SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-118 (Hooded Sweatshirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1003 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Favored by: 226 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/08 7:54 AM
Last Updated:1/29/08 7:56 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MarijaSLO said...
I think the sweater is a success, although you won't use the pockets much. I love reading your reviews and your blog.
1/29/08 8:02 AM
cindyann said...
Very cute, Cidell. I looks great with the matching pants.
1/29/08 8:03 AM
MarijaSLO said...
Woops. Double post.
1/29/08 8:03 AM
Babs42 said...
Sorry it was a hassle to sew because it turned out great. The color is gorgeous on your dark skin.
1/29/08 8:09 AM
said...
Looks great and very comfortable. As always, I enjoyed your review and great tips on construction.
1/29/08 8:24 AM
Sue Anfang said...
I love this on you...I think it's perfect! In the spring you will get tons of wear from this!! Thanks for the review!
1/29/08 8:29 AM
Twinset said...
Love, love this top! Great color too! Looks very soft and cosy.
1/29/08 8:31 AM
BeckyC said...
Your version of this top is adorable! It's beautiful in the blue velour. I've got this pattern and plan to make it soon, so I really appreciate your thoughtful review!
1/29/08 8:35 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Love the colour on you and its such an expensive looking outfit. Sorry it was a pain to make though.
1/29/08 8:46 AM
LindsayT said...
I like it! It's very flattering to you.
1/29/08 8:57 AM
marjenann said...
Great yoga set, with lots of style!!! Looks fab!
1/29/08 8:57 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very cute top.
1/29/08 9:17 AM
Hilary said...
I really love your top! What a pretty color~it's a shame it was a pain, but the results are really great! I wish I had this issue!
1/29/08 9:35 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Well drat, Cidell. Your top looks so good on you, I'm just sorry it gave you such grief. I have a piece of velour set aside for this project, but now you've got me concerned. Thanks for the warning about the seams!
1/29/08 9:36 AM
Seaspur said...
I'm just about finished making this one and like you, I find that it is quite snug. However, I just sewed the seams normally, didn't attempt the faux flat-fell and it was easy to put together. I'm having problems with the cuffs though. They are just too small if cut as per BWOF instructions. Your version looks wonderful!
1/29/08 10:10 AM
nicegirl said...
I think it looks more "fitted" than "snug" and is great on you.
1/29/08 11:22 AM
pterion said...
This looks fabulous on you. I know velour can be tricky, but the delicious softness of the finished garment often makes it worth it.
1/29/08 11:22 AM
loohoo44 said...
Props to you for finishing this. I think the style looks great on you and the fabric looks cozy. :-)
1/29/08 11:24 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Love the way this looks on you, gorgeous fabric even though it gave you fits !
1/29/08 11:45 AM
michellep74 said...
I love how your version of this turned out. Sorry to hear that the velour was such a pain--especially since this top looks so great in velour!
1/29/08 12:31 PM
Birgitte said...
This looks so cute-cute-cute on you!!! Great idea to use wonder tape and the walking foot- through the tears you saw the light- smart girl!
1/29/08 1:39 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Cidell, thanks for the review. I have some fabric set aside for this one. It looks so beautiful on you (Love the color!) but I'm sorry to hear it gave you trouble. I'm a bit surprised that there is seam allowances already! Weird for BWOF!! Good thing you mentioned it. Thanks for the review - I'll be paying close attention to the fit while I make this one
1/29/08 2:02 PM
Linda G said...
I like your top, I can imagine that slippery fabric was a fight on those decorative seams, sweatshirt fabric was a snap. When I made it I did not realize all of the seam allowances were included, I thought only the hem, if that is the case I would have been way too tight because I added seam allowances, I did not notice that the arms are tight, It is close feeling not a sweatshirt feel.
1/29/08 2:08 PM
Markie1 said...
Cidell, I always enjoy your reviews! I think this looks fantastic on you, and the fitted quality to it accentuates your little waist, as well as where the pocket is placed. I agree, on the pattern it looks lower, but I think where it falls on yours really flatters you! Happy endings are so nice, eh?
1/29/08 2:44 PM
ChristineX said...
It looks great!!
1/29/08 2:45 PM
crisford said...
Wow, I am amazed--this looks so good I think I'll have to try it too!
1/29/08 3:48 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Although there were a few unpleasant surprises, this little hooded sweatshirt, together with your pants, really shows off your perfect little figure. Lovely. -Lily
1/29/08 4:30 PM
jnamcd said...
oh man, me too--I have some velour set aside, and you've got me worried, too! but I do think yours turned out super looking --and your review is very helpful --as I will definatley increase my arm size --mine are always too tight!
1/29/08 4:54 PM
kim*brown said...
Ok....I really like this and the color!
1/29/08 6:22 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Wow I thought your photo was from the magazine, it looks amazing. Thanks for pointing it it has seam allowances included in the pattern, I would have missed that I'm sure!
1/29/08 6:56 PM
Boo97 said...
Cidell, love the outfit! I always enjoy your reviews.
1/29/08 9:23 PM
Fran G said...
Color is gorgeous and the styling takes it up a notch from "sweatshirt"..
1/30/08 7:36 AM
Fabricgurl said...
Cidell, this is really nice. To me the top is really cute the way it turned out. I love the matching pants.
1/30/08 4:32 PM
Betsybobbin said...
Looks like it fits you perfectly! Lovely color on you. Thanks for the review. I've had this one on my list.
1/31/08 9:35 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very flattering. Nice job!
1/31/08 3:41 PM
Gold said...
Very cute!Love the color!
1/31/08 6:05 PM
sewglenda said...
This is a beautiful outfit. You did a very professional job.
1/31/08 9:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
brerrabbit.com The Wiggle Dress

photo
by: Milenushka

Review