Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 4127 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/03 8:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Great dress Deepika and no visible stitching on the right side is not only RTW but also COUTURE
4/27/03 9:10 PM
AnneM said...
I'm still thinking about this pattern - I guess I will have to "just get it". :) I really have been thinking about this since I first saw it. Your dress came out so lovely that I will have to move this up my list. Thanks for the review & the construction notes.
4/27/03 9:11 PM
jlg said...
Deepika, it looks fantastic on you.
4/27/03 9:23 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Deepika, this dress looks spectacular on you! I'm going to have to get this pattern!
4/27/03 9:53 PM
Lynngray said...
Deepika, you look wonderful in the dress and color also. Great review as always.
4/27/03 10:10 PM
Diane E said...
Wow wow wow! This is beautiful. I love the color and shape. Now where will G take you out to dinner.......
4/27/03 10:17 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful Deepika, you and the dress! Great review. Do you know any good sources for Rayon knit? I'd love to try it! -Ann
4/27/03 11:49 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Very stylish and the lettuce edging was the perfect choice for hem. Great job!
4/27/03 11:49 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
The dress looks great, and a good color for you too. Great job!
4/28/03 0:06 AM
Pam Z said...
You look beautiful in your new dress :) Lovely results!
4/28/03 1:09 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow! You're right -- very RTW! Great job!
4/28/03 1:09 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Love the color and style on you. Simply TDF!
4/28/03 9:43 AM
Deepika said...
Wow! Thank you so much for such nice comments on the dress. I love the fabric but the only thing is that it will show all the lumps and bumps (Shh... I am holding my stomach in while taking the picture ;-)) I guess any knit fabric with good stretch and drape would work. The lettuce edging was the first time I tried it and since the fabric wasn't too thin I got "whiskers". They are not very noticable but I'd like to practice lettuce edging more. Gorgeous things no I dont know where to get Rayon lycra. This was a gift from Gigi. I was telling Gagan (DH) that he HAS to take me out now ;-)
4/28/03 9:57 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Your dress turned out fantastic! It really shows off your figure. :-)
4/28/03 10:14 AM
Skymom said...
Totally stunning, Deepika. The dress is really, really elegant, and what a wonderful color on you. About the rayon knit: did you pretreat it, and if so, how? Rayon scares me because it can shrink so much, and not evenly, either--I have a rayon knit t-shirt that gets an inch shorter and wider every time it goes into the laundry (mostly I can stretch it to a wearable, if cropped size), and I would hate to make such a terrific dress and have it do the same. I love the rayon/polyester/lycra blends that you can find in RTW, but I don't think I've ever seen yardage in that mix, alas. How did you do the lettuce hem--with a 3-thread rollled hem? I've gotten those whiskery things when roll-hemming wovens and rib-knits, but not flat knits. Maybe your stitch length could be just a tiny bit shorter? Another trick is to leave the cutting width pretty wide (most sergers instruct you to use a narrow cutting width), so there's more fabric within the stitch to roll; that can beef up the hem slightly, but may prevent threads from escaping, too. Gosh, if I had a figure like yours (I guess I'd need be to 10 years younger!), I would wear that dress, too.
4/28/03 10:30 AM
Lou. said...
Love this dress Deepika, it looks great and I think "NEED" it!!
4/28/03 11:17 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great color and dynamite fit on you, Deepika. Love the lettuce edge!
4/28/03 2:42 PM
Eileen said...
Deepika, your dress is really wonderful. I've made five in different fabrics and wear them all. I love the lettuce edging and will use that on my next one. For me these make great "wear to work" dresses with a matching cardigan. I really like the way the V-neck is made.
4/28/03 3:18 PM
AnneM said...
I have round nice rayon / lycra at TrimFabric.com, although I don't know if it a regularly stocked item.
4/28/03 3:34 PM
Carol Wisman said...
Deepika, That dress is GREAT! I totally LOVE it. Beatiful Job! You might try "shaving" off those wiskers w/ an old electric shaver, a tip I read in Threads (April?), not a sweater "Depiller" but an actual electric shaver.
4/28/03 5:28 PM
Deepika said...
Skymom come to think of it my stitch length was about 2... Thanks for the suggestion on changing the cutting width. Carol yeah I read that tip on the electric shaver too! How clever. I'll have to try that. AnneM if you are talking about the matt jersey from trimfabric.com then its very polyestery. I personally dont feel comfortable in it but its perfect for this dress! Eileen thanks again for a good description of your alterations. They really helped me. I too want to make a cardigan for this... I even found a cute pattern. What do you think? Thanks again everyone for your nice comments.
4/28/03 6:26 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Deepika, Lovely pattern and fabric/color choice! I see what the designer has done with the semi-sleeve cap that you are a tad uncomfortable with is to provide a slimming and 'visual balance' in coordination with the slightly flared hem along with the slightly 'retro' feel to the design. I think a sleeveless treatment would be OK but would slightly eliminate the overall visual effect, experiment and have fun! I can easily see this in a cotton jersey knit with small black polkadot with white background and maybe a 1/4" black trim accenting the V-neck with the sleeve caps eliminated for a breezy 'springtime' style and worn with a black sash, black sandals and broad rimmed hat-something fun to wear to a spectator event!
4/28/03 9:06 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Oh Deepika, what a lovey thing you are! Inside and out. That dress on you makes me dream of my young adulthood. If I were just 20 years younger I'd run out and buy that pattern too. But I still wouldn't look as stunning as you do! - Sherril
4/28/03 9:14 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Just wanted to add this, if you want to do this in a fabric with a pattern you'll need to make sure to 'match' the pattern along the seam lines. If you decide to do this perhaps bringing the pattern with you and laying is out in the store this way you know the pieces are laid out properly and you buy the correct yardage allowing for the seamline pattern matching!
4/28/03 9:17 PM
AnneM said...
I was talking about a rayon slinky that they had, but I looked & they don't have it any more. Thanks again for this review; I really like this style.
4/28/03 10:03 PM
alex said...
The dress is gorgeous, and I like the shouders on you. BTW, I edited your points for the new tech's and stash yardage (odd numbers round up.)
4/28/03 10:56 PM
B. Peg said...
Nice. (...i'm jealous!...)
4/30/03 4:27 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
WOW Deepika, You look Dynamite !
1/18/05 12:16 PM
ryan's mom said...
I'm reviewing this pattern because I'm going to make it soon and all I can say is "WOW!" Your dress looks better than the pattern envelope by far! So lovely!
12/16/05 7:56 PM
magsfs said...
beautiful job; it's gorgeous on you.
11/10/08 2:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 6489
photo
Review by JustineSew... on 7/29/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Olivia and Oliver Pea Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Olivia and Oliver Pea Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2798
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 5/31/09
Read Review

Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1393 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1393 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us