SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2008-125 (Blouse with pleated sleeves)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1044 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 134 people
patterns reviewed: 143
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/16/08 10:12 AM
Last Updated:1/16/08 10:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 33 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LindsayT said...
Very, very pretty and feminine blouse. Thanks for the detailed review.
1/16/08 10:16 AM
Teri said...
What a lovely blouse. I love the sleeves and the white linen makes it so classic. Great job.
1/16/08 10:27 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Fantastic shirt, and Burda are right it looks really good with the vest too. Thanks for all the detailed tips, I will have to check out your collar construction, it looks so professional.
1/16/08 10:29 AM
Judy Wentz said...
Oh ma gosh this is outstanding. I would have never given this pattern a second look....You should be so proud of your work.
1/16/08 10:38 AM
MissCelie said...
ohmigosh. I am 100 PERCENT IN LOVE WITH THIS. Adore it with the vest. ADORE. Make me one! Make me one! Thanks too for the turorial!
1/16/08 10:49 AM
Vintage Joan said...
This is beautiful, and your tutorials are extremely helpful. Thank you!!
1/16/08 10:58 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very lovely blouse! Your collar is perfect too - beautiful work! You're giving the new issue a workout - yippee for BWOF! :-)
1/16/08 11:08 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Bee-you-tee-ful! Okay. I want one too.
1/16/08 11:51 AM
wanderlustor said...
I love the long cuffs on this blouse. It looks great!
1/16/08 12:38 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, man, those SLEEVES. :o) I love the controlled fullness, if you will, and in white linen, no less. :o) GREAT idea on marking all those little pleats. Wonder why I never thought of that? And your collar with stand is PERFECTION.
1/16/08 1:46 PM
eileen said...
You did a very professional job on the blouse - it looks great. Also, I printed out the pdf of the collar with stand. I tend to not stick with a process and use the instructions that come with each pattern. This will be very helpful for me. Thank you.
1/16/08 1:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
Ok, I'm booking a flight to the Netherlands right now to come get that blouse. Oh heck, I guess I should just buy the magazine and make one. Can you guess that I love it? The fabric is beautiful and the mix of tailored and feminine details is perfect.
1/16/08 2:44 PM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful!! The sheer fabric really shows off the pleats!
1/16/08 3:57 PM
Birgitte said...
Your blouse is gorgeous! And great idea to combine the two patterns- the fit is perfect!
1/16/08 4:21 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful work, and beautiful on you Sigrid! Great pressing work too ... it's linen and yet I don't see even a tiny wrinkle.
1/16/08 5:08 PM
Peggy L said...
Stunning!
1/16/08 5:40 PM
Karendee said...
Beautifully executed design. I found this blouse stunningly beautiful, similar to very high quality RTW. Congratulations.
1/16/08 6:15 PM
VtMartha said...
Gorgeous, Sigrid!
1/16/08 6:20 PM
Karen6790 said...
This is just gorgeous. I love the sleeves. Wasn't planning to make this, but I think you've changed my mind.
1/16/08 7:17 PM
Marji said...
I've so enjoyed reading your reviews lately. This is a beautiful blouse. Great tips on the marking for the pleats, the collar/collarstand, and construction. Beautiful. I'm anxiously awaiting my copy of this issue.
1/16/08 8:30 PM
Elaray said...
The blouse looks really great. You did a wonderful job on every aspect. The details in your review are very helpful. I'm going to pull out my copy of Coffin's book!
1/16/08 8:59 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very beautiful blouse. I love the tucks.
1/16/08 10:06 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful blouse, Sigrid. Thank you for all the wonderful tutorials.
1/16/08 10:16 PM
CypGrl said...
Looks like a designer blouse to me! The sleeves are so elegant.
1/17/08 0:53 AM
LauraLo said...
This is a beautiful blouse, Sigrid (what a gorgeous fabric too) and a very helpful review. Thank you for the collar stand tutorial, can't wait to try it
1/17/08 7:25 AM
kmouse said...
This review is so helpful, I don't know where to start! Lovely blouse. I would never have picked it out in my issue as a must try. Great reminder that I don't have to sew EVERY detail on every pattern. Tutorial links abound. I have really been dragging my heels over garment sewing the past year. You have inspired me!
1/17/08 7:30 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful blouse, Sigrid! Thanks very much for such a detailed collar tutorial...a construction that I am still learnng about. I will definitely try your suggestions.
1/17/08 8:29 AM
Liana said...
A beautiful blouse, and the collar looks perfect! A great fit as well. Very nice!
1/17/08 11:59 AM
Bonnie O said...
Beautiful blouse! I really love the sleeves.
1/17/08 12:37 PM
jnamcd said...
Oh, I absolutely LOVE this! Your workmanship is superb --and review is so helpful! Thank you for taking the time to write this review --and sharing your beautiful new blouse with us all!
1/17/08 10:40 PM
KrystalL said...
I fell in love with this top when I saw it on the website, and I just subscribed to BWOF today. Great job with the shirt. And thanks for the collar stand tutorial. I'm going to use it for my McCall's top.
1/18/08 9:15 AM
ChristineX said...
OMG what an elegant blouse! I love it with the vest too!
1/18/08 6:09 PM
Kay Y said...
Your blouse is perfect and looks fabulous on you. Thanks so much for the collar tutorial. It is so well put together!
1/19/08 11:45 AM
QueenZ said...
Well Done!!!
1/20/08 4:56 PM
Mahler said...
Your blouse is so so so beautiful. Simple and beautifuly done and with a perfect fit. What a gorgeous look. You must receive tones of comments when you wear it. Really wonderbar !
1/22/08 10:22 PM
Heatherrique said...
Ah! Such a breathtaking blouse! I like the details, style and impeccable fit!
2/2/08 7:38 PM
Grammy Gin said...
What a great job you did on this blouse, Sigrid. It is so flattering! ;-)
2/15/08 9:08 AM
Athene said...
An extremely beautiful blouse.
7/23/08 10:38 PM
Obrooks770 said...
I love this blouse and your workmanship is awesome. GREAT JOB! Also thanks for the tutorial.
7/24/08 12:50 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding!
7/24/08 1:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Butterick 5744

photo
by: LTC

Review
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now