Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2007-115 (Jacket w/Front Pleats) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1236 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/08 8:20 AM
Last Updated:1/30/08 8:20 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
ooh I really like your elongated version, and that back is beautiful (I hadn't noticed it in the magazine). And I'm glad my WTF moment with the upside-down back facing helped you! We'll wear our strange jackets together and form some sort of weird cabal!
1/30/08 8:26 AM
Becky Coleman said...
What a coat! No doubt people will be asking where they can get one like it. Superb job and you certainly rose to the challenges it presented to you.
1/30/08 8:39 AM
cindy-lou said...
Love this jacket's shape and swing. Also love the paisley 'surprise' lining-- SO happy! You've made me itchy to try out a wool coat.
1/30/08 8:42 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Amazing job on this coat every step of the way! It's just gorgeous. I thoroughly enjoyed your review and photos.
1/30/08 8:45 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Excellent review and lovely coat. I couldn't figure out from the picture which pattern it was, a brilliantly simple idea to lengthen the jacket. Absolutely love the lining too!
1/30/08 8:57 AM
marjenann said...
I love your jacket!! It is unique, stylish and beautifully made!!! A real knock out!! I am going to re-read your great review too!
1/30/08 9:00 AM
JuliaS said...
This turned out lovely! I finished up a version of this recently, but I really love yours!
1/30/08 9:22 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the helpful review. I'm saving it for future reference as I have some gray wool intended for this same pattern. Where did you find your tabs? I havent found any anywhere and think I will probably have to make something up. As for the handstitched lining, I prefer to do mine that way. Case in point, today I started to put on my turquoise jacket and noticed that the shoulder pad is somehow slipping into the sleeve (I guess I'll really benefit from the hand stitches class at PR weekend). Thankfully, my lining hem is handstitched, so it will be easy to release part of the lining to reach up and fix that baby! I also really love how you used the contrast trim on the sleeves and back. I'm going to steal that idea Your new coat looks very unique - and very YOU. You have reinspired me to make this jacket.
1/30/08 9:47 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you so much, everyone! Nancywin, I got the closures at Pacific Trimming in NYC. M&J Trim in NYC also carries them and they are listed on their website: http://www.mjtrim.com/Catalog/Category/894513.aspx (for about twice what I paid). If you can wait until PR Weekend, I would bet there is a store in LA that sells them too.
1/30/08 10:05 AM
JulieP said...
What a great job! Thanks for all the detail information in your review and the great construction photos. As for bagging the coat lining, I developed a relatively eazy way to do it by machine when I made my first lined jacket in 2006. You have inspired me to go ahead and write up a review for that garment and maybe figure out how to post a tip. Thanks! I'll let you know when I've got it done.
1/30/08 11:20 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful coat - I bet you can't help but smile when you wear it! :)
1/30/08 11:32 AM
MissCelie said...
Beautiful!!!
1/30/08 11:50 AM
cmarie12 said...
The piping really makes the coat you!
1/30/08 1:21 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat, I can see why you received a compliment right away. I really like your contrasting fabric.
1/30/08 1:48 PM
Sigrid. said...
The idea to make it longer is super. It's a great coat in really your style. Will keep you smiling through the cold February month (because of all the heads turning your way to look at this beautiful coat)
1/30/08 3:28 PM
Birgitte said...
I just LOVE YOUR COAT! Great job on felting it too! And the lining fabric- using it to peek through here and there is just what I adore- just fabulously artistic!
1/30/08 4:32 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
What a beautiful coat !! I love it !!
1/30/08 5:19 PM
JulieP said...
I forgot to mention how much I loved the little peeks of the contrasting lining everywhere. It's a really great idea. It gives you the look of piping with a lot less work.
1/30/08 5:38 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'm SO impressed. I love the colors for you.
1/31/08 8:47 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Not much left to say, except that you will be fiercely dangerous in this avant garde coat! BTW, your problem solving skills are superb, too. -Lily
2/1/08 6:42 AM
charlotte287 said...
Very nice work. I like your enthusiasm and determination. Lots of helpful information.
2/8/08 3:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8696
photo
Review by mimi g. on 11/8/12
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8932
photo
Review by sensorydeb on 1/16/14
Read Review

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6913 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
McCalls 6913 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8670 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8670 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us