SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4074 (Mock wrap dress)

52 more reviews
Viewed 2150 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/08 12:45 PM
Last Updated:7/24/08 9:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
53 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Of all the wonderful outfits you've made, this dress is my current favorite! It looks fabulous on you. I love the color and the print and the shape. Very sophisticated, modern and feminine. Love it!
1/24/08 1:12 PM
KrystalL said...
Thanks for the review. I plan on making the top and skirt this spring.
1/24/08 1:26 PM
Sic said...
Cute dress! Red is a great color on you!
1/24/08 1:32 PM
Lauri Jean said...
You are so talented. I always look forward to seeing what you've created.
1/24/08 1:40 PM
squilts said...
Great use for the fabric, I have also reached the conclusion that I don't wear print tops.
1/24/08 1:56 PM
Sew_Creative said...
really fabulous darling!!
1/24/08 2:03 PM
Jodi B. said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for reviewing it. It's in my stash and I can see I'll have to pull this out soon.
1/24/08 2:11 PM
Birgitte said...
2 HOURS?? That's just amazing! This looks so fantastic on you!! And I agree; the fabric was just meant for this dress- and with those boots! You're stylin', girl!
1/24/08 2:14 PM
cindy-lou said...
Dagummit! Another 'must-have' from nicegirl. But I do own the pattern... and some fabric... and I've got two hours...
1/24/08 2:19 PM
Braemar said...
I have just bought this pattern and am keen to get some fabric and make it up! This looks really lovely on you!
1/24/08 2:46 PM
didda said...
my favorite color is red, and i have a whole box full of nothing but paisleys, they are my favorite prints. so i really like the dress. of course, i like most of what you make.
1/24/08 2:55 PM
Markie1 said...
Nicegirl, this certainly doesn't look like a dress you made in two hours! You look great it it, I love the fabric and you wear it with your usual flair. You also look as if you are at a professional photo session!
1/24/08 3:46 PM
edupraz said...
Love this. I really ought to get this pattern!
1/24/08 3:56 PM
carolynw said...
Totallyt wonderful - I have this pattern and made the top a few times and wondered what the dress would look like. Not going to pretend I will look the absolute knock out that you do but am going to try it. Awesome job as usual
1/24/08 4:07 PM
marjenann said...
Utterly fabulous!!
1/24/08 4:11 PM
frame said...
Very flattering. Nicely done.
1/24/08 4:31 PM
Linda G said...
Wow, nice dress nice girl!!!!!
1/24/08 4:56 PM
LindsayT said...
I like it! Sometimes speed sewing is really rewarding, don't you think? And props for your photo drape!
1/24/08 5:14 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, I love the red on you.
1/24/08 5:25 PM
CShelley said...
Nice dress Nicegirl! Hard to believe it only took 2 hours. I might pick that one up myself. Thanks for the review.
1/24/08 6:29 PM
RuthieSews said...
Waaaaaaay cooler than the pattern envelope. I passed this over thinking 'frumpy' but its great!
1/24/08 6:32 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Two hours! Gee it takes me that long to decide what to make. I love it, extremely flattering and looks like you can dress this one up or down quite easily.
1/24/08 6:42 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty dress, and the color is wonderful on you!!
1/24/08 6:58 PM
Em's Summer said...
Great style and I love the fabric!!!
1/24/08 7:42 PM
Karen6790 said...
A 2 hour dress? Talk about a fabulous instant gratification project. Hmmm, I'm more or less pattern fasting right now but I've added this to my list. Fabulous, as usual.
1/24/08 9:09 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful dress that is very flattering on you. Great job.
1/24/08 10:55 PM
ryan's mom said...
Oh. My. Gosh!!! I LOVE it!!! What an awesome dress, especially in that print. And I have this pattern too. Was thinking about making it in a knit I got from Kashi. You look fabulous--and I love it with your boots too! And there are still (shamefully) too many PR Weekend 2006 fabrics in my stash.
1/25/08 8:23 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous! I passed over this one too, but now I have to give it a second look.
1/25/08 10:13 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Pattern companies should hire you. Your versions always look better than those on the pattern envelopes. I wouldn't have given this pattern a second look, but it looks fab on you!
1/25/08 11:03 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Being inspired by your fantastic creation in red, I purchased some red knit last night. Now if only I spent time at the gym, too . . . . You are truly an inspiration, and I am in awe of your speediness!
1/25/08 11:24 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very pretty dress! I love my top and skirt I made from this pattern. The fabric you used it great too!
1/25/08 12:36 PM
Huldra said...
I never bought this pattern, because I didn't realise it could look this fantastic! Wow.
1/25/08 1:11 PM
cindyann said...
Very pretty! I just love a red dress.
1/25/08 4:06 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Nice print! 2 hrs man....your sew fast! It takes me that long just to plan a garment.
1/25/08 4:34 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ooo pretty!!
1/25/08 7:58 PM
Dee2 said...
Love your dress! Great fabric choice too. Amazingly pretty for an investment of 2 hours time!
1/25/08 8:22 PM
Kim Winson said...
Awesome dress! I've made the top in this pattern and there are nebulous plans to make the wrap dress. Thanks for the review!
1/26/08 3:41 PM
Heatherrique said...
Ay ay ay! NiceGirl, you are a darling valentine in this dress! Marvelous dress! I love it!
1/26/08 9:34 PM
CypGrl said...
Something appropriate for work -- and you say it is quick. Perfect!
7/24/08 10:26 AM
pterion said...
Both versions are terrific. Fun yellow and black fabric!
7/24/08 10:36 AM
Michelle L said...
Love the yellow version! I just picked up some of the same fabric myself, and I was so excited to see your review with it made up into a dress. It looks great. Thanks for the warning about the show-through.
7/24/08 10:41 AM
Gelbean said...
Another great version of this dress. Your original review inspired me to buy this pattern. Keep the reviews coming. I love to see what you have created.
7/24/08 11:15 AM
SueV said...
both look great! Thansk for the review
7/24/08 11:47 AM
Carol B. said...
Your reviews are so enjoyable to read! They're very honest and fun to read. The dress is adorable. You really know what looks good on you.
7/24/08 12:25 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Love that sleeveless version - it really looks great with that fabric!
7/24/08 12:25 PM
Elona said...
What appealing dresses! EVen though you had to take out an ungodly amount for your alterations, it looks terrific. Whatever works, eh?
7/24/08 1:30 PM
Twinset said...
Cute dress! Those colors are fantastic on you!
7/24/08 3:34 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love your sleeveless version - great use of that fabric!
7/24/08 4:47 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Adorable!
7/24/08 9:32 PM
DorothyK said...
Great dress. Very flattering.
7/25/08 1:44 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I like both version of this dress.
7/25/08 3:10 PM
phthooey said...
Beautiful!
7/26/08 9:05 PM
slt said...
Love both dresses and thanks for the detailed photos. I always learn from your sewing reviews. I love both versions and just bought the pattern today.
9/9/08 6:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 266905-1000

photo
by: Lisa in NH

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now