Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2000 (Choice of Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2695 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/08 0:24 AM
Last Updated:9/7/09 4:17 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLil said...
Those look excellent on you. I haven't made pants, but I just hemmed 6 pairs of RTW pants for some friends (with the shoes they would most likely be wearing).
1/13/08 0:47 AM
rosannec said...
Those are some great looking pants! Nice review, as well. I *always* hem for my shoes since I'm on the tall side. If I didn't, I'd be stuck with all ankle length pants and what fun is that? Also, I agree whole heartedly about bootleg being the cut of choice. Judging from fashion mags out now, the tapered pant is going away (hooray!) and a slight boot/straighter leg is in. Classic lines are back!! Your pants are just right. They'd be great in a RPL with a side zip, too. Oh! Consider the angled hem (back lower than front) as well.
1/13/08 0:53 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab pants and great fit! Bootcut may be out of fashion but they will never go out of style IMHO.
1/13/08 2:40 AM
Linda G said...
Nice looking pants, and yes I always try to figure out what shoes I am going to wear with pants b/4 I hem, I have a pair in my sewing room right now that are awaiting me to make the decision and hem. I pin them at different lengths for different shoes and try them on with the shoes....
1/13/08 8:21 AM
bluenines said...
great pants,, i like the fit, and even though they say boot cut is out, i still wear them, tappered pants do nothing for me, and i wear what looks good on me not what is so called in fashion great job and a wounderfull review!
1/13/08 8:30 AM
avancleve said...
Wonderful pants. They look really great on you.
1/13/08 10:44 AM
sewbehind said...
Great looking pair of pants. I'm with you on Bootcut legged pants. They are flattering to many people.
1/13/08 11:26 AM
PegL said...
(insert wolf whistle here) ;>) Great looking pants!
1/13/08 12:05 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great pair of pants. As for length, make them as long as possible. Denim has a progressive shrink and they will wind up too short if you don't add extra length now.
1/13/08 1:29 PM
CShelley said...
Great job! I never used a Jalie pattern but after seeing your results I just might check this one out. I'm with you on the bootcut thing too. Thanks for the review.
1/14/08 8:03 AM
sarahb said...
these look so great--you've inspired me to buy this pattern!
1/14/08 9:35 AM
Elle D said...
Thank you for this review and the link to the zipper tutorial. I plan to sew these for my SWAP and I've never done pants before. Yours look great and I'm keeping my fingers (mentally) crossed that my version comes out half as good.
1/14/08 11:44 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow!!! They look great on you!
1/14/08 4:16 PM
Lori V said...
Great job, TNT jean pattern is a great one to have.
1/15/08 4:50 PM
cindyann said...
Ok people, STOP reviewing great patterns. I don't need any more patterns in my stash. ;) Really, those are great looking pants! Well done.
1/15/08 5:59 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Ohh! I love both versions. I want to make another pair of jeans in the near future..and you've definitely got me considering this version. I love the clean style!
1/15/08 6:24 PM
Deepika said...
Oh I love your pants. I've been looking for an easy side zipper pants and this one's just right. I am adding it to my list of things to sew. Thanks for your review.
1/16/08 11:57 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
I love the color on the new version! Beautiful pants!
2/7/08 8:41 AM
Deepika said...
I love the binding with the printed knit. What a great idea! Do these pants sit high or low on the waist?
2/7/08 9:11 AM
cabinbaby said...
Deepika, They sit lower than your natural waist but not too low. You can see in some of the orignal pictures where I am lifting my shirt.
2/7/08 9:59 AM
TanyaMT said...
Beautiful pants, and excellent fit. They look fantastic on you.
2/7/08 11:08 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Both of your pants are smashing. I think Jalie must have designed with a photo of you close at hand. Great fit, great fabrics. Boot cut pants are here to stay; tapered pants flatter very few. -Lily
2/7/08 3:24 PM
Athene said...
I love all your pant photos - they look great on you. This is one pattern I will have to add to my collection.
2/9/08 3:41 PM
mary in FL said...
Yes, I hem pants for certain shoes. I also hem my jeans longer for long-time sitting since I'm a frequent passenger on a motorcycle ;)
2/11/08 10:10 PM
dreamdesigner said...
"This is totally a TNT pattern for me. Straight out of the envelope! " WOW, WOW, WOW!!! They look fabulous! I'm pretty jealous, first of your trim lean body, and secondly, of the great fit you obtained. Straight out of the envelope no less! Hrmmmph!!! LOL! I should be so lucky!! Great job!!
2/20/08 7:01 PM
PJH said...
Love those trousers for your kids! Especially your embellishments. And the DBA is a great term -- is that yours? I use an old 80s Kwik Sew pattern for my boy's trousers because he wears bulky cloth nappies and so many new trousers in RTW are designed for disposables.
3/13/08 10:00 PM
EleanorSews said...
I'm amazed. Pants for two cutie pie tots to svelte mom with one pattern. Love your DBA ~ who knew there was term for what I did when I was making pants for my elderly Mom who was wearing Depends.... Stick with thos boot cut pants, they are truly perfect for you.
3/14/08 10:21 AM
born2bead said...
I love your idea of the knit binding on the waistband facing. Makes it look very finished. I may have to try that on some of my pants. Thanks for the great tip!
3/14/08 11:43 AM
Dale C said...
Those look great! So do the kids pants. It makes me want that pattern.
3/14/08 3:17 PM
Annette1 said...
Just PERFECT! Your love for your little kiddies is written all over these pants. :o)
3/14/08 5:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow. I love your pants.
5/22/08 6:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2283
photo
Review by Sherril Mi... on 3/6/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6779 Misses Dress
photo
Review by LawsonVall... on 4/10/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8943 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8943 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us