SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3078 (UFO-Dreadful Wrap Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1204 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/08 8:07 AM
Last Updated:1/31/08 8:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Fantastic save, the new look of your dress is a winner.
1/31/08 8:20 AM
Sic said...
Your determination and resulting success is very impressive. Congratulations - the dress is darling!
1/31/08 8:22 AM
Marji said...
Trena, I so feel your pain. I cannot imagine why we feel the need to finish some things that just give us no pleasure. I've been doing much the same thing and am also entering a bunch of less than wonderful projects, in my clean-up efforts. There is a reason UFO's are unfinished, aren't there. Anyway, you've ended up, ultimately with a very cute wearable dress. Congratulations.
1/31/08 9:00 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Congratulations on such a fabulouso salvage job! I hate failures, too, and have been known to completely disassemble a project in order to fix it so it's wearable; I understand. It's funny...sometimes those salvaged things become wardrobe favorites. Sorta like giving birth...after a while, the greatness of the kid induces forgetfulness of what it took to get 'em there... ;) That *is* a really pretty print.
1/31/08 9:10 AM
carolynw said...
I am happy for you that you have this out of yoru system and glad you decided not to let it bare all except your belly button!! Congratulations on sticking with this - I know it must have been the least fun thing you have done in sewing!!
1/31/08 9:27 AM
Huldra said...
Wow, I almost don't believe that patterns that bad exist! Congratulations on being able so save it, the fabric is really pretty.
1/31/08 9:35 AM
SexiSadi said...
I just love the fabric! Great job on the save.
1/31/08 9:47 AM
pterion said...
Nice save! I don't know that I would have stuck with it after all the initial frustrations. I like the look of the fabric too.
1/31/08 10:21 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Most definately FAB!! Great save and here's hoping that spring gives you new feelings toward this dress!!
1/31/08 10:24 AM
Ann Smith said...
An incredible turn-around. You did a really creative save on this. It looks great now!
1/31/08 11:25 AM
j222b said...
Hey, "Slapdash" you made the Wall Street Journal today (1.31.08 White Wool article by Terri Agins ): http://online.wsj.com/article/SB120175294172331257.html?mod=todays_us_personal_journal
1/31/08 11:28 AM
EastwoodFan said...
From a fellow Virgo - I do have the "neat/organized" gene. However, it keeps me from doing as much sewing as I'd like, because I'm often reorganizing my sewing area. I just did that recently. I think it's great that you complete so many projects and I enjoy reading your reviews and blog. Great re-do on the dress too!
1/31/08 12:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great save, nicegirl. From the worst wrap gaposis I've ever seen to totally wearable! well done.
1/31/08 12:27 PM
Deb Thompson said...
I'm inspired by you! The dress turned out fantastic! I can't believe you took it from what it was to what it is!! It looks great on you!
1/31/08 12:52 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Cue up the Rocky theme song: You conquered this disaster remarkably well!
1/31/08 1:31 PM
Birgitte said...
You're a winner! It turned out super and the sash is fab!! No need to apologize for the title- dreadful is what dreadful does; messing with your head and stealing your precious time! This is your design now, you OWN it. My heartfelt congratulations on a job extremely well done!
1/31/08 2:38 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your creations are always so fabulous. Love it. You certainly made a silk purse out of a sow's ear (I think that's how the saying goes?????)
1/31/08 3:32 PM
MissCelie said...
This is so great! It looks just like that new Hot Patterns dress which looks just like the Kara Janx dress!
1/31/08 5:43 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You are so creative! It would have been in the trash before the day was up at my house, pattern and all.
1/31/08 8:02 PM
Karen6790 said...
I think you need to coin a new word - that was beyond gaposis. Great save, though I don't think I would have persevered for as many years. Put it in the closet until nice weather and I'm sure you'll like it.
1/31/08 8:34 PM
Maggie Cat said...
What you have done with this dress is, to me, amazing. Fantastic!!!!
1/31/08 9:56 PM
Sharon M said...
Whoa! What a great save! I love the new version - it really is fabulous!
1/31/08 10:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great transformation!
2/1/08 5:57 AM
Darla in PA said...
What a great save! Your dress looks wonderful. Doesn't feel great to get that complete?
2/1/08 6:37 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
Looks so nice. I can't believe you salvaged it (I would have given up). It did turn out to be a cute dress though.
2/1/08 10:01 AM
Larkin said...
Well done! Your dress is really cute - you should wear it on one of those days where you're up against a real bear. Deep down, you'll have the confidence that, although "some days you get the bear, some days the bear gets you", this dress is proof that the bear should turn and run from you! I love the way the color changed with the addition of the trim. All 'round winner! Congrats.
2/1/08 1:16 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Way to go Trena! Your dress is neat but your craft room is NEATER!!!! I can't believe you did that all in a day...wow, you were really busy...your friend must have been cute...ha! ;-)
2/1/08 4:01 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a save!!! It certainly is fab now.
2/1/08 9:50 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
You get the award of the year for this UFO girl! I think the end result dress is incredibly gorgeous! You have more patience than I, but I can totally understand not wanting to be undefeted by a dang pattern. Darn SBA's too! ;-)
2/1/08 11:45 PM
Heatherrique said...
Groovylicious and far out! Striking colors on you!
2/2/08 1:46 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
With a set of problemsolving skills like that, you'd better run to NASA b/c they need your help ... now! I would have ditched everything affiliated with this pattern 3 yrs ago. The final dress has your inimitable chic 'camp' stamp on it. -Lily
2/2/08 2:44 PM
moss said...
hahahahahahaha. :) It is really pretty now.
2/4/08 11:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 295008-1000

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
Kwik Sew 3467

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now