SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1058 (straight trousers)

Viewed 992 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/19/08 0:48 AM
Last Updated:1/19/08 0:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Well, by gosh, if I could get by with wearing a wild print like this in a pair of pants, I would! Yours look GREAT on you. :o) I love them!
1/20/08 1:50 AM
Luckylibbet said...
ITA with Karla on the creases at the back. But aside from that, the fit is good. They actually look like fun pants.
1/19/08 12:57 PM
rosannec said...
Nice pants...I think the fabric would be nice as a summer sheath dress, actually, accessorised with a white or light pink cardigan or wrap. That way the fabric can pretty much stand on it's own. Do you have enough left for this?
1/19/08 12:47 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Looking at your side view, I'd suspect an athletic front thigh curve as a reason for those creases in back. I think they are actually strain lines that are created when the front of the pants try to borrow fabric from the back. (And I know this because I am intimately familiar with the problem and have passed it on to the next generation.) But your pants look good enough that I'm putting this pattern on my wish list, so congratulations and thanks a WHOLE bunch! ;-)
1/19/08 12:03 PM
lmg said...
Great looking pants, flowers and all. As for the creases, I have always wondered about that. Taking them out does make them less comfortable (ask me how I know) and fit more like jeans. The pants look fine to me.
1/19/08 11:40 AM
Kay Y said...
I think the clue to your creases is that they occur in close fitting trousers. Because of the close fit, you need extra length in the back for activities of normal daily life (like sitting and walking). The pattern piece is less "upright" through the crotch and CB. When you are not using it up by bending your body, the length has to go somewhere and it forms creases. By contrast, looser trousers accommodate body movement inside the garment and don't need the additional length. The CB seam is more vertical which means the trousers can fall nicely off your backside. If you altered these to remove the extra length, the trousers would not be as comfortable. I'd not monkey with it because they look great, flowers and all!
1/19/08 11:06 AM
Cody7 said...
Hi Julesberry, I think the creases underneath your bottom are caused because you have a flat bottom. In the book Pants for Real People by Palmer/Pletsch they suggest pulling them up at the centre back until the wrinkles disappear. They say if this creates 'smiles' at the front you may have to let out the front inseams. As I have a very full bottom I am not an expert on this alteration. Good luck with future pants!
1/19/08 1:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8191

photo
by: Cosso

Review
Sew Sweet Saffron Romper

photo
by: brissmith

Review
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now