SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Suitability> 5004 (Misses & Childrens Hunt Coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 607 times 
Reviewed by:Elle D
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elle Dstar
Member since: 4/12/07
Reviews: 5 (patterns: 5)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/08 7:52 PM
Last Updated:1/14/08 7:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elle D said... (1/16/08 8:29 AM) Reply
Thanks everyone for your kind comments. And thank you, Pattern Hacker, for the heads up on Kathleen's welt pocket tutorial. And then Kathleen chimes in. I'm just overwhelmed, but encouraged to try welt pockets. On scraps first!
Kay Y said... (1/15/08 6:35 PM) Reply
Well, that looks wonderful on your daughter!
avancleve said... (1/15/08 10:16 AM) Reply
What a wonderful jacket!
Kathleen Fasanella said... (1/15/08 9:22 AM) Reply
Elle, don't fear welt pockets. There's a multipart free tutorial on my site (fashion-incubator.com) that makes them easily. DH had never sewn anything in his life but his first set were perfect.
cindyann said... (1/15/08 8:36 AM) Reply
It looks fantastic! The pics of your daugher are super.
MelC said... (1/15/08 4:40 AM) Reply
Great job. Isn't it wonderful to have a pattern where you can choose the fabric and not have to go with what RTW offers. Plus I have no doubt that a RTW hunt coat is expensive. Before kids, I used to ride and show in Western events. My mom made chaps and things for me too. Lucky girl! Thanks for the nice review of this pattern.
MichelleE said... (1/15/08 0:44 AM) Reply
What a wonderful job and congrats to your daughter on winning the class. I have made a couple of suitability patterns and the instructions are superb!
Lori V said... (1/14/08 11:13 PM) Reply
Great jacket and very impressive project to start back into sewing.
Transferred profile said... (1/14/08 9:21 PM) Reply
Elle, how very satisfying it must be to produce such a lovely jacket, as well as to start a sewing blog. Your SWAP selections are very elegant - I'm looking forward to seeing what you do with all of that ivory wool crepe! BTW you may want to take a look at Kathleen Fasanella's PR review from 1/11/08 - she refers to a template on her blog that she used to teach her husband how to make flawless welt pockets. (Would that I had such a tutor...)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 6996

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review