Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB032SC (Sophia Carry-all) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1470 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:SarahSM
photo
About SarahSMstar
OR USA
Member since: 1/17/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/08 1:57 AM
Last Updated:1/16/08 9:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lauraborealis said...
I love your fabric... where did you get it? I will go home right now and make room in my stash!
1/14/08 8:35 PM
SarahSM said...
I got my fabric from Fabric Depot in Portland. I've seen a lot of the quilting weight of this online, but only at Fabric Depot have I seen the buff-colored home dec weight stuff. It comes in black too, which I've seen at some of the independent places.
1/14/08 8:53 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful bag - sounds like a repeat performance of the Weekender Bag I made Saturday! LOL Did you get the feet at Fabric Depot too? I need some and I can't find any up any my area so when I trek down to Portland next time I'll stop in if they have any.
1/16/08 0:41 AM
Seaspur said...
Your bag is too cool!
1/16/08 0:55 AM
SarahSM said...
Yeah, Melissa---I got the feet at Fabric Depot. They had the black plastic ones I used, plus brass and nickel metal ones...
1/16/08 1:45 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful bag. Love the fabric you used.
1/16/08 5:27 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Oh, Sarah, this is soooo awesome!! I have the other bag that I made but now I want this one, too! I can just visualize you swinging your bag while you walk down the street!! Very, nice!
1/16/08 7:12 AM
purplepolowraps said...
looks great! i cannot wait to get my mitts on this pattern!
1/16/08 8:14 AM
LindsayT said...
What a fun bag! I'd buy this if I saw it in a boutique.
1/16/08 9:29 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh Sarah, that is great to know, I was going to have DH stop a few weeks ago when we were near there, but it was a little out of the way. Glad to know they definitely have them!
1/16/08 11:39 AM
pterion said...
I love everything about this bag - very cool style and the funky retro fabric is so great with it!
1/16/08 1:28 PM
Pam Z said...
Very nice bag! The pattern pic. shows 2 bags. Are there 2 views?
1/16/08 3:53 PM
SarahSM said...
The other bag in the pattern picture is the Weekender Bag, which is a different pattern. If you search for it on PR, you'll see some lovely versions. They'd make nice companion pieces, actually.
1/16/08 3:56 PM
Peggy L said...
Great review of a great bag. Fun fabric choice.
1/16/08 4:13 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Fun Bag!!!! I love the tattoo fabric on this one. Thanks for the review!
1/16/08 9:38 PM
phthooey said...
Super-super-super-cool! Great job and wonderful choice of fabric!
1/17/08 0:01 AM
Birdie757 said...
Your bag turned out great. I am so glad my review was helpful. Next time I sew this bag there will be no piping on the bottom either. In your photo, I didn't even realize you hadn't done the piping until it was mentioned in the review. I am going to have to get some feet for mine next time. Thanks for the review.
1/17/08 7:29 AM
KrystalL said...
I'm just getting hip to Amy Butler, and I like how your bag turned out. Thanks for a great review!
1/17/08 9:14 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
You did a great job. Cute fabric!
1/17/08 12:16 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great bag, the fabric is quite fun.
1/17/08 9:06 PM
sunshinecup said...
I love your bag! I can't believe it was your first one since it is so well done. Nice fabric choice.
1/19/08 0:50 AM
drdeez said...
Nice bag and very nice review. I wasn't sure how you put in feet though. Can you explain what they are and how they are inserted? Thanks and sew more bags so we can benefit from your experience!!!
1/19/08 8:43 AM
SarahSM said...
Re, the feet: So handbag feet are these do-dads (yes, that's the technical name) that you basically screw into the base of your bag so that the bag sits on those, rather than the bag's base. Mine were $5 or so and were the plastic type---since those were the only black ones I could find. It helps keep your fabric from getting dirty and gross and looks pretty cool too. With my bag, it really helped to keep the sides from slouching over the base as well. They contain two pieces each: the piece that has a screw on one end that is inserted from the inside of the bag and the cap that makes up the actual "foot." I inserted them (and I don't know if this is "right" but it's the way I do it) by stabbing a philips head screw driver through a spot I've measured and marked (I use a screw driver the same size as the screws that are on the feet). I then poke the feet through to the exterior bottom of the bag, and screw the caps on. It's a pretty quick and dirty operation. I've also heard of people using large brads, like you can get at office and craft stores and some of these come in unusual shapes and colors. I really like the way they look for structured handbags. You can find these (and lots of other intriguing notions) in the bag making supplies section of larger craft and fabric stores.
1/19/08 4:42 PM
berns1 said...
Wow! Thanks for such a great review of pro and con..It helps soo much. I'm going to buy this pattern, and now see the pitfalls and advantages.. Great tip on the feet. Do you Scotchgaurd to protect from dust and dirt? berni1
3/22/08 8:25 PM
cnp71203 said...
This bag is so amazingly awesome that it defies words! I am crazy in love with the fabric.
9/28/08 3:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Other Merckwaerdigh BHS10 Bras
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 3/7/12
Read Review

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Open Toe Slingbacks Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Open Toe Slingbacks Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2638 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by sachalsmom on 3/10/11
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chelsea
Chelsea

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1333 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1333 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1268 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1268 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us