Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5087 (Front wrap jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 857 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:jent
photo
Friend of PR
About jentstar
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/08 2:51 PM
Last Updated:1/28/08 7:59 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Very pretty jacket. I love the charmeuse tie belt!
1/28/08 3:13 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous jacket, I love the belt. Great job on your first garment in in years, you did a fantastic job.
1/28/08 3:39 PM
didda said...
nice jacket. yet another example of a PR member making a design look so much better than examples shown on the pattern envelopes.
1/28/08 3:40 PM
Schnauzer said...
Your jacket is lovely! I agree, PR is definitely the place to come for inspiration and motivation. Well done!
1/28/08 3:42 PM
Kath in ON said...
Beautiful jacket! I'd love to see a picture of you wearing it.
1/28/08 3:47 PM
LindsayT said...
Ditto to seeing a photo of you wearing it! Very nice.
1/28/08 4:15 PM
slanden99 said...
Very pretty jacket!
1/28/08 4:34 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Oh that is *SO* pretty!!
1/28/08 4:44 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Oh that is stunning! I'm a big fan of the creme palette and that lining looks delicious!!
1/28/08 5:03 PM
chinel said...
So cute!! You made me want to sew this jacket too!! By the way, I love the belt
1/28/08 5:07 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Oh, how timely. I've got some winter white wool crepe and I've been trying to decide what pattern to use for a jacket from it...this looks great! Hm.....
1/28/08 5:22 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely gorgeous - love the color and you have done a great job on this jacket - I love the belt - really adds something
1/28/08 5:41 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Beautiful jacket, congratulations! I am sure you look wonderful in it.
1/28/08 5:48 PM
Riordan said...
How pretty--I love it!!! Great jacket!
1/28/08 6:04 PM
Sharon M said...
Your jacket turned out beautifully! It looks so different from my version just because of the fabric and belt. I agree - that collar is so much fun to wear!
1/28/08 6:46 PM
ryansmumAria said...
FABULOUS!
1/28/08 7:15 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful. I can't believe this is your first jacket and you added a lining to it. Good for you! I find Connie Long's book Easy Guide to Linings to be very helpful for adding linings to patterns that don't have them. I'm sure you'll get lots of compliments on your pretty jacket.
1/28/08 7:26 PM
jlg said...
Ooh, so pretty. Glad you are back to sewing.
1/28/08 7:27 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Beautiful jacket and it really looks nice on you. Great job!
1/28/08 8:11 PM
Amy J said...
this is darling!
1/28/08 8:15 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This is gorgeous, what a great way to get back into sewing. I really love the collar and the fabric.
1/28/08 9:59 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Welcome back to the world of sewing. You have certainly hit the ground running. Your jacket is lovely.
1/28/08 11:16 PM
CynthiaSue said...
fabulous. way better than pattern envelope. you carried off this color perfectly. looks designer.
1/29/08 2:30 AM
Babs42 said...
What a beauty! The color is amazing and you did a wonderful job on this!
1/29/08 8:15 AM
marjenann said...
OMG!! Your jacket is fantasti!! Your are so (sew) talented!
1/29/08 9:07 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful jacket - and perfect for this time of year!
1/29/08 11:01 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
This is a lovely coat and the charmeuse tie belt gives it that added detail you can't find in RTW! Thanks for the review.
1/29/08 1:37 PM
Hilary said...
Your jacket is really beautiful-I love the belt you made-it's perfect !
1/29/08 9:03 PM
Boo97 said...
Oh Jent your coat is absolutely beautiful!
1/29/08 9:50 PM
velosewer said...
Thank you for this review. I'm about to trial this and your jacket is so dreamy. It was definitely your influence.
7/25/11 0:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Butterick 5523 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by aleah42 on 2/22/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2010-119 Dress with Bow
photo
Review by mpastinell... on 3/17/11
Read Review

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4896 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4896 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us