linda G said...
Nice looking pants, and yes I always try to figure out what shoes I am going to wear with pants b/4 I hem, I have a pair in my sewing room right now that are awaiting me to make the decision and hem. I pin them at different lengths for different shoes and try them on with the shoes....
1/13/08 8:21 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab pants and great fit! Bootcut may be out of fashion but they will never go out of style IMHO.
1/13/08 2:40 AM
rosannec said...
Those are some great looking pants! Nice review, as well. I *always* hem for my shoes since I'm on the tall side. If I didn't, I'd be stuck with all ankle length pants and what fun is that? Also, I agree whole heartedly about bootleg being the cut of choice. Judging from fashion mags out now, the tapered pant is going away (hooray!) and a slight boot/straighter leg is in. Classic lines are back!! Your pants are just right. They'd be great in a RPL with a side zip, too. Oh! Consider the angled hem (back lower than front) as well.
1/13/08 0:53 AM
SewLil said...
Those look excellent on you. I haven't made pants, but I just hemmed 6 pairs of RTW pants for some friends (with the shoes they would most likely be wearing).
1/13/08 0:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 70883-1009

photo
by: jannw

Review
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Butterick 8576

photo
by: rosiewedne...

Review