SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag)

45 more reviews
Viewed 1054 times 
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo

 
 
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/08 4:35 PM
Last Updated:1/13/08 4:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Melissa -- Beautiful bag and interesting review. It is a good warning to sew-ers like me, who tend to take on projects above our skill level. Thanks for the warning. I'm reading through all the reviews -- If I can get a result like yours, it might be worth it.
7/4/09 7:06 AM
F and L said...
Goodness, Melissa. It is so incredibly beautiful that the horror of your story of making it does not overcome my desire to have one; you've only increased it! You did such an amazing job.
2/14/08 4:02 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is darling. And you were so much kinder in your review than I was in mine! Enjoy your cute bag!
1/26/08 0:05 AM
Hooptastic said...
Comments on the lining were very helpful! Another review showed a photo of the inside...yes...it's baggie!
1/18/08 12:32 PM
SheriF said...
This is why I love patternreview.com. I want to try this pattern, but now my eyes are wide open that it will be difficult (it's not me!) but worth the effort. Beautiful bag. Thanks for the inspiration.
1/18/08 11:59 AM
quiltsammon said...
Beautiful! You'll love carrying it around I'm sure! Thanks for the great review!
1/16/08 11:18 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your bag is absolutely fabulous - your long hours of work paid off!
1/14/08 10:29 AM
Mufffet said...
Your bag is so pretty! That *IS* a lot of work. Thanks for a realistic review and enjoy your bag!
1/14/08 9:53 AM
slanden99 said...
Gorgeous bag! Love your fabrics. For the lining--next time you line a bag or hat, cut the lining out a tad smaller than the pattern piece. This will prevent a saggy lining
1/14/08 8:54 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful fabric choice. I really want to make this bag, but now I'm wondering if it's worth the trouble. I had a project like this once and I swore I'd never, ever sew it again......Must say that your effort was worth it. It's Fabulous.
1/14/08 8:13 AM
Ronda Rae said...
It looks great. I know what you're talking about. I've made this bag. I agree with you on the lining. You didn't mention that it doesn't call for inside pocket. I will do that next time I sew it. I bought material (in December) to make. I will try fusing some interfacing to the lining. I'm obviously glutton for punishment. It's been 2 years since I made it though. Maybe it's like having a baby- you forget the pain?
1/14/08 7:54 AM
Blooms said...
What a fab bag...well worth the effort
1/14/08 4:30 AM
sweetviolets said...
Absolutely gorgeous. A classy look for traveling!
1/14/08 0:37 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Beautiful, classy, gorgeous!! Enjoy!!
1/13/08 11:58 PM
KarmenG said...
Gorgeous and it shows the level of effort you put into it. I love your fabric print selections. Well done!
1/13/08 10:48 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your bag looks fantastic! I made a travel bag using a Butterick pattern last year. I remember feeling as you do just after I finished it, but I can't tell you how much I have enjoyed using my travel bag, so I am quite proud of myself for having invested my time (and sore fingers) into its creation.
1/13/08 9:16 PM
crisford said...
Okay, I want the bag, but I don't want to go through all that! It is beautiful though!
1/13/08 7:22 PM
Sherril Miller said...
So worth the effort. It's beautiful!
1/13/08 6:47 PM
Sheila457 said...
Beautiful bag.
1/13/08 6:45 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Well all of your hard work really paid off. I love the shape of this bag.
1/13/08 6:35 PM
pterion said...
It's a gorgeous bag. I'm sorry it was so painful to make... the results are so striking though!
1/13/08 6:27 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Gorgeous!!! I hear your pain on making this bag - I got so frustrated with it that I abandoned it mid-project.... after seeing yours, maybe I should re-think it!
1/13/08 5:55 PM
Sigrid. said...
It really is an awesome bag. This is one of two bag patterns I recently bought, but I postpone starting sewing one of them. You certainly encourage me to go for it soon!
1/13/08 5:47 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I feel your pain, sister. That is a physically challenging bag to make, but look at those results!!
1/13/08 5:24 PM
MissCelie said...
Well, the bag is stunning. I've had this pattern for about six months now, but haven't worked my way up to it. You are inspiring me to get cracking!
1/13/08 4:48 PM
Lori V said...
Melissa, your bag is gorgeous and I love the colors. I have made this bag and totally understand, I don't think I will make another one either.
1/13/08 4:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 2155

photo
by: Sheseams

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2010-107

photo
by: liliv

Review
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now