SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-118 (Hooded Sweatshirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1003 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 150
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 129
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/08 7:54 AM
Last Updated:1/29/08 7:56 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MarijaSLO said...
I think the sweater is a success, although you won't use the pockets much. I love reading your reviews and your blog.
1/29/08 8:02 AM
cindyann said...
Very cute, Cidell. I looks great with the matching pants.
1/29/08 8:03 AM
MarijaSLO said...
Woops. Double post.
1/29/08 8:03 AM
Babs42 said...
Sorry it was a hassle to sew because it turned out great. The color is gorgeous on your dark skin.
1/29/08 8:09 AM
said...
Looks great and very comfortable. As always, I enjoyed your review and great tips on construction.
1/29/08 8:24 AM
Sue Anfang said...
I love this on you...I think it's perfect! In the spring you will get tons of wear from this!! Thanks for the review!
1/29/08 8:29 AM
Twinset said...
Love, love this top! Great color too! Looks very soft and cosy.
1/29/08 8:31 AM
BeckyC said...
Your version of this top is adorable! It's beautiful in the blue velour. I've got this pattern and plan to make it soon, so I really appreciate your thoughtful review!
1/29/08 8:35 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Love the colour on you and its such an expensive looking outfit. Sorry it was a pain to make though.
1/29/08 8:46 AM
LindsayT said...
I like it! It's very flattering to you.
1/29/08 8:57 AM
marjenann said...
Great yoga set, with lots of style!!! Looks fab!
1/29/08 8:57 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very cute top.
1/29/08 9:17 AM
Hilary said...
I really love your top! What a pretty color~it's a shame it was a pain, but the results are really great! I wish I had this issue!
1/29/08 9:35 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Well drat, Cidell. Your top looks so good on you, I'm just sorry it gave you such grief. I have a piece of velour set aside for this project, but now you've got me concerned. Thanks for the warning about the seams!
1/29/08 9:36 AM
Seaspur said...
I'm just about finished making this one and like you, I find that it is quite snug. However, I just sewed the seams normally, didn't attempt the faux flat-fell and it was easy to put together. I'm having problems with the cuffs though. They are just too small if cut as per BWOF instructions. Your version looks wonderful!
1/29/08 10:10 AM
nicegirl said...
I think it looks more "fitted" than "snug" and is great on you.
1/29/08 11:22 AM
pterion said...
This looks fabulous on you. I know velour can be tricky, but the delicious softness of the finished garment often makes it worth it.
1/29/08 11:22 AM
loohoo44 said...
Props to you for finishing this. I think the style looks great on you and the fabric looks cozy. :-)
1/29/08 11:24 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Love the way this looks on you, gorgeous fabric even though it gave you fits !
1/29/08 11:45 AM
michellep74 said...
I love how your version of this turned out. Sorry to hear that the velour was such a pain--especially since this top looks so great in velour!
1/29/08 12:31 PM
Birgitte said...
This looks so cute-cute-cute on you!!! Great idea to use wonder tape and the walking foot- through the tears you saw the light- smart girl!
1/29/08 1:39 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Cidell, thanks for the review. I have some fabric set aside for this one. It looks so beautiful on you (Love the color!) but I'm sorry to hear it gave you trouble. I'm a bit surprised that there is seam allowances already! Weird for BWOF!! Good thing you mentioned it. Thanks for the review - I'll be paying close attention to the fit while I make this one
1/29/08 2:02 PM
Linda G said...
I like your top, I can imagine that slippery fabric was a fight on those decorative seams, sweatshirt fabric was a snap. When I made it I did not realize all of the seam allowances were included, I thought only the hem, if that is the case I would have been way too tight because I added seam allowances, I did not notice that the arms are tight, It is close feeling not a sweatshirt feel.
1/29/08 2:08 PM
Markie1 said...
Cidell, I always enjoy your reviews! I think this looks fantastic on you, and the fitted quality to it accentuates your little waist, as well as where the pocket is placed. I agree, on the pattern it looks lower, but I think where it falls on yours really flatters you! Happy endings are so nice, eh?
1/29/08 2:44 PM
ChristineX said...
It looks great!!
1/29/08 2:45 PM
crisford said...
Wow, I am amazed--this looks so good I think I'll have to try it too!
1/29/08 3:48 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Although there were a few unpleasant surprises, this little hooded sweatshirt, together with your pants, really shows off your perfect little figure. Lovely. -Lily
1/29/08 4:30 PM
jnamcd said...
oh man, me too--I have some velour set aside, and you've got me worried, too! but I do think yours turned out super looking --and your review is very helpful --as I will definatley increase my arm size --mine are always too tight!
1/29/08 4:54 PM
kim*brown said...
Ok....I really like this and the color!
1/29/08 6:22 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Wow I thought your photo was from the magazine, it looks amazing. Thanks for pointing it it has seam allowances included in the pattern, I would have missed that I'm sure!
1/29/08 6:56 PM
Boo97 said...
Cidell, love the outfit! I always enjoy your reviews.
1/29/08 9:23 PM
Fran G said...
Color is gorgeous and the styling takes it up a notch from "sweatshirt"..
1/30/08 7:36 AM
Fabricgurl said...
Cidell, this is really nice. To me the top is really cute the way it turned out. I love the matching pants.
1/30/08 4:32 PM
Betsybobbin said...
Looks like it fits you perfectly! Lovely color on you. Thanks for the review. I've had this one on my list.
1/31/08 9:35 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very flattering. Nice job!
1/31/08 3:41 PM
Gold said...
Very cute!Love the color!
1/31/08 6:05 PM
sewglenda said...
This is a beautiful outfit. You did a very professional job.
1/31/08 9:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Burda 9581

photo
by: TanyaMT

Review
Vogue Patterns 8749

photo
by: Joyatee

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now